ONE MORE WEEK TO APPLY FOR THE WORKSHOPS FOR EMERGING PROFESSIONALS

Feb 04 – Apr 15, 2016

Conference dates: June 21- 23
Workshop dates: June 18 - 26
Workshop applications due: April 15

As Para Site celebrates its 20th anniversary, this year’s edition of the International Conference will reflect on the different waves of change that have shaped the art landscape of Hong Kong and the world in these past twenty years. Taking each decade in which Para Site’s work was present, the 1990s, the 2000s, and the 2010s as the starting point of a separate day in the three-day conference, we will suppose that this imperfect and conventional periodisation can nevertheless help us understand the deep transformations of this timeframe. The discussions will be looking both from the perspective of Hong Kong and that of the rest of the world, and the titles of each day are: The 1990s: Identity in the times of the handover and the age of the Biennial; The 2000s: The rise of China and the global art world; and The 2010s: Booms and crises in the age of the art fair. Speakers at the conference include: Roger Buergel, Amy Cheng, Sofia Hernandez Chong Cuy, Leung Chi Wo, Carol Lu, Lucas Ospina, Pi Li, Phoebe Wong, Sara Wong, Tirdad Zolghadr, among others.

For the second year in a row, alongside Para Site’s annual International Conference, an 8-day education programme for emerging professionals (June 18 - 25) is designed to provide learning opportunities mediated by reputed speakers from Para Site’s conference as well as by art practitioners from across Hong Kong’s diverse institutional landscape. Working with the topics covered in the annual International Conference, the Workshops for Emerging Professionals provides a laboratory for experimentation, posing fundamental questions and ideas that challenge various models of curatorial practice. The programme offers opportunities for networking and for the development of systems meant to nurture the participants’ careers.

Selected participants will be responsible for travel from their place of residence to Hong Kong, as well as the return trip, and accommodation expenses. There is no tuition fee. Para Site will cover daily meals and local transportation for all the site visits.

The course will be delivered in English.

 

HOW TO APPLY

Please send completed applications in English to application@para-site.org.hk by April 15, 2016. The material sent for the application will not be returned.

Applicants will be notified of the results in late April 2016.

 

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

 -    A proposal (max. 1,000 words) for a curatorial project, which includes the concept, list of artists, and the institutional/geographical context for the project. This can be a purely hypothetical project, but it should be realistic and considerate towards the context selected.

-    A description or review (max. 600 words) of a curatorial project that has made an impact on the applicant.

-    Curriculum Vitae, including an extensive description of relevant working experience. 

-    One reference letter.

 

CONTACT

freya@para-site.org.hk
Freya Chou
Curator of Education and Public Programmes

 

Attachment cj2a6630

Installation image of The 21st Century Undead Coterie of Contemporary Art, the final Para Site exhibition at 4 Po Yan Street, Sheung Wan, September 2014

最後一週申請新銳藝術人才工作坊

2月 04 – 4月 15, 2016

研討會日期:6月21-23日
工作坊日期:6月18-26日
工作坊申請截止日期:4月15日

時至Para Site 邁入第20個年頭,今年的國際研討會將回溯過去20年形塑香港及世界各地藝術發展的不同浪潮。三天的研討會將以Para Site的展覽及項目為起始點,分別就1990、2000、2010三個十年進行討論,以深入了解不同階段下的歷史軌跡,並以幾個重要的趨勢作為三天的主題內容:《1990年:回歸時期的身份認同及雙年展時代》;《2000年:中國的崛起及全球藝術世界》;《2010年:藝術展會時代的興盛與危機》。受邀參加研討會的講者包括:Roger Buergel, 鄭慧華, Sofia Hernandez Chong Cuy, 梁志和, 盧迎華, Lucas Ospina, 皮力, 黃小燕, 黃志恆, Tirdad Zolghadr 與其他。

延續去年豐碩的成果,新銳藝術人才工作坊將與每年Para Site的國際研討會同期舉行,此次為期8天的培訓活動(6月18-25日)包括一系列的工作坊、講座及實地參訪。參與者可透過此寶貴機會,接受國際策展人、藝術家及本地專業藝術人士近距離的指導。工作坊提供一個實驗平台開啟提問、激發想像,挑戰策展實務中的各種模式;並幫助有志投身文化藝術的年輕學員建立人脈網絡及職業生涯的發展。

參與者將透過下列申請方式篩選而出。



[申請須知]

獲選的參與者將自行負擔往返旅費、住宿。本工作坊不收取任何費用,Para Site將負擔工作坊期間所有膳食及參訪交通費。

工作坊課程將以英語為主

請將完整英文申請書於2016年4月15日前寄至application@para-site.org.hk。遞交之申請文件後續將不予以歸還。

評選結果將於2016年4月底公布


[申請需求]

1. 一份(1000字以內)的策展計畫,內容需包括計畫概念、參加藝術家名單以及展出空間或地區的背景脈絡。(計畫內容無需實際完成,唯應切實可行並符合概念內容)

2. 一份策展評論或介紹(600字以內),陳述該計畫對申請者的影響及選擇原因。

3. 完整履歷,需詳列相關工作經驗

4. 一封推薦信


[聯絡]
freya@para-site.org.hk
Freya Chou 周安曼
教育及公共項目策展人

Attachment cj2a6630