Book Launch of Taiping Tianguo: A History of Possible Encounters

Feb 24, 2015

Connecting Space Hong Kong
G/F, Wah Kin Mansion
18-20 Fort Street, North Point
Hong Kong

Para Site is pleased to announce the launch of the publication Taiping Tianguo: A History of Possible Encounters, which is based on the highly acclaimed exhibition 太平天國/Taiping Tianguo, A History of Possible Encounters: Ai Weiwei, Frog King Kwok, Tehching Hsieh, and Martin Wong in New York presented at Para Site in summer 2012, and subsequently at SALT Istanbul, NUS Museum Singapore and e-flux New York. The publication is edited by Doryun Chong and Cosmin Costinas and co-published with Sternberg Press.

Both the exhibition and book began as a series of questions: How did Ai Weiwei, Frog King Kwok, Tehching Hsieh, and Martin Wong—four artists of Chinese heritage from various corners of the world—end up in New York in the heady days of the 1980s? Did they know one another? By considering them together, what can we learn about the storied time and place in art history and about the divergent practices of these well-known figures? With nuanced glimpses of the artists’ overlapping experiences, networks and friendships in the whirlpool of downtown New York and re-contextualized discussions of their artistic legacies, the book joins the exhibition in contributing to a critical reading of this period—the first decade of contemporary Chinese art and the prelude to the era of globalized contemporary art.

The publication includes original contributions by a wide range of authors: a conversation between Doryun Chong and Cosmin Costinas about the project; an essay by Anthony Yung on the presence of Chinese artists in New York in the 80s; a conversation between groundbreaking choreographer Xavier Le Roy and Costinas on the influence of Tehching Hsieh’s practice on dance and performance today; an essay on Hsieh’s theatricality by Fukuen Tang; an essay by Christina Li and Yung Ma on the life and work of Frog King Kwok; short essays on Martin Wong by Mark Dean Johnson, Barry Blinderman, and Lydia Yee; as well as an essay by Anton Vidokle about his own experience in Lower Manhattan in the 80s. The book also contains comprehensive images of the artists’ works, and an original chronology of the artists’ biographies within the general historical and artistic background.

The book launch will feature a discussion with the editors, contributors, and the managing editor of the publication, Lesley Ma. The publication will be available for purchase at the launch event for 200 HKD and sold at major art bookstores in Hong Kong, internationally, and online.

The event is kindly hosted by our new neighbors Connecting Space Hong Kong.

This book has been made possible through the generous support of The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation.

About The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation
Established in Hong Kong in 2005, The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation is a private philanthropic organization that seeks to foster and support Chinese arts and culture and to promote a deeper understanding of Buddhist teachings and their application in everyday life. In pursuit of that mission, the Foundation engages in strategic, long-term projects in Hong Kong and around the world to support efforts that make traditional Chinese arts accessible and relevant to different audiences. It also supports the creation of new works that brings innovative perspectives to the history of Chinese art, and that improves the quality and accessibility of scholarship on Chinese art. Guided by a belief that the insights of Buddhism have a vital role to play in approaching the challenges facing contemporary society, The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation has committed substantial resources to expanding the understanding, interpretation, and application of Buddhist philosophy. To learn more about The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation and its activities, visit www.rhfamilyfoundation.org

Attachment cover

Taiping Tianguo: A History of Possible Encounters
ISBN 978-3-95679-116-1
144 pages
170 x 240 mm, paperback

Attachment rhff logo 5
Attachment img005
Attachment img007
Attachment img013
Attachment img001
Attachment img043

<太平天國—可能的歷史交匯>書籍發布會

2月 24, 2015

Connecting Space Hong Kong
北角堡壘街18-20號華健大廈地下

Para Site藝術空間欣然宣布<太平天國—可能的歷史交匯>書刊的隆重出版,這本著作改編自Para Site藝術空間於2012年夏季呈獻的展覽《太平天國—可能的歷史交匯: 艾未未、謝德慶、蛙王郭孟浩、黃馬鼎在紐約》。該展覽會備受讚譽,其後於新加坡NUS Museum 的SALT Istanbul及紐約e-flux展出。本書由Doryun Chong 及康喆明(Cosmin Costinas)聯合編輯,並由Para Site藝術空間和Sternberg Press聯合出版。

該展覽及本書均由一連串問題展開,包括:艾未未、謝德慶、蛙王郭孟浩和黃馬鼎四位來自五湖四海、深得中國傳承的藝術家為何在激動人心的80年代匯聚在紐約?他們互相認識對方嗎?他們相聚一起,如何勾勒出這段埋藏在藝壇歷史中的時間和情景?以及這些著名人物各自的不同風格和手法?本書驚鴻一瞥地呈現了這幾位藝壇傑出人物處身紐約繁華都市的共同經歷、網絡及友情,重新建構他們探討藝術傳承的處境,與相關展覽同樣為這段時間的批判解讀作出貢獻──這個重要的時期就是當代中國藝術萌芽的第一個十年,也是當代藝術全球化紀元的前奏。

本著作搜羅了多位作者的原創手筆,包括Doryun Chong與康喆明就有關項目的對談;翁子健筆錄中國藝術家於80年代處身紐約的情況;破格舞蹈編排家Xavier Le Roy 和康喆明談論謝德慶在舞蹈及演出方面對現今的影響;鄧富權撰寫關於謝長廷戲劇的短文;李綺敏 及馬容元論述蛙王郭孟浩的生平及作品;Mark Dean Johnson、Barry Blinderman及Lydia Yee撰寫關於黃馬鼎的短文;以及Anton Vidokle自述其80年代在曼克頓下城的生活體驗。本書亦輯錄了有關藝術家的作品圖片,以及在一般歷史及藝術背景觀點的映照下論述他們的生平經歷。

當日發布會將安排一場與本書編輯、貢獻者與總編輯馬唯中的對談。本書將於發布會當日有售,價格為港幣$200元正。本港、全球及網上各大藝術書店均有代售。

是次活動由我們的新鄰居Connecting Space Hong Kong舉辦。

感謝 何鴻毅家族基金大力支持,令本書得以出版。

關於何鴻毅家族基金
成立於2005年的何鴻毅家族基金,為香港獨立慈善團體,一直致力推動中華文化藝術,並提倡佛學教育與實踐。為此,基金在香港以至世界各地倡導策略性長期計劃,透過贊助,向不同文化地域推廣傳統中國藝術。基金亦鼓勵創作,為中國藝術史注入嶄新觀點,深化同時普及中國藝術的學術研究。此外,基金深信佛教哲學可幫助現今社會面對各種挑戰,因此投放大量資源,促進社會對佛學的理解、詮釋和應用。瀏覽有關何鴻毅家族基金的工作:www.rhfamilyfoundation.org

Attachment cover

<太平天國—可能的歷史交匯>
ISBN 978-3-95679-116-1
144 頁
170 x 240 mm,平裝本

Attachment rhff logo 5
Attachment img005
Attachment img007
Attachment img013
Attachment img001
Attachment img043