Gao Brothers’ Performance: World Hug Day – Hong Kong

Gao Brothers: Gao Zhen and Gao Qiang, Alvaro Rodriguez Fominaya

Jul 29, 2009

Venue: Main entrance, Hong Kong Arts Centre, 2 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong
Curated by: Alvaro Rodriguez Fominaya
Supported by: Hong Kong Arts Centre

Para Site Art Space is honored to bring Gao Brothers’ warm hugs from China to Hong Kong. Strangers are invited to choose a person at random for a hug, which they will then do simultaneously with other couples, accompanied by music. The mass hugging performance World Hug Day— Hong Kong will be staged outside Hong Kong Arts Centre on 29 July 2009 at 5pm. Everyone is welcome to show up and participate.

The group hug performance was first done in Shangdong Province, China in 2000. Since then they have taken their big hugs to different public locations in countries like China, Germany and UK. The performance challenges the use of public space in Hong Kong. The project engages in the way public space is controlled and brings an intimate act into the public arena, and is connected with the development of “Body Art” in the 70s and “Relational Art” in the 90’s. In China its meaning is connected to the echoes and resonances of the effect of the Cultural Revolution in people’s behaviour. In 2001 Harald Szeemann invited the Gao Brothers to perform their “Utopia of the Embrace” as part of 49 Venice Biennial, on this occasion the artists where famously banned from traveling and unable to attend their own performance.

The Gao Brothers are based in Beijing and are authors of several published works, including “How Far Can You Walk in One Day in Beijing”, “The Current State Of Chinese Avant-Garde Art” and “The Report Of Art Environment”. They have been collaborating on installation, performance, sculpture, photography works and writing since the mid1980s. They are well known for their politically charged art. Their work has been included in “A History Of China Modern Art”,” China Avant-garde Photography”, “The Best Photography Of China”, etc. and is held in private and museums collections, including China National Art Museum, Centre Georges Pompidou, The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, The Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art etc.

This project is part of a series of public performances initiated last January by Tatsumi Orimoto.

高氏兄弟表演:世界擁抱日—香港

Gao Brothers: Gao Zhen and Gao Qiang, Alvaro Rodriguez Fominaya

7月 29, 2009

地點: 香港灣仔港灣道二號香港藝術中心正門
策展人: Alvaro Rodriguez Fominaya
場地及設施贊助:香港藝術中心 Para/Site藝術空間從內地把高氏兄弟的擁抱帶來香港。他們誠邀街上的陌路人隨意挑選對象,於音樂的襯托下同時互相擁抱。是次集體擁抱表演世界擁抱日﹣香港將於七月二十九日下午五時正在香港藝術中心正門舉行。歡迎任何人參加。

高 氏兄弟於2000年在中國山東省集第一次進行體擁抱表演。自此以後他們曾於中國多地、德國及英國舉行此表演。是次表演挑戰香港公共空間的使用,把親密接觸 引進,從而控制該公眾場所,與70年代的人體藝術及90年代的關係藝術有莫大關連。它回應文化大革命對人們行為的影響。 高氏兄弟於2001年受Harald Szeemann邀請於第49屆威尼斯雙年展舉行表演擁抱的托邦,卻遭禁止出遊而未能出席。

高氏兄 弟以北京為基地,曾出版多本著作,包括在“北京一天能走多遠”、“中國前衛藝術狀況”及“藝術生態報告”。 高氏兄弟1980年代中期開始合作從事繪畫、裝置、行為、攝影、寫作等藝術活動。他們亦因作品題材政治敏感而聞名。 他們部分作品被收入“中國現代藝術史”、“中國先鋒攝影”、“中國傳世攝影”等藝術圖冊並被中外人士及中國美術館、 Centre Georges Pompidou、The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art、The Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art等 美術館收藏。

此活動是繼今年一月折元立身法包人後的另一個表演,為Para/Site藝術空間公眾表演系列的項目之一。