Immortality For All: An Artist Talk By Anton Vidokle Share

Apr 03, 2018

In this artist talk, Anton Vidokle addresses the idea of Russian Cosmism, derived from his recent film trilogy Immortality for All. The talk is followed by a conversation with writer and curator Hu Fang. 

Today, the Russian philosophical theory known as Cosmism has been largely forgotten. Its utopian tenets – combining Western Enlightenment with Eastern philosophy, Russian Orthodox traditions with Marxism – inspired many key Soviet thinkers until they fell victim to Stalinist repression. In this three-part film project, Vidokle probes Cosmism’s influence on the twentieth century and suggests its relevance to the present day.

Combining essay, documentary and performance, Vidokle quotes from the writings of Cosmism’s founder Nikolai Fedorov and other philosophers and poets. His wandering camera searches for traces of Cosmist influence in the remains of Soviet-era art, architecture and engineering, moving from the steppes of Kazakhstan to the museums of Moscow. Music by John Cale and Éliane Radigue accompanies these haunting images, conjuring up the yearning for connectedness, social equality, material transformation and immortality at the heart of Cosmist thought.

Anton Vidokle is a Russian artist based in New York and Berlin. He is the founder of e-flux and e-flux journal.

Attachment img 8061
Attachment img 8063

眾生不朽:Anton Vidokle 藝術家座談

4月 03, 2018

是次藝術家分享會中,Anton Vidokle從他最新的長片三部曲《眾生不朽》出發,暢談關於俄羅斯宇宙論的研究及發展。當天同時邀請作家及策展人胡昉與會對談。 

今天,被稱為宇宙論的俄羅斯哲學早已漸漸被人遺忘。它的烏托邦宗旨 ¾ 將西方蒙運動與東方哲學 ¾ 俄羅斯東正教傳統與馬克思主義相結合,激發了許多蘇聯重要的思想家,直到他們成為史太林主義壓制的受害者。在此三部曲中,藝術家Anton Vidokle探討了宇宙論對二十世紀的影響,並提出了它與當下的相關性。

結合散文,紀錄片和表演,Anton Vidokle引用了宇宙論創始人尼古拉.費多羅夫和其他哲學家與詩人的著作。影片中,鏡頭緩慢地在蘇維埃時期的藝術、建築和工程遺跡中尋找宇宙主義影響的痕跡,從哈薩克斯坦的草原到莫斯科的博物館。 John CaleÉlianeRadigue創作的音樂伴隨著這些令人難以忘懷的影像,喚起了宇宙論主義者思想中對關聯性、社會平等、物質轉化和不朽的渴望。

出生於俄羅斯的Anton Vidokle現居及工作於紐約和柏林,他同時是e-fluxe-flux journal的始創人。

Attachment img 8061
Attachment img 8063