Performance programme by Choy Ka Fai+Rianto and Eisa Jocson

Choy Ka Fai+Rianto, Eisa Jocson

Jul 26 – Jul 27, 2014

Multimedia Theatre (M1060), L1, Run Run Shaw Creative Media Centre,
City University of Hong Kong, 18 Tat Hong Avenue, Kowloon Tong

Macho Academy, a public intervention by Eisa Jocson
Open space outside Hong Kong City Hall
5 Edinburgh Place, Central

Para Site is pleased to present a performance programme as part of the exhibition Ten Thousand Rooms of Yearning. Sex in Hong Kong featuring performances by artists Choy Ka Fai+Rianto and Eisa Jocson on Saturday, 26 July, 2014, and Macho Academy, a public intervention by Eisa Jocson on Sunday, 27 July, 2014.

Performed for the first time in Hong Kong, SoftMachine: Rianto and Macho Dancer look into the traditions of historical and contemporary erotic dance genres.

SoftMachine: Rianto is a documentary performance by Singaporean artist Choy Ka Fai on Indonesia dancer Rianto, who mastered the cross-gender dance repertoire at a very young age. The performance explores the tensions between the traditional and the contemporary, the masculine and the feminine, as well as the urban and the rural.

In Macho Dancer, Jocson crosses gender boundaries by performing a dance usually reserved for young men in Philippine nightclubs catering both to a male and a female clientele. Given its specific movement vocabulary and physicality, macho dancing is an economically motivated language of seduction, using notions of masculinity as body capital. Jocson’s transcendence of gender specificity challenges the audience’s perception of sexuality and questions the use of one’s body as a tool for social mobility.

Choy Ka Fai is an artist, performance maker and speculative designer. He created the SoftMachine project as an investigation on the contemporary status of dance through a research across Asia. Since 2012, Choy Ka Fai has traveled to 13 cities in 5 countries to meet and interview contemporary dance-makers. Through these encounters, he has collected an independent archive of 88 video interviews and created a series of documentary performance with choreographers from Indonesia, India, Japan and China.

Rianto is a dancer from Banyumas, Indonesia. He specializes in the traditional erotic dance of 'Lengger', while being equally versatile in other Javanese traditional dance forms. He also performs and collaborates with many contemporary choreographers. Since moving to Tokyo in 2003, Rianto has developed different choreographic practices, deriving and departing from his traditional beginnings.

Eisa Jocson is a contemporary choreographer and dancer from the Philippines. Trained as a visual artist and with a background in ballet, she won her first pole-dancing competition in Manila in 2010, and started pole ‘tagging’ and other public interventions in New York and various cities. She then trained in macho dancing and premiered Macho Dancer in Spring 2013. Together with her creation Death of the Pole Dancer (2011), Jocson has since toured numerous European festivals.

This performance programme is co-organized with School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong and the intervention is co-organized with The Isabela Federation – Hong Kong.

Attachment machodancer3 eisajocson gianninaottiker

Eisa Jocson, Macho Dancer Photo by Giannina Ottiker. Courtesy the artist

Attachment riantov3

Choy Ka Fai, SoftMachine: Rianto, Performance Photo. Photo by Law Kian Yen

Attachment 3
Attachment  dsc6679
Attachment  dsc6978
Attachment  dsc7205
Attachment cj2a0040

現場展演:Choy Ka Fai 徐家輝+Rianto 與 Eisa Jocson

徐家輝 + Rianto, Eisa Jocson

7月 26 – 7月 27, 2014

2014年7月26日(星期六)晚上7時正
九龍塘達之路18號香港城市大學邵逸夫創意媒體中心地下多媒體劇場(M1060)

Macho Academy公共介入藝術項目
香港大會堂外
中環愛丁堡廣場五號

Para Site 藝術空間隆重呈獻專題展覽「熱望之房 - 性與香港」現場展演節目,表演藝術家為徐家輝+Rianto 與 Eisa Jocson。節目包括2014年7月26日(六)由三位藝術家演出的行為藝術展演,以及翌日(7月27日)由Eisa Jocson策劃的「Macho Academy」公共介入藝術項目。

行為藝術作品「SoftMachine: Rianto」及「Macho Dancer」首次於香港演出,討論古今當代不同艷舞流派的傳統。

「 SoftMachine: Rianto」是新加坡藝術家徐家輝的作品,紀錄印尼舞蹈家Rianto的表演。Rianto自幼習舞,年輕時已擅長跨性別舞蹈劇目。是次展演探索傳統與當代、雄與雌、城市與鄉郊之間的種種緊張關係。

作品「Macho Dancer」由藝術家Eisa Jocson展演。「Macho」原為一種菲律賓夜總會的陽剛艷舞,年青舞男以此迎合男性及女性客人。藝術家則反其道而行,以女身舞之,跨越性別界限。這種舞蹈有著獨特的動態詞匯,對舞者的體態亦有特別要求:以最簡約的挑情舞姿作餌,純用舞者的陽剛身段為本。Jocson的展演超越了兩性之間的迥異氣質,挑戰觀眾對「性感」的定義,質疑一個人能否用胴體提升自身的社會地位。

徐家輝,藝術家、展演製作人、概念設計師。其研究項目「SoftMachine」,走訪亞洲各國,觀察舞蹈的當代發展狀況。由2012年開始,徐氏遊歷五國共13個城市,採訪多位當代舞蹈家、編舞家等,其研究成果已輯成獨立資料庫,內含88段相關訪問錄像片段。徐氏亦創立一個舞蹈表演紀錄片系列,內容包括印尼、印度、日本及中國編舞家的演出。

Rianto,舞蹈家,原籍印尼班尤馬市,以傳統挑情舞蹈「Lengger」見稱,亦擅於其他爪哇傳統舞蹈。他曾與不少當代編舞家合作,並演出當代舞蹈作品。2003年遷至東京定居,從其傳統舞蹈根基出發,衍生、發展出不同種類的編舞實踐。

Eisa Jocson,菲律賓當代編舞家及舞蹈家。曾受視覺藝術訓練,亦習芭蕾舞。2010年於馬尼拉贏得其個人首個鋼管舞比賽冠軍,並開始於紐約及多個城市開展「塗鴉鋼管」(Pole ‘Tagging’,以市區塗鴉為背景,於街上即興起舞)和其他公共介入藝術項目。及後接受「Macho」男子艷舞訓練,並於2013年春季首次展演個人作品「Macho Dancer」。曾於多個歐洲藝術節巡迴展演此作及原創作品「Death of the Pole Dancer」(2011)。

是次行為展演節目由Para Site及香港城市大學創意媒體學院合辦。

Eisa Jocson, Macho Academy公共介入藝術項目是次行為展演節目由Para Site及The Isabela Federation – Hong Kong 合辦。

Attachment machodancer3 eisajocson gianninaottiker

Eisa Jocson, Macho Dancer Photo by Giannina Ottiker. Courtesy the artist

Attachment riantov3

Choy Ka Fai, SoftMachine: Rianto, Performance Photo. Photo by Law Kian Yen

Attachment 3
Attachment  dsc6679
Attachment  dsc6978
Attachment  dsc7205
Attachment cj2a0040