Islands Off the Shores of Asia

Julieta Aranda, Rosa Barba, Alvaro Barrios, James T. Hong, Katsushika Hokusai, Takiji Kobayashi, Charles Lim, MAP Office, Pak Sheung Chuen, Howie Tsui, Ming Wong (in collaboration with Thomas Tsang/Dehow Projects), Zheng Guogu

Sep 27 – Dec 07, 2014

Spring Workshop
3/F Remex Centre
42 Wang Chuk Hang Road
Aberdeen, Hong Kong
12pm to 6pm (Tuesday to Sunday, Open on Public Holidays)

Opening reception
September 27 (Saturday), 5-8pm

PUBLIC PROGRAMMES
Artist talk
September 27, 6-7pm, Spring

Guided tour by curators
7 December 2014

Para Site and Spring Workshop are proud to present an inquiry into the current ideological turn towards nationalism and confrontation in East Asia, looking at sci-fi and fiction, popular culture and art.

The exhibition focuses on the ideological, historical, mystical, and fictional interpretations of the small, remote, largely uninhabited and unvisited islands claimed in one combination or another by every single nation in East Asia. These geographically insignificant rocks have become in recent years the focus of growing nationalism in the region and sites for projecting imperial pride and power, and are considered a dangerous sign of things to come. But why islands? Could there be a deeper reason, one that is rooted in myths and cultural patterns for millions to project their most radical politics over pieces of land that are effectively invisible on regional maps and might not even really exist?

The show opens with a reproduction of a work by the Edo period Japanese printmaker and painter Katsushika Hokusai, depicting turbulent waves breaking against rocky shores. The artist who most directly addresses national identity and radicalism ignited by disputed islands, James T. Hong makes a film based on his visit to Dokdo/Takeshima and attempt to land on Diaoyutai/Senkaku. The work is also the site for the artist’s ritual and personal apology for WWII casualties as well as a contemplation of his own disputed identity as an Asian American. The ruins of Japanese imperialism off the shores of Asia and across the Pacific are also present in the work of Julieta Aranda, who develops a film roll she found on the beaches of the island of Kiribati, once a battle field in the Pacific War. The result is an abstract poem on time and loss. The 1929 novel Kanikosen by Takiji Kobayashi, later adapted to a manga, tells the story of a crab cannery ship's crew in the open sea, off the shores of Kamchatka, as they struggle under capitalist exploitation. The ship is a metaphor for a drifting island that is, at its turn, a metaphor for an entire society in convulsion.

Through a more abstract vocabulary, the work of Rosa Barba looks at the deep emotional and psychological attachment people hold to their territory. Filmed in a fictional Scandinavian location, the video casts a remote community who desperately tries to stop the island where they live from drifting, from losing its identity and foundational myths. The representation of a certain image of interiority also appears in the paintings of Zheng Guogu, referencing Buddhist iconography to depict emotional space.

The anxieties of insularity are relevant to the cases of both Singapore and Hong Kong, and their own conflictive identities in relation to their neighbors. Charles Lim presents a systematic depiction of every single sea buoy marking the maritime border between Malaysia and Singapore, each captured from both sides. Pak Sheung Chuen sketches an anti monument to an island that feels ever more politically uncertain. The future of Hong Kong is also fantasized in the science fiction cartography of MAP Office and their dystopian societal systems. 

Drifting the spectator to another context, the work of Alvaro Barrios is set on the 1982 war between Britain and Argentina over the disputed Falklands Islands, known to Latin Americans as Las Malvinas. Occurring barely a few years before what seems now as the unconditional surrender of the highly populated and economically significant island of Hong Kong, the Falklands War was fought over a barren plot of land, located an ocean away from London. It was however a last convulsion of a decaying empire, one that ignited British nationalism and secured Margaret Thatcher’s reelection. 

Vernacular and traditional culture, science fiction and identity appear again in the works of Howie Tsui and Ming Wong (in collaboration with Thomas Tsang/Dehow Projects). Tsui’s fresco and drawings employ martial arts, pop culture and traditional Chinese imagery to convey a landscape of fear and horror. As part of the Wong’s long-term endeavor on the unconscious relationships between sci-fi and Cantonese opera, the structure built in the exhibition departs from the oceanic landscape appearing in Tarkovsky’s Solaris (1972) and its infinite horizon of islets. In this work the vortex of space conquest collides with the vortex of antiquity, becoming a site where a Chinese sci-fi plot is imagined.

