Paul Chan

Paul Chan

Jul 08 – Aug 12, 2006

Para Site Art Space is proud to present Paul Chan's first ever exhibition in Hong Kong. Paul Chan, born 1973 in Hong Kong, is an emerging young artist receiving tremendous attention in the current international art scene. Known for his animation installations, his works have fascinated audiences at major Biennials, group and solo exhibitions around the world. In the summer edition of ARTFORUM, senior editor, Scott Rothkopf writes, ‘ In Chan's practice, a pop aesthetic at once winsome and brutal is brought to bear on the peculiar urgencies of our time. The point, then, is not to delimit the aesthetic and the political but rather to relish the productive possibilities of their mutual contamination.

An artist with multifarious endeavors , Chan works in digital animation, installation and drawing. Also a political activist, he spent time in Baghdad shortly before the war and organized protests against the Republican Convention in New York.

His solo exhibition at Para Site Art Space showcases two new video pieces, 4 th Light and Untitled (for St. Caravaggio) .

His newest piece, 4 th Light , a digital animation projection that premieres in Hong Kong, is from a seven-part series . 1 st Light was shown at the Whitney Biennial this year. Intensely engaging, this installation of floating shadows was projected on the floor and produced a suggestive post-apocalyptic mood that gripped every visitor, evoking a sense of contemplation.

His other installation, Untitled (for St.Caravaggio) is a prelude to his Light series. Using very basic computer software like Freehand and Flash , Chan animated Caravaggio's Basket of Fruit (1599), in which the fruits float up and explode. Referencing Caravaggio, who used to dress up thieves and prostitutes to play saints to model as subjects of his paintings, the piece is a celebration of a perverted, reversed form of theology.

Check out his website: http://www.nationalphilistine.com/

陳佩之

陳佩之

7月 08 – 8月 12, 2006

Paul Chan 於 1973 年生於香港,是近年極受國際藝壇注目的年青藝術家,以動畫裝置多次參與國際雙年展和聯展,並舉辦個展。 ARTFORUM 資深編輯 Scott Rothkopf 說: 「 Paul Chan 的 作業讓 迷人 和殘暴的波普美學進駐我們的當前急務。因此,重點並非規範美感和政治性,而是要 意味兩者 互相感染的 正面可能。」

Paul Chan 的作品種類 繁 多,包括數碼動畫,裝置和繪畫。他也是政治活躍分子,於海灣戰爭前到 伊拉克首都巴格達 ,組織反對美國共和黨大會。

Paul Chan 是次於 Para/Site 藝術空間展出兩組裝置 4 th Light 及 Happiness (Finally) After 35,000 Years of Civilization (after Henry Darger and Charles Fourier). 。

最新作品 4 th Light 於香港首度展出,是一系列共七個作品中的其中一個。 1 st Light 於本年初在 惠 特尼 雙年展展出。 裝置中, 浮動的影子被投射在地面上,予人強烈的連系感,也塑造出後啟示錄的氣氛, 讓觀者進入沈思狀態。

第二組 裝置 Untitled (for St.Caravaggio) 也是數碼動畫投影,是 Light 系列共七個作品的前奏。 賦予 Caravaggio 畫作 Basket of Fruit (1599) 中,生果不斷上升 然後爆破。 如 4 th Light一樣 Paul Chan 以作品玩弄一種 歪曲和顛倒的神學。

藝術家網站:http://www.nationalphilistine.com/