Shahzia Sikander – Authority As Approximation

Sep 03 – Sep 30, 2009

Curated by Alvaro Rodriguez Fominaya

Main sponsor:gandhara-art

Para Site Art Space is honored to present Authority As Approximation, a retrospective of time based video works by acclaimed artist Shahzia Sikander. For her first solo presentation in China, five video works have been selected, spanning from 2003 to 2008, representing an in-depth study on her research on moving image. The exhibition includes seminal works like SpiNN (2003), which was shown in Venice Biennial Arsenale exhibition, and it also comprises her latest film, the video-essay Bending The Barrels (2008).

Shahzia Sikander’s Bending The Barrels depicts a Pakistani Army military brass band, and examines this formation as a political device. The work stresses the interaction of a superimposed text and the accompanying soundtrack. On the meaning of this film, cultural critic Aditya Dev Sood explains that “In her choice of Pakistani Army Bands as a subject for visual capture and representation, Sikander triggers deep resonances from within the tradition of Indo-Islamic miniature painting. The corporeal language, rhythm, space-making and compositional effects that she discovers and creates in film appear rooted in courtly spectacles as well as in their painterly representation, in various Mughal and later Company and British Imperial styles.” This work was premiered earlier this year in New York.

The work of Shahzia Sikander is often seen as a critique and a deconstruction of the traditional imagery of India and Pakistan. Aside from her drawings on paper, her video works also consist of interferences that give rise to other readings, where the combination of musical composition and images submerges us in an all-encompassing experience.

On this occasion the venue has been transformed into a black box screening gallery to comply with the semantics and standards of the moving image inside the gallery space. The exhibition allows us to delve into one aspect of Shahzia Sikander’s artistic praxis that constitutes a departure from her seminal miniature drawings, and unveils to us the critical rigor of her approach to other media.

Shahzia Sikander has had solo shows in Whitney Museum (New York), Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (Washington D.C), The Renaissance Society (Chicago), MCA (Sydney) and Ikon Gallery (Birmingham), among others.

Checklist:
Nemesis, 2003, Digital Animation
SpiNN, 2003, Digital Animation
Pursuit Curve, 2004, Digital Animation
Dissonance to Detour, 2006, Digital Animation
Bending the Barrels, 2008, Video

Curator’s Talk by Alvaro Rodriguez Fominaya
(Sunday) 6 September 2009; 2pm at Para Site Art Space

權力.概算

9月 03 – 9月 30, 2009

Curated by Alvaro Rodriguez Fominaya

主要贊助:gandhara-art

Para/Site藝術空間呈獻著名藝術家 Shahzia Sikander 錄像作品回顧展﹣ 權力.概算。我們為她在中國的第一個展覽精選出五件作品,它們均於二零零三年至二零零八年製作,是藝術家對影像研究的代表作。展覽包括她其中一件曾出展於 Venice Biennial Arsenale 的作品 SpiNN (2003) ,以及其新作 Bending The Barrels (2008)。

Bending The Barrels 描述巴基斯坦軍隊銅管樂隊,把它視為政治手段般細查。影片強調文字與背景音樂的互動。文化評論人 Aditya Dev Sood 指 Shahzia Sikander 以巴基斯坦軍隊銅管樂隊作視覺主題,與傳統印度伊斯蘭纖畫產生共鳴。當中藝術家以她發現及創造的身體語言、空間、節奏及組合性的效果,配合莫臥兒及英國皇家風格,優雅地表現出其見解。此作品本年曾於紐約首映。

Shahzia Sikander 的作品常被視為對傳統印度及巴基斯坦意象的評論及解構 。藝術家在她的影片中使用手繪及其他手法,令觀眾有不同的解讀之餘,亦有被音樂及影像重重地覆蓋的體驗。

藝術空間的一部份將被佈置成一個漆黑的放映室。是次展覽將讓觀眾更深入了解Shahzia Sikander 批判及精確地使用纖畫及其他媒體的藝術創作手法。

Shahzia Sikander 曾經於 Whitney Museum (紐約)、 Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (華盛頓 D.C)、 The Renaissance Society (芝加哥)、 MCA (雪梨) 以及 Ikon Gallery (伯明罕市)等地方舉辦個人展覽。

作品清單:
Nemesis, 2003, 數碼動畫
SpiNN, 2003, 數碼動畫
Pursuit Curve, 2004, 數碼動畫
Dissonance to Detour, 2006, 數碼動畫
Bending the Barrels, 2008, 錄像
策展人講座- Alvaro Rodriguez Fominaya

(星期日)二零零九年九月六日;下午二時正於Para/Site藝術空間