Jompet. Third Realm & Recorded Waves: Moving Images from Indonesia

Muhammad Akbar , Tiong Ang, Nala Atmowiloto, Wimo Ambala Bayang, Ari Satria Darma, Henry Foundation, Krisna Murti, Eko Nugroho, Anggun Priambodo, Wok The Rock, Prilla Tania, Tintin Wulia

Nov 20, 2009 – Jan 16, 2010

Recorded Waves

Para Site Art Space is honoured to present Recorded Waves: Moving Images from Indonesia.

The use of video for artistic purposes in Indonesia dates back to the late 1980s, when pioneers Krisna Murti, Teguh Ostentrik and Heri Dono, began to experiment with video in order to expand the scope of their artistic creations. However, the influence of video in contemporary art in Indonesia is not the result of innovations within the artistic field; rather it is a critical positioning towards the entertainment industry and, above all, a critique of television.

During Suharto's dictatorship from 1967 to 1998, the government television channel Televisi Republik Indonesia was manipulated and controlled for propaganda purposes. However, with the growing market in Indonesia in the late 80s and early 90s, the entertainment industry grew and new television channels appeared. Video rental stores and video readers for private use also began to proliferate. Thus, home cinema emerged as an alternative to the unilateral view presented by the government.

In the late 1990s, and particularly during the fall of Suharto in 1998, video played an important role as an instrument of denunciation against unacceptable social and political events. These videos showed messages that went beyond what was presented and accepted by the government, and documented the reality that the government was hiding from its people. In Indonesia, both in politics and in art, video has been used as a means of documentation and as a means of creating images that respond to specific social and political contexts.

Since 2003, the artists’ initiative ruangrupa has been organising the ‘OK. Video – Jakarta International Video Festival’, which takes place biannually in the capital. One of the aims of the festival is to raise awareness of video in a creative sense and to introduce the medium to mainstream audiences. The festival is thematic and, since its first edition, has been internationally conceived. It also gives particular emphasis to the content rather than technical experimentations of the medium – echoing the origins of Indonesian video art. The social and political context of the work is important for the selection of videos featured in the festival.

The exhibition Recorded Waves: Moving Images from Indonesia includes highlights of this festival, as well as ground-breaking positions of video art from Indonesia with works by pioneer video artist Krisna Murti, as well as emerging and established artists Tiong Ang, Muhammad Akbar, Henry Foundation, Nala Atmowiloto, Wimo Ambala Bayang, Ari Satria Darma, Eko Nugroho, Anggun Priambodo, Prilla Tania, Wok The Rock and Tintin Wulia.

Curator’s research supported by Goethe Institute (grant for curators) and ruangrupa.

Jompet. Third Realm

Para Site Art Space is honoured to present Jompet. Third Realm, a new project developed by Jompet Kuswidananto in collaboration with theatre director Yudi Ahmad Tajudin. The history of Indonesian culture, as part of the Third World and former colonized countries, can be read as narratives of a nation that is perpetually in an “in-between” situation or state of transition. From pre-colonial to colonial periods, colonial to post-colonial, agrarian culture to industrial one, from industrial to post-industrial, from rural culture and cosmology to the urban ones.

The history of Indonesian culture is an “in-between” cultural history. A culture that is located between two cultural spaces: between the traditional and the modern, the original and the alien, the inside and the outside, the high brow and the low brow. It never (again?) stays and grows inside one cultural space that is specific and sharply different from another specific culture. It builds on a mix (and excess) of cultures. Its “body” is constituted by many different cultural layers.

As a cultural entity Indonesia is never singular, but the in-betweeness and the transitional conditions have become the overarching and constructing frame covering all the (sub)cultures within.。

The exhibition revolves around a physical roof that transforms the gallery space into an installation that includes video, sculpture and performance. Jompet Kuswidananto and Yudi Ahmad Tajudin explain that “the “space” under the roof is constructed by a constantly shifting and changing milieu of ideas, events, performances and meanings. The space of “in-between”, where issues about origins, influences and identity could be discussed simultaneously without privileging one over the other. In Java’s case: where one can be a Muslim (or any other religion) and a Javanese at the same time; local and global; modern and traditional. Where one is something in-between different things.”

A performance will be conducted on the opening night, 19th November at 7 pm

In conjunction to this exhibition Para Site Art Space presents Recorded Waves: Moving Images from Indonesia, a videoprogramme curated by Katerina Valdivia Bruch including 12 artists from this country.

About Jompet Kuswidananto

Jompet Kuswidananto was born in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, in 1976. He trained as a musician, but practices in the Contemporary Art field, and has a strong interest in theater. He has exhibited in “Modernization & Urbanization” at Marronnier Art Center, Seoul (2003); 3rd Fukuoka Art Triennale (2005), Equatorial Rhythms at Stenersenmuseet, Oslo (2007); Yokohama Triennale (2008); Jakarta Biennale XIII (2009); 10e Biennale de Lyon (2009), Kuandu Biennial (2010) and “The Tradition of the New” at Sakshi Gallery, Mumbai (2010). He has had solo shows at Osage Gallery (2009, 2010) and Cemeti Art House, Yogyakarta (2008).

About Yudi Ahmad Tajudin Yudi Ahmad Tajudin was born in 1972 in the town Tanjung Priok, Indonesia. He is a theatre director and founder of Teater Garasi. He lives and works in Yogyakarta.

