PUBLIC PROGRAMMES | Manuel Pelmuș: Movements at an Exhibition

Jan 20 – Feb 10, 2018

Para Site is pleased to present a series of public programmes in parallel to our current exhibition Manuel Pelmuş: Movements at an Exhibition, a collection of movements in an ongoing live action by a group of performers, framed within the format of an exhibition. The exhibition derives its movements and scores from a subjective collection of moments belonging to a performance and dance history of Hong Kong, abstracted images of bodies in formation during various protests in the recent history of the city, and materials from the archive of sound cultures in the post-martial law era in Taiwan.  

One of the historical moments that has been repeatedly referenced in the show is the iconic exhibition, Out of Context, which took place over a weekend in 1987 at a private house on Kennedy Road in Hong Kong. This artist-organised exhibition involved 21 artists, groups, and other practitioners. It was conceived as a response to the art ecology at the time, in which institutional support for their practices was sorely lacking. The panel discussion at Para Site will explore the relationship between research and performance, and how speculations are imaginatively made when the archive or collective memory are re-mediated through strategies of bodily enactment.

A special screening of the documentary Ears Switched Off and On by Taiwanese filmmaker Chen Singing traces the history of Taiwanese sound art and the underground scene in the 1990s. It focuses on Lin Chiwei, Wang Fujui, and Dino, three artists who were active outside of the mainstream in the '90s, but whose works were often overlooked at the time.



Panel discussion of Out of Context
10 February, 5:30pm
Para Site
This discussion will be conducted in English  

Panelists include artist Manuel Pelmuş, Sunny Pang (artist, Out of Context), Michelle Wong (Researcher, Asia Art Archive), and Freya Chou (Curator, Para Site) 


Screening of Ears Switched Off and On
9 February, 7:00pm
Para Site 

Director: Chen Singing
Taiwan | 2009-2011 | Colour | 93 mins | Mandarin with English subtitles 

Chen Singing
One of most talented and promising young directors in Taiwan, Chen is well known for her highly stylised and fast-paced films. In 2007, God Man Dog was selected in The Forum at the Berlin International Film Festival and also received the Readers’ Prize from Der Tagesspiegel. In 2000, her critically acclaimed first 16mm feature, Bundled, won numerous awards at film festivals. The Walkers, a documentary exploring the life and work of choreographer Lin Lee-chen was recently released. 

Public Tours
A series of public tours will provide insight into the ideas and processes behind the exhibition at Para Site.

Saturday, 20 January
hosted by Freya Chou, Curator of Education and Public Programmes

Saturday, 27 January
hosted by Qu Chang, Associate Curator

Saturday, 10 February
hosted by Freya Chou, Curator of Education and Public Programmes




Para Site Art Space is financially supported by the Art Development Matching Grants Pilot Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

公共教育活動
 | MANUEL PELMUŞ:《展覽會之動》

1月 20 – 2月 10, 2018

Para Site 將推出Manuel Pelmus : 《展覽會之動》的系列公共教育活動。《展覽會之動》為Para Site首項行為表演展覽,以身體作為方法,展覽為框架,透過一組表演者在現場的持續行為呈現一系列的行動集合。本展採用了香港表演及舞蹈歷史中片段的抽樣、香港近期抗爭運動中抽象的身體圖像,以及探討台灣戰後聲音文化的檔案資料。

在眾多文獻檔案中,香港指標性展覽『外圍』成了此次展覽參照的重要文獻來源之一。『外圍』發生於1987年某週末位於堅尼地道一間私宅裡的一場自發性組織展覽,目的在反應當時香港藝術創作發展受到機構邊緣化的處境。此次討論會上,將分就檔案研究與展演機制的不同屬性及方法論來探討文獻及歷史記憶能如何再現?

同時,我們也將特別放映台灣新銳紀錄片導演陳芯宜的「如果耳朵有開關」,此片收錄了三位自1990年代開始台灣從事聲音藝術創作,卻少被主流關注的藝術家:林其蔚、王福瑞、Dino。片名來自某次導演與朋友的談話:「若不想看可以閉上眼睛,但不想聽時卻無法將耳朵關上。」影像中,陳芯宜試圖呈現一種關於個體生命的方式,透過這些邊緣藝術家,折射出那個主流缺席的台灣社會。

 

活動時間

「外圍」討論會
2月10日,晚上5:30時

Para Site 展覽空間

講者:Maneul Pelmus、彭錦耀(「外圍」參展藝術家)、黃湲婷(亞洲藝術文獻庫研究員)、周安曼(Para Site策展人)

 

如果耳朵有開關
2
9日,晚上7
Para Site 
展覽空間

導演:陳芯宜
台灣 | 2009-2011| 彩色 | 93分鐘 | 中文發音、英文字幕

關於導演
陳芯宜為台灣目前最受矚目的年輕導演之一,影片多以人文、藝術、文化相關。2000年她的首部16釐米劇情片《我叫阿銘啦》以都市邊緣的遊民為題材,廣受好評,拿下許多獨立藝術電影大獎,並入選眾多國際影展。2007年《流浪神狗人》獲選柏林影展青年導演論壇單元,並獲頒每日鏡報最佳影片獎;2014年完成耗時10年,關於無垢舞蹈劇場藝術總監林麗珍的紀錄長片《行者》,此片除在專業媒體上獲得好評外,更於各大影院公開上映。


公共導賞
一系列公共導賞將為觀眾介紹展覽概念及背後研究脈絡

120日,週六
下午4
由周安曼主持(Para Site教育及公共項目策展人)
(英文)

127日,週六
下午4
由瞿暢主持(Para Site副策展人)
(粵語)

210
下午4
由周安曼主持(Para Site教育及公共項目策展人)
(普通話)

 

 

 

Para Site 藝術空間獲香港特別行政區政府「藝術發展配對資助試驗計劃」的資助