Where the lions are

a.a. Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc, Isabelle Cornaro, Claire Fontaine, Peter Friedl, Dora Garcia, Florence Lazar, Katerina Seda, Danh Vo, 王浩然, 楊俊, 陳玉瓊

May 08 – May 23, 2008

《Where the lions are》 is a sentence that european cartographers from the Middle Ages used to indicate unknown, “undiscovered” territories on their maps, projecting fantastic images, produced by fantasy and fear, on the otherness.

This exhibition gathers international artists who question the relationships with the other and its domestication or reject, two complementary ways to maintain distance with what is considered as alien, and the first step in a colonization process.

The exhibition will consider contemporary situations of colonization but also the way that a society, a group or an individual can unconsciously desire for, admit to and integrate into a system, a hierarchy of values that will assign it to a minor position and as a result become a colonized subject. It is not through oppression, but rather through a limitation of possibilities that leads to a situation where one cannot recognize oneself anymore.

The relationship with otherness usually reflects and reveals the mental, social and political constructions of a set group. Either this other is rejected as an alien, or it is fantasized and domesticated through exoticism. Both situations, at an individual or collective scale, are related with the feeling of identity and the certainty of it. To define identity as a construction and accept non-knowledge as a common place, a shared one, is to also accept it to be the other’s alternativeness, to become the alien, the barbarian; as the text in one of the works by the collective Claire Fontaine aptly points out, we are 《Foreigners everywhere》.

Intertwining histories and uses of culture emerge in the works of the exhibited artists. Their researches investigate cultural exchanges as places of conflict, where the otherness inside us becomes the uncanny within an ungraspable identity.

Francois Piron

不入虎穴

a.a. Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc, Isabelle Cornaro, Claire Fontaine, Peter Friedl, Dora Garcia, Florence Lazar, Katerina Seda, Danh Vo, 王浩然, 楊俊, 陳玉瓊

5月 08 – 5月 23, 2008

《不入虎穴》(是覽英文名:Where the lions are; 中文意譯:獅子所在地)是指中世紀時代的歐洲製圖師指他們對未知、「未發現的」土地,投射出他們對異類由幻想及恐懼所產生的荒誕影像。

是次展覽集合了一些關注異客與它的同化或排擠之間的關係的問題的國際藝術家,於同化或排擠間,正是兩種互補方式,使人們與這些被視為外僑及殖民化過程的最初步而保特距離。

展覽將檢視當代殖民化的處境,以及一個社會、團體或個體如無意識地追尋、承認及融入一個將他們打壓成二等地位的價值體系,從而變成一個殖民化主體。這並不是透過壓迫所致,而是透過局限的發展,產生出個體無法自我認同的處境。

本 土與異客的關係,通常是反映及顯示出一個特定群體的精神、社會及政治架構。這個異客不是被排擠為外族,就是透過異國風情而被幻想或同化。在這兩種情況下, 即使從個體或群體規模來看,都與他們認同感或確切感相關。如果定義身份為一種建構及接納無知為常態的話,即同時接受異客取捨成為外僑或蠻族。就如同參展藝 術家Claire Fontaine其中一個作品裡恰當地指出,我們是《 Foreigners everywhere 》。

參展藝術家於其作品內均浮現出纏繞歷史及文化的運用,並探討文化交流作為的衝突場所,以及我們當中的異客變成不能能理解的怪異身份。

Francois Piron