Attachment img 6847

Details of Installation

Attachment img 6636

Exhibition View

Attachment img 6548

Details of Installation

攝錄浪潮:印尼錄像

Muhammad Akbar , Tiong Ang, Nala Atmowiloto, Wimo Ambala Bayang, Ari Satria Darma, Henry Foundation, Krisna Murti, Eko Nugroho, Anggun Priambodo, Wok The Rock, Prilla Tania, Tintin Wulia

11月 20, 2009 – 1月 16, 2010

攝錄浪潮

早於20世紀 80年代末的印尼,錄像已成爲一種藝術形式。當時,藝術先鋒KrisnaMurti、Teguh Ostentrik和Heri Dono開始嘗試使用錄像來開拓新的藝術創作領域。儘管如此,錄像在印尼當代藝術中的影響力並非來自藝術領域,而是娛樂產業,確切來説應該是電視行業。

在1967年至1998年蘇哈托獨裁統治期間,政府電視頻道 Televisi Republik Indonesia是政府操縱和控制下的政治宣傳工具。直至80年代末至90年代初,印尼的市場經濟起飛,娛樂產業才有了起色,新的電視頻道陸續湧現。影 帶出租店和私人用途錄像的觀衆逐漸龐大。家庭影院進而成為獨立於政府單向宣傳的媒介。

在90年代末,尤其是1998年蘇哈托下臺後,錄像成爲譴責社會和政治不公的利器。這些錄像所傳遞的信息,遠遠超過了政府的透露和許可範圍,並真實 記錄了政府隱瞞於群衆的社會現狀。在印尼,無論是在政治還是藝術領域,錄像已成爲一種紀實手段和反映特定社會和政治背景的形象塑造方式。

在2003年,印尼藝術家團體ruangrupa在首都雅加首次舉辦兩年一度的短片節,並取名“'OK. Video - 雅加達國際短片節”,旨在提高創意短片的認受性以及加深主流觀眾對短片媒介的認識。短片節設有獨特主題,在首屆舉辦後已取得國際性認可。短片節強調錄像的 內容而非攝錄技巧–正好與印尼的錄像藝術起源相呼應。提名錄像是否能反映社會和政治現象乃短片節評選的重要標準。

攝錄浪潮:印尼錄像將展出短片節的精華部分以及印尼先鋒影像藝術家 Krisna Murti、新進、著名藝術家Tiong Ang、Muhammad Akbar、Henry Foundation、Nala Atmowiloto、Wimo Ambala Bayang、 Ari Satria Darma、Eko Nugroho、Anggun Priambodo、Prilla Tania、Wok The Rock 以及 Tintin Wulia等的短片作品。

策展研究由香港歌德學院及ruangrupa支持。

Jompet. 第三域

Para  Site藝術空間是次十分榮幸主辦Jompet Kuswidananto 和戲劇導演Yudi Ahmad Tajudin 聯手創作的展覽:第三域。印尼作爲一個第三世界和前殖民地國家的特殊歷史文化背景,可以解讀為一個國家永恒處於「兩者之間」的形勢或狀態:從前殖民到殖民 時代,從殖民到後殖民時代,從農業化到工業化,從工業時代到後工業時代,從農村文化和宇宙論到城市化……

印尼的文化歷史是處於「兩者之間」的況態,生存於兩種文化的夾縫中:無論是傳統與現代之間,原創與變異之間,本土與外來文化之間,還是上流與草根之 間。它從未(再次?)停留和植根於一個特定和有鮮明特色的文化之中,而是建立於多個混合(和複雜)的文化體之上。它的“軀體”是由多元文化層次構建而成。

印尼是一個從未出現過單一化的文化實體,但這種處於兩者之間和過渡中的狀態卻自成一個涵蓋多個(次)文化的框架和架構。

是次展覽將通過屋頂把畫廊改裝成一個涵蓋錄像、雕塑和演出的裝置藝術空間。 Jompet Kuswidananto和Yudi Ahmad Tajudin認爲屋頂下的「空間」好比一個充滿不斷移動和變化的意念、活動、表演和意義的環境。在「兩者之間」的空間下,可以不分先後地同時討論有關文 化起源、外來影響和文化認同等話題。在爪哇:一個人可以同時是穆斯林(或其他任何宗教)和爪哇人;同時擁有本土化和國際化、現代和傳統思想。所有人都是不 同文化的結合。

開幕當晚7時藝術家將為大家呈獻表演。

Para  Site藝術空間為配合是次展覽,將同時舉辦由Katerina Valdivia Bruch策展、囊括12位印尼藝術家短片作品的攝錄浪潮:印尼錄像。

關於 Jompet Kuswidananto

Jompet Kuswidananto1976年出生於印尼日惹。他早期曾接受音樂教育,及後活躍於當代藝術創作,且對戲劇有濃厚興趣。曾參與的國際影展包括:首爾馬 羅尼埃(Marronnier)藝術中心舉辦的“現代化與城市化”展覽(2003)、 第三屆福岡亞洲藝術三年展(2005)、奧斯陸斯特奈登(Stenersen)博物館舉辦赤道的節奏展覽(2007)、橫濱三年展(2008)、第13屆 雅加達雙年展(2009)、 第10屆里昂雙年展(2009),以及孟買夏可喜畫廊舉辦的“新的傳統” 當代藝術聯展(2010)。他曾於奧沙(2009, 2010)及日惹 Cemeti Art House(2008)舉辦個展。

關於Yudi Ahmad Tajudin

Yudi Ahmad Tajudin1972年生於印尼丹絨不祿港(Tanjung Priok),身兼戲劇導演及Teater Garasi創辦人,於日惹生活和工作。

Attachment img 6847

Details of Installation

Attachment img 6636

Exhibition View

Attachment img 6548

Details of Installation