The Unappropriated Recipes Book Launch featuring performances by Nadim Abbas, Lau Wai, and Qu Chang

Apr 20, 2017

6:30 – 8:00 pm

Constant's studio space
6B, Evergreen Industrial Mansion
12 Yip Fat Street
Wong Chuk Hang (MTR exit A2)
Hong Kong

Join us for the launch of The Unappropriated Recipes cookbook, Para Site’s first crowdfunded project. The evening will feature performances by contributors Nadim Abbas, Lau Wai, and Qu Chang, and will also showcase Samuel Adam Swope’s recipe as an open bar.

The Unappropriated Recipes is a collection of eighty community-sourced unconventional recipes (gastronomically viable or merely deliciously metaphorical) offering a broad array of personal experiences, experiments, perceptions, interventions, and reactions to Hong Kong and its different layers. The official launch event marks the successful completion of this kickstarter-funded project and is a way for us to thank the entire community that made it all possible! 

The evening includes a three-course meal of performances. For appetizers, Para Site’s Associate Curator Qu Chang will be blending together a Thai salad of literary books with a side of steaming hot Hong Kong style shrimp dumplings. The hearty main course of “Doll Instant Noodles with Pork Bean Sauce Pie” by artist Lau Wai will combine two favourite comfort foods into a questionably palatable dish. And for dessert, artist Nadim Abbas’s “Rice Weevil Pudding” transforms this season’s uninvited pests into a delicious protein-packed treat. Throughout the night, quench your thirst at artist Samuel Adam Swope’s bar, inspired by his recipe “Liquid Diet.”

We’d like to once again thank the 263 supporters of our kickstarter campaign, who helped turn the initial idea of The Unappropriated Recipes into a hardcover, hot-stamped reality. We could not have done it without you and the wonderful community of Para Site’s collaboraters, so bring your friends and family and join us at the launch!

The Unappropriated Recipes is available for purchase for 300 HKD. 

This book launch is kindly hosted by Constant.

 

~ Limited Editions ~

Limited Edition Artwork Kitchenware, produced especially for The Unappropriated Recipes, are now available for purchase, including works by Heman Chong, Lam Hoi Sin, Brian Kuan Wood, Michikazu Matsune, and Cheng Ting Ting, at 3,000 HKD each. For more information about these limited editions, click here.

If you are interested in purchasing The Unappropriated Recipes or a Limited Edition please email info@para-site.org.hk. (Shipping and handling fees will be charged)

《不合時宜食譜》發佈會,及唐納天、劉衛與瞿暢的現場表演

4月 20, 2017

晚上6:30 – 8:00

Constant工作室
黃竹坑業發街12號松栢工業大廈6B室
(港鐵出口A2)

Para Site藝術空間榮幸宣佈首次眾籌項目,《不合時宜食譜》的新書發佈會!當晚將由參與食譜製作的唐納天、劉衛和瞿暢進行表演。同時、 也將以開放吧檯的形式呈現Samuel Adam Swope的食譜創作。

《不合時宜食譜》收錄了八十款來自不同社群的創作佳餚,在可食與不可食間,蘊含著豐富的個人經驗、實驗、感知與介入,皆在回應每位創作者對香港的觀察及私密情感。他們以烹調作為手法、城市作為食材,帶領讀者品嚐一座城市的多元色彩,以及其美食、藝術和文化的豐富層次。此次發佈會,除了慶祝眾籌項目的順利完成,也希望藉此機會感謝所有朋友的大力支持,讓這本食譜的得以面世!

新書發佈會當晚將為大家獻上三道「表演餐點」:開胃小食由Para Site藝術空間副策展人瞿暢拌制一道書籍泰式沙拉並配上熱氣騰騰的港式蝦餃。主菜由藝術家劉衛帶來「炸醬公仔面派」,這款料理將三道深受喜愛的暖心食材製成一道口味懸疑的菜品。餐後則有藝術家唐納天的「穀牛布甸」,把令人厭惡的不速之客變成具有豐富蛋白質的美味甜點。而藝術家Samuel Adam Swope也將獻上由其食譜「液體飲食」所設計的飲品吧檯。

我們由衷感謝促成此次眾籌項目得以實現的263位支持者,由於你們慷慨的支持,我們才能順利出版《不合時宜食譜》。感謝你們以及Para Site所有支持者的付出!在此,我們誠摯邀請各位,共襄甚鉅,一同參加我們的新書發佈會!

《不合時宜食譜》每本售價港幣300元。

本次新書發佈會由Constant工作室場地支持。

 

~限量版廚具~
專為《不合時宜食譜》製作的限量版廚具現正對外販售,引用了包括張奕滿、林愷倩、Brian Kuan Wood、松根沖和及鄭婷婷的食譜內容,每件售價港幣3000元。如欲了解限量版廚具詳情,請點擊

如有興趣購買食譜及限量版廚具,請寄電郵至: info@para-site.org.hk 
(
郵資運費自付)