The Person Walking with His Head Covered: A Panel Discussion with Ricky Yeung, Pak Sheung Chuen, and Sampson Wong

Oct 27, 2017

7:00 - 9:00pm
Para Site Education Room
The discussion will be conducted in Cantonese

Para Site is pleased to present a panel discussion by artists Ricky Yeung, Pak Sheung Chuen, and Sampson Wong, moderated by curator and writer Yang Yeung, as part of Chris Evans and Pak Sheung Chuen: Two Exhibitions, in which both artists offer a mediation on power through diverging approaches with presentations including newly commissioned works.

This panel discussion will address the politics of art and its relationship to social movements. Yeung, Pak and Wong represent artists from three different generations in Hong Kong, who each endeavour, through their works, to experiment with and to challenge how art can respond to social and political change. In the discussion, the panelists will debate both the precariousness and the potency of art, considering its ability to insert itself into a system, negotiating and manoeuvring from within. This discussion will question how art can act as an agent or tool used to address issues of social concern and as a means of raising awareness within the art world and in civil society. Taking a step further, they will investigate how visual production responds to the implications of political theology.

 

About the panelists:

Ricky Yeung Sau Churk 

Yeung is an artist and art educator who conducts community arts projects for diverse audiences to cultivate an appreciation for the city of Hong Kong. Yeung’s works have been shown at the City University of Hong Kong, Fringe Club, Hong Kong Arts Centre, Hong Kong Museum of Arts, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong Visual Arts Centre, Para Site, Sha Tin Town Hall, and the University of Hong Kong. He is the recipient of the 2007 Chief Executive's Award for Teaching Excellence (Arts Education). 

Community engagement is central to his practice, which includes his role as chair of Video Power (1999–2002), committee member of Curriculum Development (Visual Art) Education Bureau (2004–2013), Chair of Center of Community Cultural Development (2010–currently) and committee member of Society of Indigenous Learning (2013–currently). Yeung has been an art education columnist with Sunday Mingpao since 2009.

 

Pak Sheung Chuen

Pak’s works often slyly alters the experience of everyday life. He explores the mental and social space that is structured through our perception of the world, and investigates the role of coincidence and arbitrariness that unites reality and fiction. He places himself in various situations, considering his writings as a medium, Pak conceives his works as actions or subtle manipulations of the regular course of events.

 

Sampson Wong 

Wong is an artist, independent curator, academic, and urbanist from Hong Kong. He is currently Lecturer at Department of Liberal Arts Studies at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. He engages in art-making, curatorial practice, teaching, research, and writing. Wong sees these practices as intellectual means to explore issues around urbanism, space, power, and freedom. His research interests also include the politics of epidemics and Hong Kong studies. He is now writing about plagues in Hong Kong, urbanism and art, and Hong Kong’s Umbrella Movement.

 

About the moderator:

Yang Yeung is an art writer and an independent curator. She founded the non-profit soundpocket in 2008 and is currently its Artistic Director. In 2015, she started independent project A Walk with A3, located at a back alley in Causeway Bay in Hong Kong to support the right of art to be in the streets and right of pedestrians to encounter art as a daily experience. She is member of the independent art critics collective Art Appraisal Club (HK) and the International Art Critics Association (HK). She was awarded the Asian Cultural Council Fellowship in 2013-14. She currently teaches Classics at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

 

 

Para Site Art Space is financially supported by the Art Development Matching Grants Pilot Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Founded in 1996, Para Site is Hong Kong's leading contemporary art centre and one of the oldest and most active independent art institutions in Asia. It produces exhibitions, publications, discursive, and educational projects aimed at forging a critical understanding of local and international phenomena in art and society.  

___

The content of these activities does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

「蒙著頭走路的人」:楊秀卓、白雙全、黃宇軒對談討論

10月 27, 2017

晚間7:00-9:00點
Para Site教育空間
本對談以粵語進行

Para Site 榮幸推出邀請藝術家楊秀卓、黃宇軒與白雙全進行的對談討論,並由策展人與作家楊陽主持。是次對談為《Chris Evans、白雙全:雙個展》的公教項目之一,該展為兩位藝術家的全新創作個展,從人如何與社會關係的索求經驗出發,延伸出似遠又近的對話空間,藉以誘發個體對應投射社會城市全力結構關係的想像解讀。

楊秀卓、白雙全及黃宇軒分別代表香港三個不同世代的藝術家,他們從各自的創作實踐中不斷探討並挑戰藝術在社會政治的變遷下可能的回應方式及力量。在此次對談中,三位藝術家將就藝術的政治性與其在社會運動下的關係進行討論、辯證:藝術如何與體系進行交涉,並從既有價值中進行翻轉?如何扮演其作為媒介及社會工具的角色,不論是在藝術或公民社會範疇下,皆能善盡喚起公眾意識的責任,並更進一步探討視覺藝術生產能如何回應政治神學的複雜性。

 

關於講者:

楊秀卓為一位藝術家和教育工作者,多年來積極策動社區藝術項目,以培育廣大觀眾對香港城市的欣賞能力和本土意識為己任。其作品曾於香港城市大學、香港藝穗會、香港藝術中心、香港藝術館、香港科技大學、香港視覺藝術中心、Para Site 藝術空間、沙田大會堂及香港大學展出。楊氏於2007年榮獲「行政長官卓越教學獎(藝術教育)」。

以藝術深入社區是楊氏一直以來的信念,他曾擔任「錄影力量」的主席(19992002年)、香港教育局課程發展議會(視覺藝術科)的成員(20042013年)、社區文化發展中心的主席(2010年至今)、以及鄉土學社的委員會成員(2013年至今)。從2009年起,楊氏身兼明報文化副刊「星期日生活」中的藝術教育專欄作家。

 

白雙全的創作以帶著戲謔的手法,巧妙地改變日常生活經驗,他一方面探索介於我們所身處世界中規律和穩定的事物之間的精神與社會「空間」,另一方面檢視著巧合、機遇、多變和想像,藉此揭示在日常生活中的藝術時刻,並帶出了現實與想像交織的本質。他偏好運用自身的情境介入和書寫作為媒材,將創作視為行動,或是對事件常規的巧妙介入和操作。

 

黃宇軒從事學術工作,亦是藝術家和獨立策展人。他目前擔任香港演藝學院人文學科講師。他關注當代城市研究、空間與地理、藝術與公共領域、文化抵抗等議題。目前正著手香港瘟疫歷史、香港城市論及藝術、雨傘運動的書寫與研究。

 

對談主持人: 

楊陽為一名獨立策展人並從事藝術評論書寫。2008年她創立非牟利組織「聲音掏腰包」,目前擔任該機構藝術總監。2015年她在香港銅鑼灣的後巷內成立一獨立計畫A Walk with A3,目的在支持街頭藝術的創作權利以及鼓勵、促進民眾日常生活中與藝術的交涉。她為獨立藝術評論團體「藝評香港」以及「國際藝術評論協會」的成員之一。榮獲亞洲文化協會獎助計畫(2013-14),目前任教於香港中文學。

 

 

 

Para Site 藝術空間獲香港特別行政區政府「藝術發展配對資助試驗計劃」的資助。

成立於1996年,Para Site藝術空間為香港首屈一指的當代藝術中心,亦是亞洲歷史最悠久、最活躍的獨立藝術機構之一。成立宗旨在透過展覽、出版刊物及教育項目等活動,促進在地與國際間的對話,希冀打造一個對當代藝術、社會現象提出批判性論述及理解的平台。

___

活動內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見。