5 x 7, 5 invitations with 7 guests

Sep 18 – Nov 28, 2015

Para Site is pleased to present 5 x 7, 5 invitations with 7 guests, a series of public programmes taking place alongside A Luxury We Cannot Afford, an exhibition that uses art, popular culture, and architecture of the 1950s/60s and 2000s (two moments in which Singapore, currently celebrating its 50th year of independence, was at the brink of economic utopia) to reflect on the formation, development, and paradoxes of the country's national ideology. The events feature lectures and discussions, which explore various trajectories within the exhibition such as public spaces, autonomy of artistic practice, and community politics, with artists and curators Ho Rui An, Qinyi Lim, Godwin Koay, Samson Young, Shirley Surya, Eunice Seng of SKEW Collaborative, Ming Wong, and Wong Hoy-Cheong.
 
On September 18, during the exhibition’s opening reception, Ho Rui An performed Screen Green, a newly commissioned lecture performance for A Luxury We Cannot Afford. Inspired by a screen capture of the current Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s National Day Rally speech in 2014, Ho tracks how green screens are speculative cinematic spaces used for the projection of possible futures (and as filtering devices to screen out futures undesirable by the State).
 
Ho Rui An is an artist and writer working in the intersections of contemporary art, cinema, performance, and theory. He writes, talks, and thinks around images, investigating their sites of emergence, transmission, and disappearance. He currently lives and works between New York and Singapore.
 
Upcoming Events include:
 
Thursday, September 24, 7-9pm
Para Site Education Room
Qinyi Lim in conversation with Godwin Koay
in collaboration with Things That Can Happen
 
Qinyi Lim invites Godwin Koay, the first and current artist resident at the new independent art space Things That Can Happen, to discuss the permissibility of antagonism and defiance in a time of wealth and contentment in Singapore.
 
Godwin Koay’s works explore and test possibilities of artistic practice that intersect with anarchist ideas of social and political praxis, broadly engaging tensions between autonomy and authority while examining thematics of fiction, imagination, precarity, anxiety, urgency, and counterhegemony. He currently lives and works in Singapore.
 

Saturday, October 17, 6pm onwards
Launch of It will be a heaven over there, a podcast by Samson Young
Accessible through Para Site Website and Mixlr
 
Looking at the asymmetrical socio-economic competition between Singapore and Hong Kong, Samson Young’s podcast performance, newly commissioned for the exhibition, takes its point of reference from the 1991 advertising campaign that the Singapore government created to encourage the migration of Hong Kong residents to Singapore in light of the oncoming 1997 handover.
 
Samson Young is deeply influenced by his formal training of classical music composition, and investigates the auditory experience through means of visual and emerging technologies. Blending diverse techniques, his practice centers on a unique cross-media experience that defies labels of classical music and visual arts. He currently lives and works in Hong Kong.
 
 
Tuesday, November 10, 7-9pm
Para Site Education Room
Qinyi Lim in conversation with Shirley Surya and Eunice Seng, SKEW Collaborative 
 
This discussion will delve into the public spaces, public housing projects, and modes of utopias featured and referenced in the exhibition. These include looking at the Singapore Conference Hall and Trade Union Hall (1961-65) and other works by Malayan Architects Co-Partnership/Architects Team 3 (MACP/AT3) and one of its founding architects, Lim Chong Keat, and comparing Singapore to Disneyland through projects like Celebration, Florida and the district of Toa Payoh in Singapore.
 
Shirley Surya is Associate Curator (Design & Architecture) at M+, Hong Kong. She has contributed writings on graphic design and architecture to Design and Culture, Singapore Architect, and The Design Society Journal and co-curated exhibitions including Yung Ho Chang & FCJZ: Material-ism, Building M+: The Museum and Architecture Collection and NEONSIGNS.HK.
 
Eunice Seng is Associate Professor and Chair of the Departmental Postgraduate Program at the University of Hong Kong, and founding principal of SKEW Collaborative, Shanghai/Hong Kong. Her research interests include the histories and theories of modernity, housing, domesticity and the metropolis, politics of power and post-colonialism, utopias, as well as artefacts and their cultural representations.
 

Saturday, November 28, 5-7 pm
Para Site Education Room
Discussion with artists Ming Wong and Wong Hoy-Cheong
 
Taking the point of departure from Sparrow with Bamboo Twigs, a song that was banned for 23 years due to the “Speak Mandarin” campaign in Singapore (1970 - onwards), the artists look at the positioning of Chinese in Malaysia and Singapore through filmic history and national policies.
 
Ming Wong has had recent solo exhibitions at UCCA, Beijing; the Museum of Moving Image, Queens, New York, as part of Performa 11; Vitamin Creative Space, Guangzhou; the Frye Art Museum, Seattle; the Hara Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo; and the Singapore Art Museum. He currently lives and works in Berlin.
 
Wong Hoy-Cheong works in drawing, photography, painting, performance, and films and had solo exhibitions at the National Art Gallery, Kuala Lumpur (1996 and 2004) and Eslite Gallery, Taipei (2010). He currently lives and works in Kuala Lumpur.

