Terminus

Duan Jianyu, Sascha Pohle, Dishwasher Pete (Pete Jordan), Johanna Billing, Richard T. Walker , Liu Chuang

Aug 24 – Sep 21, 2008

Curated by Christina Li

As we become global and daily travellers, the questions such as, ‘Where have you been?’ often recur in our everyday dialogues as conversational topics about one's voyages. Travelling is such an indispensable part of the contemporary experience where mobility has become a perpetual state of being. By attempting to explore within these confines of destinations and activities associated with the notion of journeys, one comes to reflect on what may seem to be a general contemporary desensitisation towards the notion of travelling.

Revisiting the personal processes and reasons involved in the habit of journey making, Terminus presents a variety of art works that tap on the very essences and nuances of travelling. The exhibition is an investigation to rediscover the wonders of travelling as well as engage with the emotions, poetics and at times, turmoil that are vital while being on the road.

Stripping away the promises of pleasure inherent with tourism and holidaymaking, travelling allows an individual to embark on an escape from home in search of an ‘other’ space where personal dramas, moments of anxiety, boredom, fatigue and displacement are unanticipated. The artists from the exhibition unravel these emotions as well as the romantic imagination and anticipation that are inspired by the possibility of adventures and new experiences. Through video, zines to objects, Terminus takes a look at travelling as an act of self-exploration where destinations are new, unknown and never final.

For the first half of 2008, Para Site Art Space has presented a series of exhibitions such as Where the lions are, Asia Art Knots up to the very recent Franz Ackermann: My Secondary Coming that dealt with mobility and its placement in cultural, identity and social political issues. Terminus builds on these established points of reference to provide a more intimate, if not, voyeuristic look in this subject of travelling.

Attachment 3s8a9440
Attachment 3s8a9479
Attachment 3s8a9122
Attachment 3s8a9333

暫‧停

段建宇, Sascha Pohle, Dishwasher Pete (Pete Jordan), Johanna Billing, Richard T. Walker , 劉窗

8月 24 – 9月 21, 2008

Curated by Christina Li

旅遊是當下生活體驗中不可或缺的部分,而流動性亦變成一種永久的狀態。 作為慣性及世界性的旅遊者,每當談及個人旅程時,經常會被問及:「你到過哪些地方?」「你看到一些甚麼事物?」這意味著一般人對於旅遊者的遊歷似乎不大感興趣,因為這些地方或相關活動已變得局限和僵化 。

有意探討個人在計劃旅程時的過程和種種原因,「暫‧停」將展出不同的藝術作品對「旅遊」這主題作精確的描繪。展?將重新探索和發掘旅遊的樂趣,並探討個人在旅途上所產生的情感、詩意與及焦慮等跟旅程息息相關的種種事。

撇除旅遊及其計劃時所帶來的必然樂趣,旅行給予個人逃離現實生活而尋找「別的」的空間。個人故事、憂慮、疲倦、離家等都是旅途上沒有預期的。藝術家將在展覽中揭示這些情緒,與及對旅遊冒險和新體驗的憧憬和期盼。「暫‧停」將過音樂錄像、網上雜誌、煙花照片、傢俬及紀念品等,把旅遊視為自我探索的行為,而當中所關注的是旅程,而非旅點。

上本年度,「Para/Site藝術空間」舉辦了一系列的展覽,主題涉及「流動性」及其相關議題並延伸至文化、身分及社會政治等層面。展覽包括「不入虎穴」、「亞洲藝術結連」,以及近期舉行的「Franz Ackermann: 重‧來」。是次展覽「暫‧停」,參考了過去各個展覽中所確立的觀點,並為「旅遊」這主題添加個人視點。

Attachment 3s8a9440
Attachment 3s8a9479
Attachment 3s8a9122
Attachment 3s8a9333