“RE-RE: RESHAPING THE NOTION OF RESISTANCE” - PUBLIC PROGRAMME SERIES FOR A HUNDRED YEARS OF SHAME

Apr 24 – May 17, 2015

Friday, April 24, 2015 at Para Site’s Education Room
Monday, May 4, 2015 at Para Site’s Education Room
Sunday, May 17, 2015 at Hidden Agenda

“Re-Re: Reshaping the Notion of Resistance” is a series of programmes accompanying the exhibition, A Hundred Years of Shame – Songs of Resistance and Scenarios for Chinese Nations currently on view at Para Site. The series consists of three events, each exploring from different perspectives the appropriate attitudes of artistic creation and cultural production in the face of nationalism.

For the first event, Para Site invites Fei Da Wei (curator and art critic), Chiang Po Shin (Assistant Professor at Tainan National University of the Arts), and Anthony Yung (co-curator of A Hundred Years of Shame and Senior Researcher at Asia Art Archive) to discuss issues about Chinese identity in the resurgence of nationalism in China. Does this call for national spirit facilitate a specific identification? Or is it an ideology for liberation? In addition, apart from “resistance”, what kind of “metonymy” should be adopted?

For the second event, Para Site invites two artists from Hong Kong, Kwan Sheung Chi and Wong Wai Yin to talk about resistance, either through making art in daily life or living daily life more artistically, raising the question of how art, as a medium, can perform its role in social activities. What are the changes in artistic representation and artists’ positions after the significant social movement that took place last year in Hong Kong?

The third and final event in the series includes a concert from the Guangdong-based indie folk band Wutiaoren and guests. Preceding the performances is a conversation between cultural critic Chang Tieh Chih and Wutiaoren to discuss the development of independent bands in mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, as well as the formation of the fictional record label “Xi Kang Records,” which was established especially for A Hundred Years of Shame. Named after the subversive scholar and musician of the Three Kingdoms period, Xi Kang (223–262 CE), the label represents a wide variety of recording artists who produce music of discontent from across the Chinese-speaking world, selected by Chang and Wutiaoren, in addition to sound culture and independent music researchers and curators Amy Cheng and Jeph Lo; and independent musicians Lam P (My Little Airport) and Mei Er (Top Floor Circus).

Event details:
Please note that the discussions will be conducted in Chinese.

Friday, April 24, 2015, 6:30-8 pm
A framed identity or a liberated ideology
Para Site’s Education Room (22/F, Wing Wah Industrial Building, 677 King’s Road, Quarry Bay, Hong Kong)
Speakers: Fei Da Wei and Chiang Po Shin
Moderator: Anthony Yung
Language: Mandarin

Monday, May 4, 2015, 6:30-8 pm
Re-Re: Reshaping the Notion of Resistance
Para Site’s Education Room (22/F, Wing Wah Industrial Building, 677 King’s Road, Quarry Bay, Hong Kong)
Speakers: Kwan Sheung Chi and Wong Wai Yin
Moderator: Freya Chou
Language: Cantonese / Mandarin

Sunday, May 17, 2015
The real imagination of “Xi Kang Records”
Discussion: 5-6.30 pm; Concert: 7 pm
Hidden Agenda (2A, Winful Industrial Bldg, 15-17 Tai Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong)
Speakers: Chang Tieh Chih in conversation with Wutiaoren
Introduction: Anthony Yung
Language: Mandarin
Performing bands: Wutiaoren and guests
Presented by Xi Kang Records
 
Free Admission
About Hidden Agenda: http://hiddenagenda.hk

Speakers
Fei Da Wei is a curator and art critic. Major curatorial projects by Fei include Chine Demain pour Hier (1990, Pourrières, France), Exceptional Passage (1991, Fukuoka), Promenade in Asia I & II (1994 and 1997, Tokyo) and The Monk and the Demon (2004, Lyon Contemporary Art Museum). He was the founding director of the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art (UCCA) in Beijing, and curated the Center’s first exhibition in 2007, 85 New Wave, a large-scale historical retrospective. He currently lives and works in Beijing and Paris.

