Casual encounters during the hot summer days in Hong Kong: Public Programmes for That Has Been, and May Be Again

Jul 23 – Aug 21, 2016

Para Site Education Room

Para Site is pleased to present a series of summer public programmes comprising of gallery tours, a film screening, and an artist talk taking place alongside That Has Been, and May Be Again, our current exhibition curated by Leo Li Chen and Wu Mo.

The exhibition draws the attention to the collective anxiety and unease in China of the 1990s, following the failure of the student movement in 1989. This period in China appears on the surface to be "fractured", with previous experiences, political, economic, and everyday, gradually losing their significance. Contemporary artists, who had rapidly accomplished their modernistic transformation in the 1980s, had to seek or create brand new experiences. In the process, the forces of globalization and the internal discussions around "modernism/post-modernism" shaped the tensions connected to the production, mobilization, and institutionalization of art.

The public tours, taking place over 3 Saturdays and hosted by the co-curators Leo Li Chen and Wu Mo, will provide insight behind the research of the exhibition and selection of artworks and artists.

A special screening of Summer Palace by acclaimed Chinese director Lou Ye will take place on Wednesday, July 27th. The film depicts the unsentimental embrace of youthful idealism in the backdrop of the Tiananmen Square protests in 1989 and the mundanity of postgraduate life. The film is known for being the first Mainland Chinese film to grapple with the memory of the June 4th incident. But rather than showing recollections of the movement, the film focuses on the intimate memories of a young woman seeking desire and satisfaction in endless melancholia. Due to the sensitive issue of the topic, Summer Palace was banned in China and Lou was forbidden to make any new films in China for five years.

On Wednesday, August 10th, the conversation between two Hong Kong artists, Chow Chun Fai and Trevor Yeung will focus on how the local and global social changes of the past decades, particularly the vast development of the art scene in the region, impact their artistic production.

 

PROGRAMME SCHEDULE 

 

PUBLIC TOURS

Saturday, July 23, 3pm

Hosted by Wu Mo 

(Mandarin)

 

Saturday, August 6, 3pm

Hosted by Leo Li Chen and Wu Mo 

(English)

 

Sunday, August 21, 3pm

Hosted by Leo Li Chen 

(Mandarin)

 

SPECIAL SCREENING

Wednesday, July 27, 7pm

Para Site Education Room

 Summer Palace (Yihe Yuan) 

Lou Ye| Colour | 2h 38min | Drama |2006 | Mandarin with English subtitles

Refreshments will be served

 

Yu Hong leaves her home village and starts university in Beijing, where she develops a consuming and compulsive relationship with another student. The student movement of 1989 then ensues and takes a toll on their lives.

 

ARTIST TALK

Wednesday, August 10, 7pm

Para Site Education Room

Shifting Locality: Chow Chun Fai and Trevor Yeung in conversation 

Moderated by Leo Li Chen 

(Cantonese) 

 

About the artists: 

Chow Chun Fai (b. 1980) is known for his conceptually fuelled paintings and photographic installations. Chow holds a BA and MFA from the Fine Arts Department of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He takes an activist role as an artist: Chow serves as Chairman of the Fotanian Artist Village and in 2012 he ran in the Hong Kong Legislative Council elections, for the Sports, Performing Arts, Culture and Publication constituency. Although his election bid was unsuccessful, it drew wide attention to grassroots issues related to art and culture in Hong Kong. Most recently his work has been featured in the exhibitions Venice Meeting Point at the Arsenale, Venice Biennale 2015; The Past Continuing at the Hong Kong Heritage Museum (2015); Hong Kong Eye at the Saatchi Gallery, London and the Liverpool Biennial (both UK, 2012). Chow is a recipient of the Grand Prize of the Hong Kong Arts Centre 30th Anniversary Awards, and the Sovereign Asian Art Prize. Chow lives and works in Hong Kong.

 

Trevor Yeung (b. 1988) graduated from the Academy of Visual Arts of Hong Kong Baptist University in 2010. Since 2010 Yeung has focused on developing personal projects. Yeung's practice uses botanic ecology, horticulture, photography and installations as metaphors that reference the emancipation of everyday aspirations toward human relationships. Yeung recently participated in exhibitions including CHINA 8 at MKM Museum Küppersmühle für Moderne Kunst in Germany (2015) and Shanghai Biennale 2014 in China. Yeung was one of the 3 shortlisted artists for the BMW Art Journey award with his solo exhibition Garden Cruising: It’s not easy being green from the DISCOVERIES section at Art Basel Hong Kong 2015. He lives and works in Hong Kong.

