Hong Kong, Hong Kong, an afternoon of screenings and discussions

Oct 05, 2013

Para Site is pleased to present Hong Kong, Hong Kong, an afternoon of screenings and discussions on 5 October 2013 between 13.00 – 19.00 hrs.

Co-curated and introduced by Venus Lau and Qinyi Lim, Hong Kong, Hong Kong looks at the depictions of Hong Kong’s land and spacescapes through the lens of works by Fruit Chan, Mamoru Oshii and Jacob Cheung.

Just as The Floating Eternity by architectural design firm BREAD Studio is a conceptual proposal for a floating graveyard meant to alleviate land scarcity linked with the tradition of abode for the afterlife, this programme looks at how these issues are rendered within the living in different societal layers. The selection of films looks at these layers as negotiated through perspectives such as the cage people in Cheung’s Cageman (145mins, 1992), the underprivileged in Chan’s Made in Hong Kong (108mins, 1997), or the dystopian landscape of 2029 as portrayed in Ghost In The Shell (83mins, 1995).

Hong Kong, Hong Kong is part of the public programmes accompanying Para Site’s current exhibition The Floating Eternity Project, running until 10 November. The show explores the processes leading to the formation of memory landscapes and the scarcity of private and public spaces for both the living and the dead. 

Venus Lau is an independent curator and writer living and working in Hong Kong. Lau is researching into the Pear River Delta region as well as the representation of triads in Hong Kong cinema. She is currently working on her MA Thesis with the focus on hauntology and the paradox of appearance in media art. Lau is the chairman of the curatorial office Society for Experimental Cultural Production and was awarded the Chinese Contemporary Art Awards’ jury prize for art criticism in 2011.

Para Site is Hong Kong's leading contemporary art space and one of the oldest and most active independent art centres in Asia. It produces exhibitions, publications and discursive projects aimed at forging a critical understanding of local and international phenomena in art and society.

Attachment aaaad

Jacob Cheung 張之亮, Cage People 籠民, 1992

午間放映「HONG KONG, HONG KONG」

10月 05, 2013

Para Site隆重呈獻午間放映「Hong Kong, Hong Kong」。放映並備有討論環節,2013年10月5日下午1點至7點。

Hong Kong, Hong Kong」放映會由劉秀儀及林沁怡聯合策劃及介紹,透過陳果、押井守及張之亮的電影作品,檢視其對香港土地和空間景觀的描繪。

浮得永生」是建築設計公司BREAD Studio的概念設計書,旨在設計一個飄浮海上的墳場,以舒緩因入土為安的喪葬傳統而生的土地短缺問題。與此類似,本放映節目以精選電影作品探索這些議題如何在社會不同階層的生活中呈現出來,包括張之亮《籠民》(145分鐘,1992)中住在籠屋的人、陳果《香港製造》(108分鐘,1997)的弱勢社群,或者押井守《攻殼機動隊》(83分鐘,1995)描繪的2029年反烏托邦景致。

是次放映會「Hong Kong, Hong Kong」是Para Site現時展覽「浮得永生計劃」的公眾活動之一。展覽展期至11月10日,探索「悼念地景」(Memory Landscapes)的形成過程,以及在生者與往生者的公共和私人空間短缺問題。

劉秀儀,香港獨立策展人及作家。目前研究範圍包括珠三角地區,以及香港電影中的黑社會形象。劉氏正撰寫其碩士論文,主題集中於媒體藝術的幽靈學(Hauntoloy)及外觀的迷思。現為Society for Experimental Cultural Production策展辦公室主席,2011年榮獲CCAA中國當代藝術獎評論家獎。

Para Site藝術空間是香港首屈一指的當代藝術空間,亦是亞洲其中一個歷史最悠長及活躍的獨立藝術中心。Para Site藝術空間舉辦展覽、出版刊物、開展促進對話的計劃,務求鍛練一個對本地及國際藝術現象和社會現象的批判性理解。

Attachment aaaad

Jacob Cheung 張之亮, Cage People 籠民, 1992