THE ACT OF TRACING: ANDIO LAI

Mar 24 – Mar 26, 2016

Art Basel in Hong Kong
On Level 1 Concourse, Booth P8

Para Site is proud to present The Act of Tracing, a commissioned solo presentation by sound artist Andio Lai. In recent years, Lai has experimented with his unique passion for inventing instruments and juggling alternative sounds. For this project, Lai considers the transformability of musical devices and technology into artwork, which articulate sound, a unique act of expression in the visual-centric surroundings of the art fair. This show comprises of a series of new and disparate instrumental devices that explore in a lively manner the boundaries between art, science, physical form, and noise. Referencing the analog sound system with the help of new media technology, each of these works is assembled from multiple found objects, electrical components, and classical sound mediums such as tape recorders and self-recorded vinyl. The final outcome can be “played/altered” by the audience, resulting in a wide variety of sensorial experiences for each individual, and revealing different trajectories connecting the artworks to the audience. The Act of Tracing is curated by Jims Lam Chi Hang.

Andio Lai (b.1988, Hong Kong) obtained his BA in Creative Media from the School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong in 2015. He is currently a student in the Master of Fine Art programme at The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Lai is also an experimental sound performer who frequently plays at different art spaces and galleries. Past performances include Sonic Anchor #24 Interfacing Dynamics, Hong Kong Arts Centre; performance at Jockey Club Street Music Series, Hong Kong Arts Centre; and exhibitions including SCM ANNUAL 2015, School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong; Ubiquitous Musical Expression Workshop Concert with SCM HK, Zurich University of Art, Zurich 2014; Connecting the Dots, On the Road 2015, School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong and Fotan Open Studio 2015/2014.

 

The Act of Tracing is generously supported by Kai-Yin Lo.

 

Para Site is Hong Kong's leading contemporary art centre and one of the oldest and most active independent art institutions in Asia. It produces exhibitions, publications and discursive projects aimed at forging a critical understanding of local and international phenomena in art and society.

Attachment  dsc5322
Attachment  dsc5440
Attachment  dsc5359
Attachment  dsc5346
Attachment  dsc5367
Attachment  dsc5383
Attachment 7
Attachment 8b
Attachment 8
Attachment 9
Attachment 11
Attachment 10
Attachment 12
Attachment 13
Attachment 14
Attachment 15
Attachment 16
Attachment 17
Attachment 18

黎仲民:「探尋軌跡之行」

3月 24 – 3月 26, 2016

巴塞爾藝術展香港展會
P8展位設於1樓大堂

Para Site隆重呈獻全新創作個展「探尋軌跡之行」,展出聲音藝術家黎仲民作品。黎仲民近年長期投入樂器的開發,遊走另類聲音創作。這次受邀委任的新作中,黎仲民嘗試探討結合樂器和科技轉化成藝術作品的可能,凸顯聲音在相較以「視覺」做為主要表現的藝術展會上的獨特性。展覽包括一系列不同種類的全新聲音裝置,巧妙地探索藝術、科學、物理形式和噪音之間的界線。這些作品以現成品、電子組件和傳統聲音媒介組成,例如卡式錄音帶和自行錄製的黑膠唱片,再借助新媒體科技,模擬類比音響系統。聽眾可自行演奏或調整作品所發出的聲音,創造屬於自己的聽覺體驗,並揭露藝術品和聽眾之間的不同軌跡。「探尋軌跡之行」由林志恒策展。

黎仲民(1988年生於香港),2015年獲香港城市大學創意媒體學士,現為香港中文大學藝術文學碩士生。實驗音樂藝術家,在多個藝術空間及畫廊展出,包括:香港藝術中心「聲音下寨」 # 24 身聲控動、香港藝術中心「賽馬會街頭音樂系列」等。展覽包括香港城市大學創意媒體學院年度展2015、蘇黎世藝術大學「Ubiquitous Musical Expression Workshop Concert with SCM HK」演奏會(2014,瑞士蘇黎世)、香港城市大學創意媒體學院「Connecting the Dots, On the Road 2015」、伙炭藝術工作室開放計劃(2014及2015)。

 

 

本展覽探尋軌跡之行由羅啟妍女士慷慨贊助。

 

 

Para Site藝術空間為香港首屈一指的當代藝術中心,亦是亞洲歷史最悠久、最活躍的獨立藝術中心之一。成立宗旨在透過展覽、出版刊物等活動,開展並促進在地與國際間的對話,希冀打造一個對當代藝術、社會現象提出批判性論述及理解的平台 

Attachment  dsc5322
Attachment  dsc5440
Attachment  dsc5359
Attachment  dsc5346
Attachment  dsc5367
Attachment  dsc5383
Attachment 7
Attachment 8b
Attachment 8
Attachment 9
Attachment 11
Attachment 10
Attachment 12
Attachment 13
Attachment 14
Attachment 15
Attachment 16
Attachment 17
Attachment 18