In Search of Miss Ruthless : Screening Programme & Closing Events

Sep 10, 2017

Sunday
1:00 - 7:00pm
Para Site

Para Site invites you to join us on the last day of the exhibition, In Search of Miss Ruthless, for a curator tour, a screening programme, launch of a gossip magazine, and the unveiling of the crown. 

 

Curator Tour
1:00pm
Cantonese 

 

Pièce Touchée
3:00 - 5:00pm  
Facebook event page: https://goo.gl/Nw8LbL

Para Site presents a special screening programme, Pièce Touchée, guest curated by Alvin Li. Composed of moving-image works by Tao Hui, Evelyn Taocheng Wang, Wang Haiyang, and Shen Xin. Pièce Touchée organises works that have undergone experimental editing, informed by affective experiences of queerness and femininity. This program takes its title from Martin Arnold’s canonical work made in 1989, where the artist reconstructed and extended an obscure 18-second short from 1950s Hollywood movie into a 15’36” film. By protracting the individual frames from the original scene, Arnold exposed the performative gestures and emotional cues that lay hidden in the actors’ choreography. Following this seminal critique of gender codes in Hollywood cinema, Pièce Touchée examines the manipulation of the melodramatic form—from fairy tales to literature—and proposes a rubric for choreographed queer life.

Alvin Li is a writer, translator, and queer activist based between Beijing and Shanghai. Li is currently English editor for the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art (UCCA). Particularly interested in queerness and its implications for community practices and social relations, Li has been organising queer film festivals, monthly screenings, and community events in Shanghai for three years. Li is the co-founder of an unrefined queer underground collective in Shanghai named CINEMQ, known for its club-hopping screening program. In addition to their curated short film screenings, CINEMQ would throw badass parties and publish weekly articles on queer screen culture. Li is the co-curator of The New Normal: China, Art, and 2017, a large-scale group exhibition held at UCCA from March to July 2017. Li's writing has appeared in Frieze, Artreview Asia, Randian, LEAP, artforum.com.cn, Modern Weekly, among others.

 

 

Closing Reception and Unveiling of the Crown
5:00 - 7:00pm
Facebook event page: https://goo.gl/XtSwtJ

Dear Miss Ruthless, 

To mark the closing of our first attempt to find you through In Search of Miss Ruthless, we have built a community to welcome you. To prove to you we are a community capable of holding a pageant, participating artist Jes Fan is making a crown to be unveiled to the public. Ruthless Director of Communications Xiaoshi Vivian Vivian Qin will be our Masters of Ceremony for the afternoon. She will be launching The Ruthless Lantern, a magazine she has produced that examines the qualities of ruthlessness and its usage for the future. In taking pageantry as method to organise our narratives in contemporary art, we are left with an attachment premised on adaptation and resilience. 

We hope you will be among us on this date, marking the last moments before we take down the stage at Para Site, and continue our search for you elsewhere. 

Yours truly, 

Hera Chan and David Xu Borgonjon, Curators

 

--

About Miss Ruthless
Miss Ruthless is a fantasy figure of popular support that can represent “our beautiful Hong Kong up on the world stage,” as sung in Hong Kong Our Home. The search for Miss Ruthless began at Para Site in the summer of 2017. Drawing on the depths of diasporic souls and taking pageantry as method, Miss Ruthless is international and her presence is writ in universal history. Following poet Helene Cixous, we ask of Miss Ruthless: What if she were alive? What if, in looking at her, we animated her?

Website: ruthless.international 
Instagram: @ruthless.international
Facebook: facebook.com/ruthlessfans

《尋求無情小姐》放映項目及閉幕活動

9月 10, 2017

週日
下午1:00 – 7:00
Para Site 藝術空間

Para Site誠邀您參與《尋求無情小姐》展覽的閉幕活動,包括策展人導覽、放映項目、八卦雜誌發佈和「無情小姐」的后冠揭曉。

 

策展人導賞
下午1:00
粵語

 

Pièce Touchée
下午3:00 – 5:00 
Facebook event page: https://goo.gl/Nw8LbL

為慶祝《尋求無情小姐》的完滿結束,Para Site將呈獻由李佳桓策劃的放映項目Pièce TouchéePièce Touchée整合了一批實驗性剪接及反映藝術家關於酷兒及女性主義情感體驗的錄像創作,其中包括陶輝、王韜程、王海洋及沈莘的作品。標題Pièce Touchée取自藝術家Martin Arnold 1989創作的經典作品,Arnold將一部1950年代荷里活電影中一段18秒的鏡頭重構成一部1536秒的影像作品。Arnold藉延長原片中每一幀的時長,呈現演員演出背後所隱藏的表演性的姿態及情緒線索。基於這件作品對荷里活電影中性別符號的開創性批判,是次放映活動呈現不同作品對情緒的操控(形式從童話到文學作品不一),及提出這種操控作為指引酷兒生活表演的可能。

李佳桓是一位寫作者,譯者及酷兒行動主義者,現就職於北京尤倫斯當代藝術中心。出於對性別及酷兒運動的關注,李佳桓曾連續三年在上海策劃酷兒影展和社群活動,並於2015年創立了名為CINEMQ的獨立酷兒影像展映+派對組織。李近期參與策劃了UCCA的大型群展《例外狀態:中國境況與藝術考察2017》。他的寫作曾在FriezeArtreview Asia、燃點、 藝術界、藝術論壇及週末畫報等媒體發布發表。

 

閉幕式與后冠揭幕
下午5:00 - 7:00
Facebook event page: https://goo.gl/XtSwtJ 

親愛的無情小姐,

我們為即將結束的《尋求無情小姐》建立了一個社群,這個社群不但標誌著我們首次嘗試尋找妳的努力,亦希望藉此歡迎妳的來臨。為了向妳証明作為一個社群,我們有能力舉辦一個選美比賽,藝術家Jes Fan 將公佈他們特別製作的后冠。而《尋求無情小姐》的傳訊總監賈小詩將為這個下午的盛典主持,並推出一本研究無情及其未來用處的雜誌 --《無情燈》。通過將選美比賽作為組織當代藝術敍事的方法,基於充分的開放性和適應性,我們留下了深深的依戀。

我們衷心希望妳能在這天與我們一起,一同見証這個舞台在Para Site的最後時刻;同時,我們將繼續在各地尋求你。

真摯的策展人 陳思穎 許大小 敬上

 

--

關於我們
無情小姐,由大眾選舉出來的虛構人物、來自近未來。2017年夏季於Para Site藝術空間即將開啟尋求無情小姐的計劃。以僑民經歷為鋪底、選美競賽為方法論,無情小姐的存在跨越了國界、形成/列入了普遍歷史。引詩人艾蓮西蘇所言,我們也同時思索:「假如她真活了?假如我們的注視賦予了她生命?」 

網站ruthless.international 
Instagram: @ruthless.international
Facebook: facebook.com/ruthlessfans