Book Launch of Apichatpong Weerasethakul Sourcebook : The Serenity of Madness

Nov 24, 2016

 6:30pm 

In the last week of our exhibition, Para Site is pleased to launch the Apichatpong Weerasethakul Sourcebook : The Serenity of Madness, co-published by Independent Curators International and MAIIAM Contemporary Art Museum. The evening will feature a conversation with artist Chai Siris, who has been working closely over the years with Apichatpong Weerasethakul, and is the current participant in Para Site’s International Art Residency. The conversation will offer insights from the editorial selection of materials included in the sourcebook, and will invite the audience into an intimate exploration of Weerasethakul’s influences.

The Apichatpong Weerasethakul Sourcebook : The Serenity of Madness is the third in a publication series by Independent Curators International that offers a contemporary perspective on social, political, and cultural issues that impact and inspire artists today. The book includes a collection of primary research materials, such as rare archival documents, artwork studies, and excerpts of landmark publications, selected from the artist’s own archive and annotated with personal commentary.

 

The publication will be available for purchase at the launch event for a special price of 350 HKD. Further copies can be purchased online here. http://curatorsintl.org/shop/apichatpong

 

About Chai Siris

Chai Siris (b. 1983, Bangkok) is an artist based in Chiang Mai, Thailand. He started his art practice when he worked with homeless people at Bangkok’s Royal Ground. He continues to collaborate with people from various professions such as fortune tellers, photo lab technicians, construction workers, and housewives. His work, often in video and photography, deals primarily with the reconstruction of personal and social history, being inspired by his observations of village lifestyle. Chai Siris’s works have been shown at renowned events including Venice International Film Festival and dOCUMENTA 13. His current project, The Man Who Waits 500,000 Years for This Song, is a portrait of an archeological site in Northern Thailand. It will be presented at the Dhaka Biennale 2016.

Attachment ici logo large
Attachment screen shot 2016 11 16 at 1.00.31 pm

「阿比查邦.韋拉斯塔古:狂中之靜」專書發表會

11月 24, 2016

6:30pm

在「阿比查邦.韋拉斯塔古:狂中之靜」展覽接近尾聲之際,Para Site將於最後一週推出本展專書發表會。發表會上將邀請和阿比查邦合作多年的生活及創作夥伴泰國藝術家Chai Siris,一同分享並探索影響阿比查邦豐厚創作的靈感來源。Chai Siris同時也是目前Para Site國際藝術駐留計劃的藝術家。

「阿比查邦·韋拉斯塔古畫冊: 狂中之靜」為 Independent Curators International (ICI)系列出版的第三本刊物。該系列旨在就今日影響並啟發藝術家思維的社會、政治、文化議題面向提出具當代性的觀點。本書收錄了藝術家的素材筆記,對話內容,珍貴的檔案文件及關於藝術家的研究專文。

 

本書將於發表會當天獨家販售,每本售價港幣350元。同時也可至ICI網站購買 http://curatorsintl.org/shop/apichatpong

 

關於Chai Siris 

Chai Siris(1983年生於泰國曼谷)為一名藝術家,目前定居在清邁。他的藝術實踐開始於和曼谷Royal Ground的遊民的合作。之後,他持續與其它不同領域人士的跨界合作,包括算命師、相片實驗室的技術人員、建築工人和家庭主婦。作品靈感來自Siris對鄉村生活的觀察,它們通常以錄像和照片為呈現方式,處理重建個人及社會歷史的主題。他參與的重要展覽及活動包括威尼斯國際電影節及Documenta 13。他近期的項目「為這支歌等待了5千萬年的人」(The Man Who Waits 500,000 Years for This Song),是對泰國北部一個考古現場的刻畫,這件作品將在2016年的達卡雙年展上展出。

Attachment ici logo large
Attachment screen shot 2016 11 16 at 1.00.31 pm