Sparrow with Bamboo Twigs: A conversation with Qinyi Lim, Wong Hoy Cheong, and Ming Wong

Ming Wong, Wong Hoy-Cheong

Nov 28 – Nov 28, 2015

Para Site Education Room

Para Site is pleased to present Sparrow with Bamboo Twigs: A Conversation with Qinyi Lim, Wong Hoy Cheong, and Ming Wong on 28 November, 5pm. This event marks the closing weekend and final public programme for the current Para Site exhibition A Luxury We Cannot Afford, an exhibition reflecting on the formation, development, and paradoxes of Singapore’s national ideology.
 
Sparrow with Bamboo Twigs takes its title from a song by eminent Singaporean songwriter Liang Wern Fu. Included in the Para Site exhibition and playing throughout the space, it was released in 1990 in the album “Singapore Style” where the title song was seen as a key example of the use of Mandarin in Singapore. However, due to the additional use of Cantonese, Hokkien, and Hakka within the song’s lyrics, Sparrow with Bamboo Twigs was banned from public broadcast, in light of Singapore government’s Speak Mandarin campaign (1979 - ongoing). This campaign has been a key instrument in creating a racialised common identity among the different Chinese groups, overcoming their cultural and language differences. The ban on Sparrow with Bamboo Twigs was finally lifted in 2013 in light of a growing interest in cultural heritage. As an unprecedented gesture to mark the occasion, Singapore’s three largest Mandarin radio stations broadcasted the song in full at the same time on 1 August, 2013, 23 years after the song’s initial release. The historical circumstances governing the banning and subsequent unbanning of Sparrow with Bamboo Twigs are seen as mirrors to the racial, language, and cultural politics in Singapore from the 1960s onwards.
 
In this conversation, both artists and curator will discuss the ramifications of the racialization of ethnic identities through national campaigns such as Speak Mandarin and the complex social positioning that those of Chinese ancestry have been negotiating in multiracial Singapore and Malaysia through the years.
 
Ming Wong has had recent solo exhibitions at UCCA, Beijing; Museum of Moving Image, Queens, New York, as part of Performa 11; Vitamin Creative Space, Guangzhou; Frye Art Museum, Seattle; Hara Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo; and Singapore Art Museum. He lives and works in Berlin.
 
Wong Hoy-Cheong works in drawing, photography, painting, performance, and films and has had solo exhibitions at the National Art Gallery, Kuala Lumpur (1996 and 2004) and Eslite Gallery, Taipei (2010). He lives and works in Penang.

Para Site is Hong Kong's leading contemporary art centre and one of the oldest and most active independent art institutions in Asia. It produces exhibitions, publications and discursive projects aimed at forging a critical understanding of local and international phenomena in art and society.

Para Site fully supports the democratic aspirations of the people of Hong Kong and Singapore.

Para Site is financially supported by the Springboard Grant under the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

The content of this program does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Attachment national language

Excerpt from "The Languages of National Language Class: A discussion with Alfian Sa’at"
Paul Rae and Alfian Sa’at
2008
23 mins, 37 secs
Courtesy Spell Seven Performance Club, Singapore

《麻雀銜竹枝》-林沁怡與藝術家黃漢明、黃海昌對談

黃漢明, 黃海昌

11月 28 – 11月 28, 2015

Para Site Education Room

Para Site將於11月28日晚間5點舉辦《麻雀銜竹枝》,由策展人林沁怡與藝術家黃漢明、黃海昌對談。此對談為《無法承受的奢華》一展的最後一場公共項目;該展以1950、60年代及2000年的流行文化、經濟和城市規劃歷史為基石,反映新加坡國家意識形態的形塑、發展的過程及當中產生的矛盾。今年乃新加坡慶祝獨立五十周年,而上述兩個年代正值該國經濟起飛之前。
 
《麻雀銜竹枝》為一首新謠歌曲,由梁文福作曲、填詞、主唱。歌曲於1990年發表,收錄在梁文福專輯《新加坡派》,主打歌被視為新加坡使用普通話的重點模範。但由於歌曲引用了幾句廣東話、福建話和客家話方言,《麻雀銜竹枝》在新加坡政府「講華語運動」的政策(1979年至今)下遭官方電台禁播。該語言推廣運動的目的在讓中國人建立種族認知,在消弭不同民族間的文化和語言差異上,起了相當關鍵的作用。《麻雀銜竹枝》的歌名來自一首廣東話童謠,是作曲者1960年代的童年記憶,當時新加坡正處於羽翼未豐的建國年代,因此確立民族文化遺產的需求日漸增加。這首歌最後在2013年8月1日解禁,距離發表足足有23年之久,而為了以一種前所未有的姿態紀念此事,新加坡最大的三家華語電台在同一天同一時間播出這首歌的完整版本。
 
本次對談將以這首歌謠為起點,透過電影歷史和國家政策等各方面探討中國人在馬來西亞和新加坡的地位。
 
黃漢明近期在北京UCCA舉行了首次個展。他曾在紐約皇后區Museum of Moving Image參與Performa 11展覽、並於廣州维他命艺术空间、西雅圖Frye Art Museum、東京Hara Museum of Contemporary Art及新加坡美術館舉行展覽。目前定居於柏林。
 
黃海昌的作品含括繪畫、攝影、油畫、表演及電影,曾於吉隆坡國家藝廊(1996及2004)及台北誠品畫廊(2010)舉行個人展覽。目前定在檳城定居及工作。


Para Site藝術空間為香港首屈一指的當代藝術中心,亦是亞洲歷史最悠久、最活躍的獨立藝術中心之一。成立宗旨在透過展覽、出版刊物等活動,開展並促進在地與國際間的對話,希冀打造一個對當代藝術、社會現象提出批判性論述及理解的平台。

Para Site藝術空間大力支持新加坡與香港人的民主訴求。

Para Site藝術空間獲香港特別行政區政府「藝能發展資助計劃」的躍進資助。
活動內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見。

Attachment national language

節錄自《The Languages of National Language Class: A discussion with Alfian Sa'at》
Paul Rae and Alfian Sa’at
2008
錄像,23分37秒
由新加坡表演團體Spell#7提供