THE REAL IMAGINATION OF “XI KANG RECORDS”

May 17, 2015

Hidden Agenda (2A, Winful Industrial Bldg, 15-17 Tai Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong)

 

The final event in the public programme series accompanying the exhibition, A Hundred Years of Shame – Songs of Resistance and Scenarios for Chinese Nations currently on view at Para Site, includes a concert from the Guangdong-based indie folk band Wutiaoren and Hong Kong-based Salad Kowloon. Preceding the performances is a conversation between cultural critic Chang Tieh-chih and Wutiaoren to discuss the development of independent bands in mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, as well as the formation of the fictional record label “Xi Kang Records,” which was established especially for A Hundred Years of Shame. Named after the subversive scholar and musician of the Three Kingdoms period, Xi Kang (223–262 CE), the label represents a wide variety of recording artists who produce music of discontent from across the Chinese-speaking world, selected by Chang and Wutiaoren, in addition to sound culture and independent music researchers and curators Amy Cheng and Jeph Lo; and independent musicians Lam P (My Little Airport) and Mei Er (Top Floor Circus).

 

Sunday, May 17, 2015

Hidden Agenda (2A, Winful Industrial Bldg, 15-17 Tai Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong)

 

5:30-7 pm

The real imagination of “Xi Kang Records”

Speakers: Chang Tieh-chih and Wutiaoren

Moderator: Anthony Yung

Language: Mandarin

 

7:30 pm

Xi Kang Records presents “Re-Re” Concert

Performing bands: Wutiaoren, Salad Kowloon

 

Free Admission, though registration is required through Eventbrite

About Hidden Agenda

http://hiddenagenda.hk

 

Bios

 

Chang Tieh Chih is a political and cultural critic from Taiwan, and is the chief editor of City Magazine in Hong Kong.  His publications include Sound and Fury: Can Rock & Roll Change the World?, The Sound of Resistance: From Bob Dylan to U2, and The Times they are A-changing:Democracy, market and the power of imagination.

 

Anthony Yung is co-curator of A Hundred Years of Shame – Songs of Resistance and Scenarios for Chinese Nations, and Senior Researcher at Asia Art Archive, specializing in China related archival projects. His published writings focus on critical practices in Chinese and Hong Kong contemporary art, and he is the awardee of The Fourth Yishu Awards for Critical Writing on Contemporary Chinese Art (2014). Yung is also co-founder of Observation Society, an independent art space in Guangzhou.

 

Wutiaoren (five guys) founded in 2009, is a folk-indie band from Guangdong. Their songs are about contraditions within the lives of the underprevilidged, with a touch of sarcasm and humour in their lryics. In 2013, their second album received Best Band and Best Folk Musician at the Chinese Media Music Awards.

 

Salad Kowloon, formed in early 2014, is a 5-member Hong Kong band whose debut album released in the same year sold out its first 100 cassettes within a week. Salad Kowloon is known for their expressive songwriting, and have shared the stage with international acts such as The Drums and performed in the festival Grasscamp 2015. Their second cassette《Demo#2》was released on April 5th, 2015.

 

Special thanks to Hidden Agenda and Clockenflap

Para Site fully supports the democratic aspirations of the people of Hong Kong. 

Para Site is financially supported by the Springboard Grant under the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

 

The content of this activity does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

 

 

 

Attachment 2ccd136c eea8 4753 9326 725cffcf044e

Xi Kang Records Recording Studio

「嵇康唱片的真實想像」

5月 17, 2015

Hidden Agenda (香港牛頭角大業街15-17號永富工業大廈2樓A室)

 

《土尾世界-抵抗的轉喻和中華國家想像》展覽系列座談活動的最後一場邀請到台灣音樂/文化評論人張鐵志與廣東獨立樂團五條人對談,看中港台三地的獨立音樂發展,並試問「嵇康唱片」音樂廠牌實踐的背後想像是什麼?「嵇康唱片」為此次展覽特別創立的音樂廠牌,取名嵇康(公元前223-262)旨在向這位魏晉時期的思想家和音樂家及他所代表的傳統中國知識份子的抗命精神致敬。廠牌集結了華語世界各種具有抗爭精神的獨立音樂,由聲音文化及獨立音樂研究者羅悅全、鄭慧華及張鐵志,音樂人林阿P(My Little Airport)、梅二(頂樓的馬戲團)及樂隊五條人主理。

 

座談會後為廣東獨立樂團五條人及香港本地獨立樂團Salad Kowloon(九龍沙律)的音樂表演。

 

5月17日(星期日)

場地:Hidden Agenda (香港牛頭角大業街15-17號永富工業大廈2樓A室)

 

下午5時30分至7時正

「嵇康唱片的真實想像」對談

講者:張鐵志對談五條人

引言:翁子健

語言:普通話

 

下午7時30分

嵇康唱片隆重呈現「也許說抵抗太沈重」演唱會

 

表演樂團:

五條人

Salad Kowloon(九龍沙律)

 

免費入場, 請於Eventbrite 登記

關於Hidden Agenda  http://hiddenagenda.hk

 

介紹

 

張鐵志

台灣政治與文化評論人,現為香港《號外》雜誌總主筆。著有《聲音與憤怒:搖滾樂可能改變世界嗎》、《時代的噪音:從狄倫到U2的抗議之聲》,《時代正在改變:民主、市場與想象的權力》等。

 

翁子健

《土尾世界》展覽策展人之一。亞洲藝術文獻庫資深研究員,負責中國相關研究項目。他的寫作針對中國與香港當代藝術的批判性實踐,曾獲第四屆Yishu當代中國藝術評論寫作獎。同時也是廣州獨立藝術空間觀察社的創始人之一。

 

五條人

五條人來自廣東潮汕 。2009年發表第一張專輯《縣城記》,歌詞中充滿對社會的諷刺和幽默。2013年推出《一些風景》大獲好評,榮獲第十三屆「華語音樂傳媒大獎」最佳樂團、最佳民謠藝人兩項大獎。

 

九龍沙律

成立於2014年初,同年八月發行限量首捲卡式帶作品《Demo#1》,並先後於台灣、德國、波蘭及北京等地開售,創下開賣一週全數售罄的記錄。九龍沙律的曲式主要以清爽吉他音色主導,詞曲旋律俱有流行氣息,團員自嘲為"cheap-pop"。曾參與2015年的「草民音樂營」,為美國獨立樂團 The Drums 的香港音樂會擔任暖場樂隊。他們的第二捲卡帶作品《Demo#2》於2015年4月5日推出。

 

特別嗚謝Hidden Agenda及Clockenflap

 

Para Site藝術空間大力支持香港人的民主訴求。 
 
Para Site藝術空間獲香港特別行政區政府「藝能發展資助計劃」的躍進資助。

活動內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見。

 

 

 

Attachment 2ccd136c eea8 4753 9326 725cffcf044e

嵇康唱片錄音室