Chiang Po Shin is Assistant Professor at Tainan National University of the Arts, he is also the editor-in-chief of Art Critique Taiwan (ACT). Chiang’s recent work focuses on left-wing movements and visual documentation from the 1920s, contemporary art curation and biopolitics, and contemporary visual art and activism in East Asia. He currently lives and works in Tainan.

Anthony Yung is co-curator of A Hundred Years of Shame – Songs of Resistance and Scenarios for Chinese Nations, and Senior Researcher at Asia Art Archive, specializing in China related archival projects. His published writings focus on critical practices in Chinese and Hong Kong contemporary art, and he is the awardee of The Fourth Yishu Awards for Critical Writing on Contemporary Chinese Art (2014). Yung is also co-founder of Observation Society, an independent art space in Guangzhou.

Kwan Sheung Chi was born in 1980 in Hong Kong, and received third class Honors in Fine Art from The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) in 2003 and failed to qualify for the MFA programme at CUHK in 2004 and 2007. In 2000 he was named the “King of Hong Kong New Artist;” in 2002 Kwan Sheung Chi Touring Series Exhibitions, Hong Kong toured to 10 major exhibition venues in Hong Kong; and in the same year, the Hong Kong Art Centre presented A Retrospective of Kwan Sheung Chi. Kwan was a founding member of local art groups, Hong Kong Arts Discovery Channel (HKADC), hkPARTg (Political Art Group) and Woofer Ten. In 2009, he was awarded the Starr Foundation Fellowship from the Asian Cultural Council and was the winner of the inaugural Hugo Boss Asia Art Prize in 2013. Kwan’s artworks have not been widely exhibited around the world, and he has never participated in any major exhibitions held internationally.

Wong Wai Yin graduated from The Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2004, and The University of Leeds, UK (Master of Fine Art) in 2005. Wong experiments with a variety of media, ranging from painting, sculpture, collage, installations and photography. She has exhibited her works extensively in Hong Kong, as well as in Japan, United States, Singapore, and Guangzhou.

Chang Tieh Chih is a political and cultural critic from Taiwan, and is the chief editor of City Magazine in Hong Kong.  His publications include Sound and Fury: Can Rock & Roll Change the World?, The Sound of Resistance: From Bob Dylan to U2, and The Times they are A-changing:Democracy, market and the power of imagination.

 

Para Site fully supports the democratic aspirations of the people of Hong Kong. 

Para Site is financially supported by the Springboard Grant under the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

The content of this activity does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

 

Re-Re: Reshaping the Notion of Resistance

Attachment ahys public programmes

Huang Yongping, One Man, Nine animals, French Pavilion, Venice Biennale, 1999
Courtesy of the artist

A framed identity or a liberated ideology

「也許說抵抗太沈重」- 《土尾世界》展覽系列活動

4月 24 – 5月 17, 2015

4月24日(星期五), Para Site公共項目空間
5月4日(星期一), Para Site公共項目空間
5月17日(星期日), Hidden Agenda

「也許說抵抗太沈重」是《土尾世界-抵抗的轉喻和中華國家想像》一展的系列座談活動。活動將分成三階段,分別從不同角度回應及探討藝術創作/文化生產在面對民族主義神話的想像時,該以何種姿態面對?

在第一階段我們邀請中國策展人/評論家費大為、台灣台南藝術大學助理教授蔣伯欣以及展覽策展人翁子健一同探討兩岸三地現今在面對中國搖擺著復興民族主義大旗之際,此種國族精神的呼喚是種被框架的身份認同還是待被解放的意識?而除了「抵抗」又該進行何種可能的「轉喻」?

第二階段我們邀請香港藝術家關尚智與黃慧妍從展覽作品出發談日常美學的抵抗,當藝術作為中介該如何透過日常化的過程展開行動,並進而提問藝術表現性及藝術家身份位置在去年香港連串社會運動之後的轉變。

第三階段我們邀請台灣音樂/文化評論人張鐵志與廣東獨立樂團五條人對談,看中港台三地的獨立音樂發展,並試問「嵇康唱片」音樂廠牌實踐的背後想像是什麼?「嵇康唱片」為此次展覽特別創立的音樂廠牌,取名嵇康(公元前223-262)旨在向這位魏晉時期的思想家和音樂家及他所代表的傳統中國知識份子的抗命精神致敬。廠牌集結了華語世界各種具有抗爭精神的獨立音樂,由聲音文化及獨立音樂研究者羅悅全、鄭慧華及張鐵志,音樂人林阿P(My Little Airport)、梅二(頂樓的馬戲團)及樂隊五條人主理。
 
