Animism: Drawing the Line

Aug 22, 2013

Para Site
4 Po Yan Street
Sheung Wan

Para Site has the pleasure to present Animism: Drawing the Line a talk by curator Anselm Franke. The lecture will draw from his research on the Animisim project and will explore the relation between the aesthetics and politics of animism, and their significance for reaching beyond the West / Non-West binary today. It will show that animism is a concept through which we can gain substantial insights into politics, namely through interrogating the practices of political inclusion and the acquisition of rights, and equally into exhibition practice, aesthetics and the question of "modernity".

"Animism" is a concept from 19th century European anthropology, where it designated humanity's "original religion" in which nature and the cosmos are being variously perceived as animated and populated by vital forces, spirits or different non-human persons. Animism was perceived as an essential "premodern" and "savage" worldview, and the discourse was intimately tied with colonialism. Animism acted as both an imaginary mirror of Otherness confirming the self-identity of Western modernity, and as a designation for ontological difference in various cultures. From a contemporary modern perspective, animism appears as a name for the making of the distinction between "objects" and "subjects" in an expanded field of environmental thought. But animism is also closely linked to "animation" in film and other artistic media. 

The exhibition Animism will open on 24 August 2013, 17:30hrs at OCAT Shenzhen. 

Anselm Franke is a curator and publicist based in Berlin, where he is Head of the Department of Visual Arts and Film at the House of World Cultures (HKW). He was the curator of the 2012 Taipei Biennial, and previously Director of Extra City Kunsthal Antwerpen, where he initiated the traveling exhibition Animism in 2010, which has since been realized in various collaborations in Bern, Vienna, Berlin, New York. After its presentation at OCAT Shenzhen, the exhibition will be shown at Ilmin Museum in Seoul.

Para Site is Hong Kong's leading contemporary art space and one of the oldest and most active independent art centres in Asia. It produces exhibitions, publications and discursive projects aimed at forging a critical understanding of local and international phenomena in art and society.

Attachment animism 1 candida

Candida Hõfer, Ethnologisches Museum Berlin III, 2003.

泛靈論:定分界

8月 22, 2013

Para Site藝術空間
上環普仁街4號

Para Site 藝術空間隆重呈獻講座「泛靈論:定分界」,由策展人Anselm Franke主講。是次講座將會集中於講者的「泛靈論」研究計劃,並探索泛靈論種種美學及政治之間的關係,以及其超越今天「西方/非西方」二元論的意義。講座將會闡釋泛靈論概念,從中聽眾能得到不少啟迪,包括政治(質疑政治包容性的不同實踐、種種權益的取得)、展覽實踐、不同美學概念,及「現代化」的問題。

「泛靈論」(Animism,又名萬物有靈論),19世紀歐洲人類學的研究概念,宇宙萬物內裡皆有生命、靈魂或鬼神精怪,被定為人類的「原始宗教」。泛靈論被認為是必不可少的「前現代」和「部落」世界觀,這種討論並與殖民主義息息相關。泛靈論既是一面他者用來確認西方現代化自我身份的鏡子,也是不同文化的本體論差異(ontological difference)的指稱。從當代摩登角度而言,泛靈論就像在擴闊的環保意識思維裡,一個用來分辨「客體」和「主體」的名詞。可是,泛靈論也跟電影和其他藝術媒介的「動畫製作」(animation)密切相關。

展覽「泛靈論」將於2013824日下午5時半於OCAT深圳館開幕。

 Anselm Franke,德國柏林策展人及公關顧問,The House of World Cultures視覺藝術及電影系系主任。2012年台北雙年展策展人;前比利時安特衛普Extra City Kunsthal博物館總監,在任期間起動巡迴展覽「泛靈論」,展覽2010年起於多個城市展出,包括瑞士首府伯恩、維也納、柏林、紐約。展覽於OCAT深圳館展出後,下一站為韓國首爾Ilmin Museum

Attachment animism 1 candida

Candida Hõfer, Ethnologisches Museum Berlin III, 2003.