CALL FOR EXHIBITION PROPOSALS FROM EMERGING CURATORS

Jan 12 – Feb 06, 2017

Application deadline: 6 February, 2017

Exhibition venue and period: Para Site, July-August 2017

 

Para Site is pleased to announce the third edition of our summer exhibition series curated by an emerging curator. Following the successes of "Imagine there’s no country, Above us only our cities" curated by Jims Lam Chi Hang in 2015 and of "That Has Been, and May Be Again" curated by Leo Li Chen and Wu Mo in 2016, we are now organizing an open call for proposals by curators in the early stages of their professional careers for an exhibition to be shown at Para Site in the summer of 2017. This platform is devised to provide the opportunity for an emerging curator to develop one of their first major projects benefiting from all the resources, support, guidance, and infrastructure made available for other Para Site exhibitions.  

This project is open to curators irrespective of their residence, but the selected exhibition will have a meaningful connection with Hong Kong and its audience.

REQUIREMENTS

1)    A proposal (max 1 page) for a curatorial project, which includes concept and a preliminary list of artists considered for Para Site (exhibition space approximately 2,500 square feet). Concrete details about the curatorial vision as it will be shown in space are welcome, and succinct and compelling formulations of the curatorial vision, its relevancy in today’s artistic landscape, and connection to our audiences are encouraged.

2)    Curriculum Vitae, with an extensive description of relevant working experience.

Please send completed applications digitally to: application@para-site.org.hk
Please use the same address for requesting Para Site’s floor plan or for other questions.

The exhibition is allocated the standard Para Site exhibition budget, including artwork production costs, guest curator’s fee, and artist fees.

 

Para Site is Hong Kong's leading contemporary art centre and one of the oldest and most active independent art institutions in Asia. It produces exhibitions, publications and discursive projects aimed at forging a critical understanding of local and international phenomena in art and society.

新晉策展人展覽申請公開徵件

1月 12 – 2月 06, 2017

截止日期:201726

展覽地點與日期:Para Site藝術空間,20177-8

 

Para Site 藝術空間榮幸宣布第三屆新晉策展人展覽徵件正式開跑。繼2015年由林志恒策劃的「如果只有城籍而沒有國籍」以及2016年陳立、武漠共同策劃的「世變」後,Para Site於今年再次公開邀請對策展有興趣的新晉藝術工作者踴躍投件。展覽將於2017年暑假進行。此項計劃旨在協助新晉策展人,透過Para Site的平台、資源,指導並協助製作個人首次重要展覽項目。

今年徵選將不限制策展人的居住國籍,唯展覽提案需與香港及其在地脈絡相關聯。

 

申請需求: 

1. 撰寫一份(至多一頁)的策展計劃書,內容包括依Para Site展覽空間(約2,500平方呎)提出的展覽概念和藝術家名單。同時可就策展目標,詳細空間呈現,展覽如何與今日藝術現況及本地觀眾相關等進行詳述。

2. 個人履歷,並陳述相關工作經驗。

請將申請文件以電子檔寄至:application@para-site.org.hk
如欲索取Para Site展覽空間平面圖或詢問其他資訊,可寫信至以上相同電郵地址。

 

此項目預算以Para Site基本展覽支出為標準,包含作品製作、客座策展人費用及藝術家費用。

 

Para Site藝術空間為香港首屈一指的當代藝術中心,亦是亞洲歷史最悠久、最活躍的獨立藝術中心之一。成立宗旨在透過展覽、出版刊物等活動,開展並促進在地與國際間的對話,希冀打造一個對當代藝術、社會現象提出批判性論述及理解的平台。