座談會後為五條人及香港本地獨立樂團的音樂表演。

系列座談場次

4月24日(星期五)
下午6時30分至8時正
主題:「被框架的身份或被解放的意識」
場地:Para Site 公共項目空間 (香港鰂魚涌英皇道677號,榮華工業大廈22樓)
講者:費大為、蔣伯欣
主持:翁子健
語言:普通話

5月4日(星期一)
下午6時30分至8時正
主題:「也許說抵抗太沈重」
場地:Para Site 公共項目空間 (香港鰂魚涌英皇道677號,榮華工業大廈22樓)
講者:關尚智、黃慧妍
主持:周安曼
語言:粵語/普通話

5月17日(星期日)
「嵇康唱片的真實想像」對談:下午5時正至6時30分
嵇康唱片隆重呈現「也許說抵抗太沈重」微型演唱會:下午7時正
場地:Hidden Agenda (香港牛頭角大業街15-17號永富工業大廈2樓A室)
講者:張鐵志對談五條人
引言:翁子健
語言:普通話
表演樂團:
五條人
與特別嘉賓
 
免費入場
關於Hidden Agenda  http://hiddenagenda.hk

關於講者
費大為
策展人及評論家。曾策劃展覽包括《獻給昨天的中國明天》(1990,法國南部)、《非常口》(1991,福岡)、《亞細亞散步》I及II(1994及1997,東京)及《裡裡外外》(2004,里昂當代美術館)等。2007年,在北京創辦尤倫斯當代藝術中心(UCCA)並擔任館長,策劃了該館的開幕展《八五新潮》,為歷來最大型的八五新潮回顧展。現居巴黎及北京。

蔣伯欣
台灣國立台南藝術大學助理教授,並擔任《藝術觀點ACT》主編。近來關注議題包括近代左翼美術運動與視覺檔案、當代藝術策展與生命政治、東亞各國藝術行動主義。現居台南。

翁子健
《土尾世界》展覽策展人之一。亞洲藝術文獻庫資深研究員,負責中國相關研究項目。他的寫作針對中國與香港當代藝術的批判性實踐,曾獲第四屆Yishu當代中國藝術評論寫作獎。同時也是廣州獨立藝術空間觀察社的創始人之一。

關尚智
1980年生於香港。2003年畢業於香港中文大學藝術系,並獲三等榮譽文學士學位。2004年及2007年報讀中文大學藝術碩士課程失敗。2000年起成為「香港藝術新人王」。2002年「關尚智香港巡迴展」於香港十個主要展覽場地巡迴展出,並於香港藝術中心舉辦「關尚智回顧展」。他亦曾是本地藝術團體「香港藝術搜索頻道(HKADC)」、「政藝小組」,及「活化廳」的創辦成員。2009年獲得亞洲文化協會給予Starr Foundation Fellowship交流獎金,前往美國紐約參加國際藝術家留駐計劃。他是2013年首屆「HUGO BOSS亞洲藝術大獎」得獎者。他的作品沒有在世界各地廣泛展出,他也沒有參加過任何國際性的重要展覽。

黃慧妍
2004年於中文大學藝術系畢業,翌年於英國列斯大學修畢藝術碩士課程。她利用不同媒體創作,包括繪畫、雕塑、拼貼、裝置和攝影等,其作品曾多次於香港、日本、美國、新加坡與廣州等地展出。

張鐵志
台灣政治與文化評論人,現為香港《號外》雜誌總主筆。著有《聲音與憤怒:搖滾樂可能改變世界嗎》、《時代的噪音:從狄倫到U2的抗議之聲》,《時代正在改變:民主、市場與想象的權力》等

 

Para Site藝術空間大力支持香港人的民主訴求。 
 
Para Site藝術空間獲香港特別行政區政府「藝能發展資助計劃」的躍進資助。

活動內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見。

「也許說抵抗太沈重」

Attachment ahys public programmes

一人九獸,黃永砅,威尼斯雙年展法國館,1999年
圖片由藝術家提供

「被框架的身份或被解放的意識」