Attachment greenscreen image upload

Screen Green
Ho Rui An
2015
Performance lecture and green screen installation
Courtesy the artist

5 x 7 = 7位嘉賓的5場邀約

9月 18 – 11月 28, 2015

5 x 7 為一系列的講座及討論會,邀請觀眾一窺《無法承受的奢華》(A Luxury We Cannot Afford)展覽的內容軌跡;深入探討公共空間、藝術實踐的自主性和社區政治的發展。參與嘉賓包括何銳安、林沁怡、郭峰吉楊嘉輝王蕾、SKEW Collaborative 成美芬黃漢明黃海昌。《無法承受的奢華》一展以1950、60年代及2000年的流行文化、經濟和城市規劃歷史為基石,反映新加坡國家意識形態的形塑、發展的過程及當中產生的矛盾。今年乃新加坡慶祝獨立五十周年,而上述兩個年代正值該國經濟起飛之前。
 
在 9月18日舉行的展覽開幕活動中,何銳安舉行的展演講座《Screen Green》為此次展覽委任的新作,靈感來自2014年現任新加坡總理李顯龍在國慶日發言的擷取畫面,藝術家利用綠幕作為一種臆測的電影空間,用於投射可 能發生的未來,藉以暗喻政府過濾並篩選掉它不歡迎的未來。
 
何銳安為一名藝術家及作家,作品內容交匯當代藝術、電影、展演講座及理論。他的寫作、演講及思考均以圖像為中心,探討其興起、傳輸和消失的站點。目前於紐約和新加坡定居住及工作。
 
活動預告:
 
924日(星期四), 7-9pm
Para Site  Education Room
林沁怡與郭峰吉對談
與咩事藝術空間聯合主辦
 
策展人林沁怡邀請全新的獨立藝術空間-咩事藝術空間的首位及現任駐留藝術家郭峰吉一同進行對談,探討現時富強的新加坡對於對抗和挑釁的包容性。
 
郭峰吉的作品在探討和試驗藝術實踐與無政府主義思想的社會和政治實踐產生互動的可能性、自主性和權力之間廣泛接觸的緊張關係,同時研究小說、想像、動盪、焦慮、緊迫性和反霸權的主題。他目前於新加坡定居及工作。
 

1017日(星期六), 6pm
楊嘉輝《那裡會是個天堂?》podcast發佈會
可藉由Para Site 網站及Mixlr收聽
 
楊嘉輝的podcast創作為此次展覽委任的新作,以香港97回歸前,新加坡政府於1991年為鼓勵香港居民移居當地製作的宣傳活動為起點,藉此探討兩地之間的非對稱社會經濟競爭。
 
楊嘉輝接受正統古典音樂及作曲訓練。其作品不僅專注於聽覺經驗,也融入視覺和新興科技。創作以融合多元技術和獨特的「跨媒體」經驗見稱,且已跨過古典樂和視覺藝術等定義。目前在香港定居及工作。
 
 
1110日(星期二), 7-9pm
Para Site Education Room
林沁怡與王蕾 、成美芬(SKEW Collaborative)對談
 
此 次對談將深入研究公共空間、公屋及展覽中展現和參考的各種烏托邦模式。其中包括研究新加坡大會堂和工會大堂及馬來亞建築師合作夥伴/建築師團隊3 (MACP/AT3),以及其創會建築師之一Lim Chong Keat的作品,以及針對慶典、佛羅里達州迪士尼及新加坡大巴窯等項目的研究,藉以比較新加坡和迪士尼樂園之間的異同。
 
王蕾是香港M+的副策展人(設計及建築),曾為《Design and Culture》、《Singapore Architect》和《Design Society Journal》期刊撰寫關於圖像設計和建築的文章,參與策劃的展覽包括《Yung Ho Chang & FCJZ: Material-ism》、《Building M+: The Museum and Architecture Collection》及《NEONSIGNS.HK》。
 
成美芬是香港大學的副教授和建築學系研究生課程主席,同時也是上海/香港SKEW Collaborative的創會校長。她的研究涉獵多個不同範疇,包括現代性、住房、家庭生活與都市、電力和後殖民主義政治和烏托邦的歷史和理論,以及文物和其文化表徵。
 
 
1128日(星期六)5-7 pm
Para Site Education Room
林沁怡與藝術家黃漢明、黃海昌對談
 
新加坡本土歌謠《麻雀銜竹枝》由於受到1970年新加坡政府發起的講華語運動而被禁播了23年,本次對談將從這首歌謠談起,通過電影歷史和國家政策等各方面探討中國人在馬來西亞和新加坡的地位。
 
黃漢明近 期在北京UCCA舉行了首次個展。他曾在紐約皇后區Museum of Moving Image參與Performa 11展覽、並於廣州维他命艺术空间、西雅圖Frye Art Museum、東京Hara Museum of Contemporary Art及新加坡美術館舉行展覽。目前定居於柏林。
 
黃海昌的作品含括繪畫、攝影、油畫、表演及電影,曾於吉隆坡國家藝廊(1996及2004)及台北誠品畫廊(2010)舉行個人展覽。目前定在吉隆坡定居及工作。

Attachment greenscreen image upload

綠幕
何銳安
2015
展演講座及綠幕裝置
由藝術家提供