SAMSON YOUNG: KAIFONG ORCHESTRA

Jun 04 – Jun 05, 2015

Para Site is pleased to present Kaifong Orchestra, a year-long research and production project with artist Samson Young. This is the first of a series of long term-collaborations between Para Site and a Hong Kong-based artist meant to facilitate the realization of a major new art project, engaging with the city.

Kaifong Orchestra looks at the formation of orchestras as a community-based practice in Hong Kong, and the historical underpinnings and social exigencies that condition and guard these forms of self-organization. A Cantonese term, Kaifong refers to a group people who live within a single neighborhood and has historically been used as a descriptor to refer to traditional mutual aid organizations that emerged in Hong Kong in 1949 (Kaifong Welfare Association 街坊福利會).

Featuring a strong emphasis on research and pedagogy, Kaifong Orchestra seeks to understand the function of the orchestra and music as tools of our everyday negotiations with politics, power, structures and emotions in a fast-paced place like Hong Kong. Initiated by conversations between Young and Para Site curator Qinyi Lim, Kaifong Orchestra is further guided in a dialogic manner by Giorgio Biancorosso, Associate Professor (Music) at the University of Hong Kong. Biancorosso, whose dual research focuses on European art and music education and Hong Kong cinema, will extrapolate on pre-existing conditions and sociological significance embedded within the knowledge of music in Hong Kong.

The project launches with a conference taking place in Mumbai from June 4-6, 2015 and closes with another conference in Zurich in July 2016. The entire research process for Kaifong Orchestra will involve a series of workshops with practitioners and researchers and culminate with the conceptualization of an artwork that will be exhibited in Hong Kong in 2016.

Kaifong Orchestra is produced in the context of Draft, a year-long project that is anchored in nine cities around the world, and engages with critical discourse and practice related to the public sphere. Draft is a project conceived by Gitanjali Dang, Khanabadosh, Bombay, and Christoph Schenker, Institute for Contemporary Art Research IFCAR, Zurich University of the Arts ZHdK, in partnership with Connecting Spaces Hong Kong – Zurich.
 
Samson Young (b. 1979, Hong Kong) is a sound artist and composer. He trained in music, philosophy and gender studies at the University of Sydney, Australia. He also holds a Ph.D in Music Composition from Princeton University, USA. Young is the inaugural winner of the Art Basel – BMW Art Journey Award, and in 2013, he was awarded Artist of the Year (Media Art) by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. Young’s past exhibitions include the Asia Triennial Manchester and IV Moscow Biennale of Young Art in 2014, The Wizard's Chamber, Kunsthalle Winterthur, Switzerland in 2013, and XXX: Next Ten Years of Contemporary Art, Today Art Museum, Beijing in 2011.

Giorgio Biancorosso holds a Ph.D in Musicology from Princeton University, USA. Between 2001-2003, he was a Mellon Fellow at the Society of Fellows, Columbia University. In 2005, he took a teaching position at the University of Hong Kong (HKU), where he is now Associate Professor in Music. He has published in the areas of musical aesthetics, film, music, Hong Kong cinema, and the psychology of music for a number of journals and anthologies. Currently, he is completing the book Situated Listening: Music and the Representation of the Attention in the Cinema for Oxford University Press. Biancorosso is a member of the Programme Committee of the Hong Kong Arts Festival, and the Chairman of the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble.

Attachment mydearfriendwhatisonyourmind

Samson Young, Pastoral Music (But It Is Entirely Hollow) (2015)
Photo credit: Dennis Man Wing Leung

楊嘉輝: 街坊交響樂

6月 04 – 6月 05, 2015

Para Site藝術空間呈獻藝術家楊嘉輝長達一年的創作研究計畫<街坊交響樂>。此項計劃為Para Site與香港本地藝術家進行的委任合作計畫,目的在促進大型藝術項目的實現並與在地深入連結。<街坊交響樂>為此系列的首個項目。

<街坊交響樂>探討交響樂團如何在香港以社區為實踐基礎的籌組情況,以及催生和守護這類型自發組織的歷史基礎和社會迫切需要。「街坊」是粵語詞彙,意指一群近鄰而居的鄰里,也引伸為本港於1949年興起的一種傳統互助組織,名為「街坊福利會」。

<街坊交響樂>著重在研究與教育,希望從中了解樂團的作用,以及在香港這個步調快速的地方,音樂如何作為我們日常與政治、權力、建制與情感談判的工具。<街坊交響樂>的面世,源於楊嘉輝與Para Site藝術空間策展人林沁怡的對話,並在對話形式下獲得香港大學音樂系副教授Giorgio Biancorosso的進一步引導。Giorgio Biancorosso的研究集中於歐洲藝術、音樂教育和香港電影,他將以香港音樂知識為範疇,提出與其相關的先列條件和社會學意義。

此項目始於2015年6月4至6日在孟買舉行的一場座談會,並於2016年7月在蘇黎世閉幕。<街坊交響樂>的研究過程將透過一連串工作坊與觀眾見面,並於2016年在香港展出作品。

<街坊樂團>的製作,是在Draft這個項目的背景下發生。Draft是歷時一年的項目,駐於全球9個城市,其中包括公共空間的批判論述和實踐。Draft的構思來自Gitanjali Dang、Khanabadosh、Bombay,以及Christoph Schenker、Institute for Contemporary Art Research IFCAR和瑞士蘇黎世藝術大學,合作單位包括Connecting Spaces Hong Kong – Zurich。

楊嘉輝(1979於本港出生)是一位聲音藝術家兼作曲家,曾在澳洲悉尼大學進修音樂、哲學和性別研究,亦擁有美國普林斯頓大學頒發的作曲博士學位。楊嘉輝是今年度巴塞爾藝術博覽會的得獎者,並曾於2013年榮獲香港藝術發展局頒發的藝術家年獎(媒體藝術)。楊嘉輝以往曾舉行多個展覽會,包括2014年舉行的Triennial Manchester 和IV Moscow Biennale of Young Art、2013年在瑞士Kunsthalle Winterthur博物館舉行的The Wizard's Chamber,以及2011年在北京今日美術館舉行的XXX: Next Ten Years of Contemporary Art。

Giorgio Biancorosso擁有美國普林斯頓大學頒發的音樂學博士學位,並於2001至2003年間擔任哥倫比亞大學Society of Fellows的Mellon Fellow。他於2005年獲得香港大學的教席,現時擔任音樂系副教授。他曾編著多份有關音樂美學、電影、音樂、香港電影和音樂心理學的期刊和文集。現時他正為牛津大學出版社撰寫< Situated Listening: Music and the Representation of the Attention in the Cinema>一書。Biancorosso是香港藝術節的節目籌委會成員,以及香港新音樂團的主席。

Attachment mydearfriendwhatisonyourmind

楊嘉輝, 原野牧歌(親愛的朋友喔你在想什麼)(2015)
攝影:文永亮