熱天午後之炎夏邂逅──《世變》展覽系列公共項目

7月 23 – 8月 21, 2016

Para Site教育空間

配合目前正在展出由陳立與武漠共同策劃的群展《世變》,Para Site 藝術空間隆重推出一系列暑期公共項目,包括公共導賞,影片放映及藝術家對談。

《世變》一展聚焦於1989的學生運動後,中國藝術界在1990年代所表現出的集體性焦慮與無措,該時期常常陷入被割裂的歷史敘述之中——將近一個世紀的社會主義隨著蘇聯解體、東歐演變而告一段落,原有的(政治、經濟、日常生活)經驗在逐漸失效,在80年代快速完成現代主義進程的中國當代藝術家從而不得不開始尋找、或製造新的經驗。在此過程中,外部的全球化與內部的關於「現代-後現代」之轉變的討論成為左右藝術生產、流通與制度化的張力。

公共導賞由聯合策展人陳立與武漠主講,將幫助觀眾深入了解展覽的理念、其背後的研究過程、以及遴選藝術作品與藝術家的方法。

7月27日將進行電影《頤和園》的特別放映,該片在2006年上映,由中國著名導演婁燁執導,為當代中國第一部以北京天安門事件為背景的電影。影片以一對中國青年男女歷時十幾年的情感糾葛為主線,深刻描繪了中國年輕人在社會與歷史急劇動蕩時期,隨之變幻不定的理想、情感、慾望、及命運浮沉。而由於片中題材的敏感,《頤和園》在中國遭到禁播,導演婁燁則被禁止五年不得拍攝新片。

8月10日由兩位香港藝術家──周俊輝與楊沛鏗的對談,將討論社會和全球邊際之變化,當代藝術在區域發展的背景下如何影響不同世代創作脈絡下的藝術生產?特別是過去十年,「在地性」的游移狀態對他們的個人實踐產生了何種影響?

 

【活動時間】

公共導賞:

週六,7月23日,3pm

由《世變》聯合策展人武漠主講

(普通話)

 

週六,8月6日,3pm

由《世變》策展人陳立與武漠共同主講

(英語)

 

週日,8月21日,3pm

由《世變》聯合策展人陳立主講

(普通話)

 

 

特別放映活動:

週三,7月27日,7pm

Para Site教育空間

 

《頤和園》

婁燁|彩色 |2小時38分鐘 | 劇情片|2006|中文對白,英文字母

(將準備免費飲品及食物)

 

余紅離開了她家鄉的村莊,去往北京開始大學生活,在那裡她與同學周偉開始了一段彼此消耗而又欲罷不能的感情。1989年的學生運動接踵而來,他們的生活和命運就此發生改變。

 

 

藝術家講座:

週三,8月10日,7-8.30pm

Para Site教育空間

游移在地性:周俊輝與楊沛鏗對談

由陳立主持

(粵語) 

 

關於藝術家:

周俊輝

1980年出生於香港,於香港中文大學藝術系先後取得藝術學士(BA)及藝術碩士(MFA)。周俊輝以藝術家身份積極介入社會政治,除任「伙炭」藝術村董事會主席外,更曾於2012年參與立法會「體育、演藝、文化及出版」功能組別選舉。雖未能晉身議事堂,卻成功引起各界對香港文化藝術之關注。近期曾參與展覽包括:《威尼斯集合點》(My Art Guide 主辦,2015年威尼斯雙年展期間)、《香港眼》(2012年英國薩奇畫廊)、利物浦雙年展(2012年)。曾獲「香港藝術中心三十週年大獎」、「Sovereign傑出亞洲藝術獎」等獎項。目前定居工作於香港。

 

楊沛鏗

1988年生於中國廣東省,楊沛鏗2010年畢業於香港浸會大學視覺藝術學院。楊沛鏗透過植物生態,園藝,攝影和裝置來隱喻人與人之間的關係。楊沛鏗近期參加德國MKM Museum Küppersmühle für Moderne Kunst的“CHINA 8”(2015)及2014上海雙年展。2015年以個展《遊園:不太容易做綠色》入選由巴塞爾藝術展與寶馬集團首次合辦的獎項「寶馬藝術之旅」。目前定居工作於香港。