PHOTO BOOTH: LAU WAI AND WONG WING SANG

Mar 21 – Mar 25, 2017

Booth P4, Bookstores and Institutions Area on Level 1 Concourse
Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre

For the 2017 edition of Art Basel Hong Kong, Para Site is proud to present in its institutional booth the duo exhibition Photo Booth, featuring newly commissioned work by Lau Wai and Wong Wing Sang. Contemplating  both the universal norm that regards portrait photographs as the physical description of personal identity and the history of Hong Kong photography starting from the mid-19th century, this exhibition presents the perspectives of the two artists, who carve out both visible and invisible portraits of individual/communal and social/historical stories. 

Working primarily with photography, Lau Wai creates a detailed depiction of both her own childhood and a broader picture of her generation through personal memories. In Profile Picture, Lau merges blurry photographs of herself with Japanese cartoon images highly in vogue in the 80s and 90s, carrying different meanings and references. For instance, Astro Boy had the ideological undertone of reversing the negative connotations of atomic energy in Japan, Dragon Ball was an adaptation of the classical Chinese literature Journey to the West, while Saint Seiya took its cultural reference from Greek mythology and astrology. Profile Picture portrays a specific cultural memory as well as identity analogy that weaves Asian modernity and globalization after World War II, Japanese photo sticker culture, and the growing importance of online profile photos.

Wong Wing Sang takes the evening news anchor from TVB, Hong Kong's major TV channel, as his object of pictorial and language analysis in Those Days and How Have You Been. By capturing the news anchor's facial expressions seconds after delivering the news and her occasional colloquial phrases made during the report, and creating a set of ID-like photos, produces complex images representing the tensions between the official and the personal and the public and the intimate, respectively.

Sampling from and processing a wide array of archives, the works by Lau and Wong go beyond portrait photography's functions of celebration and verification. Photo Booth presents a set of "portraits," which offer a perpetual gaze into a wider landscape.

Lau Wai (b. 1982, Hong Kong) graduated from Goldsmiths College, University of London with a Bachelor degree in Fine Art, and currently lives and works in Hong Kong. She was the finalist of the 7th Three Shadows Photography Award 2015 and Xitek 2014 New Photo Award. Past exhibitions include Cities and Memory (Brandts Museum, Odense, 2016), Les Photaumnales 2016 (Beauvais, 2016), Adrift (OCAT Shenzhen, 2016), Imagine There's No Country, Above Us Only Our Cities (Para Site, Hong Kong, 2015).

Wong Wing Sang (b. 1990, Guangdong) moved to Hong Kong with his father at the age of 4. He studied in the Fine Art Department of Chinese University of Hong Kong, and received the Cheung’s Fine Art Award in 2013. Past exhibitions include Hazy Winter (Canton Gallery, Guangzhou, 2015), Our 1989-1999 (8½Art Space, Taipei, 2014), The City – The Art of CUHK 2013, (CUHK, Hong Kong, 2013).

 

Building on its established practice over the years at the art fair, Para Site provides the opportunity for emerging Hong Kong artists to experiment and extend their practice through collaboration and support from Para Site’s curatorial team as well as to produce new works. Previous years featured Andio Lai, Sarah Lai Cheuk Wah, Ho Sin Tung, and Lee Kai Chung, among others. Photo Booth is curated by Qu Chang.

Photo Booth is generously supported by Patricia Crockett, Sprüth Magers; IEs Collection; Spring Workshop; Bonnie and Darrin Woo; Chau Digital HK Ltd.

Attachment img 3419
Attachment img 3449
Attachment img 3440
Attachment img 3456
Attachment img 3453
Attachment img 3463
Attachment img 3468
Attachment img 3464

照相亭:劉衛與黃永生

3月 21 – 3月 25, 2017

P4展位設於一樓大堂文化機構及藝文書店展區
香港會議展覽中心

Para Site藝術空間榮幸於2017年巴塞爾藝術展香港展會呈現香港年輕藝術家劉衛與黃永生的全新創作雙個展《照相亭》。自攝影術普及以來,人像成為身份驗證描述實體的普適標準,同時,19世紀中期以來,人像攝影亦與香港的現代性有著密切的捆綁,展覽以此為背景,透過兩位藝術家媒材及視角迥異的創作,以個人肖像作為考量社會機器與歷史生產下可見及未可見的個人與集體、歷史與故事。

多以攝影為創作手法的劉衛延續過往創作中以個人記憶為通道深描時代形貌的方式,在作品《個人肖像圖》中以虛化的私人相片與8090年代風靡亞洲、承載不同意涵的日本卡通形象結合,例如,《阿童木》隱含扭轉日本國內對原子能負面印象的政治任務、《龍珠》為對中國經典文學「西遊記」的改編、《聖鬥士星矢》則是對希臘神話及星座文化的內化吸收。《個人肖像圖》在呈現出一條並不明確的成長線索的同時,以豐富的細節描畫了一段混合著亞洲現代性、二戰後文化交換、大頭貼審美和日益膨脹的網絡頭像意識的文化記憶與身份映照。 

以行為與裝置為其概念創作媒介的黃永生在作品《近況》和《你最近好嗎》中將香港TVB 電視台六點半新聞的播報者作為肖像及語言分析的對象,捕捉新聞結束後播報員的影像定格以及她在播報程式中偶然洩露的個人表達。被挪用為類似證件照的新聞主播肖像此時形成一個融合著官方與個人、公共與私密的曖昧形象。

分別透過對個人與公共檔案的取樣與加工,劉衛與黃永生互為獨立並相互對視的作品,延展人像攝影的紀念與驗證功能,呈現出一組可供更長久凝視與更廣意義延伸的「泛肖像」。

劉衛(1982出生於香港)畢業於倫敦大學金匠學院,獲純藝術學士,現生活並工作於香港。作品曾入選第七屆「三影堂攝影獎」(2015)、「色影無忌」2014中國新銳攝影師獎。參與過的展覽包括:《城市與記憶》(丹麥Brandt博物館,2016)、 LesPhotaumnales 2016(法國博韋,2016)、 《他/她從海上來》(OCAT當代藝術中心深圳館,2016)、 《如果只有城籍而沒有國籍》(香港Para Site 藝術空間,2015)等。

黃永生(1990年生於中國廣東)四歲隨父親遷居香港,2012年入讀香港中文大學藝術系,2013年獲中大張氏創作獎。參與過的展覽包括:《低緯度的不透明》(廣州畫廊,2015)、《我們的19891999》(台北藝術空間,2014)、《閱讀城市﹣中大藝術2013》(香港中文大學,2013)等。

 

Para Site基於多年以來在藝術展會中的實踐經驗,並透過Para Site策展團隊的支持與合作,為新生代香港藝術家提供實驗新創作和擴展實踐的機會。該系列展覽在過往數年中呈現了包括黎仲民、黎卓華、高倩彤和李繼忠等藝術家的作品。展覽《照相亭》由瞿暢策劃。 

特別感謝IEs Collection, Patricia Crockett, Sprüth Magers, Spring Workshop, BonnieDarrin Woo, Chau Digital HK Ltd 對展覽的慷慨支持。