Para Site Art Space is financially supported by the Springboard Grant under the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

The content of this programme does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Attachment spring and parasite logo
Attachment howie tsui low res

Howie Tsui
Retainers of Anarchy (Taohua Island), 2014.
Paint pigment and acrylic ink on mulberry paper
37" x 75”.
Courtesy the artist.

Attachment  dsc8513
Attachment  dsc8494
Attachment  dsc8483
Attachment  dsc8058
Attachment  dsc7946
Attachment  dsc7917
Attachment  dsc7895
Attachment  dsc7873
Attachment  dsc7870
Attachment  dsc7837
Attachment  dsc7960
Attachment  dsc7943
Attachment  dsc7910
Attachment  dsc7909
Attachment  dsc7908
Attachment  dsc7904
Attachment  dsc7899
Attachment  dsc9233
Attachment  dsc9231
Attachment  dsc9231
Attachment  dsc9198
Attachment  dsc9132
Attachment  dsc9114

亞洲的離岸島嶼

Julieta Aranda, Rosa Barba, Alvaro Barrios, 洪子健, 葛飾北齋, 小林多喜二 , 林育榮 , MAP Office, 白雙全, 徐浩恩, 黃漢明和合作夥伴曾慶豪/Dehow Projects, 鄭國谷

9月 27 – 12月 07, 2014

2014年9月27日至12月7日
下午12時至6時(星期二至日,公眾假期照常放)
Spring 工作室, 黃竹坑 黃竹坑道 42號,利美中心 3 樓

開幕
9月27日(星期六)晚上5-8時

藝術家講座
9月27日,晚上6-7時

策展人導賞團
2014年12月 7日


Para Site 及Spring 工作室隆重呈獻,關於東亞民族主義與衝突的當前意識形態轉向調查,細察科幻與虛構、流行文化與藝術。

就著那些被東亞各國宣稱擁有主權的細小、偏遠、人跡罕至的島嶼,展覽將集中探討其意識形態、歷史、神秘主義以至虛構詮釋。這些地理上無足輕重的山石,近年卻成為各地區日益膨脹的民族主義的焦點,用以投射國族尊榮與權力,甚至被視為未來危機的徵兆。但為何是島嶼呢﹖當中是否紥根在神話和文化模式內的一個更深層的源由,讓千百萬人在土地上投射他們最激進的政治——即使這些土地實質在區域地圖上了無形蹤,甚或乎是不存在的﹖

展覽以日本江戶時期版畫家葛飾北齋一幅畫作的複製品展開,描繪著洶湧狂浪拍打著石岸的場景。而最直接帶出被各個偏遠島嶼燃點起國家身份與激進主義的,當數藝術家洪子健,他的電影是建基於他拜訪獨島/竹島及其登陸釣魚臺/尖閣諸島的嘗試。作品也是藝術家對二戰死傷者的一個儀式上與個人層面的道歉,同時亦是他對自己身為亞裔美國人,這個充滿爭論的身份的沉思。Julieta Aranda 的作品中,亦呈現著日本軍國主義殘留於亞洲以至太平洋島嶼上的遺跡。她在曾為太平洋戰場的基里巴斯一個小島上,找到一卷菲林並加以沖印,最後得出一首關於時間與遺失的抽象詩。小林多喜二 1929年的小說《蟹工船》,後來被改編成漫畫,訴說一隊蟹工船員在堪察加半島外那片公海上的故事,他們於資本家剝削下奮力掙扎。那艘船實質就是漂流島嶼的隱喻,而它又是整個動亂社會的隱喻。

透過較為抽象的詞彙,Rosa Barba巴探視人們對於地土的深厚情感與心理聯繫。取景於某個虛構的北歐地方,錄像投射出一個偏遠的社群,拼命地嘗試阻止他們所居住的島嶼不再漂流,以免喪失其身份與基礎神話。而有關內在特定影像的呈現,可於鄭國谷的畫作中看到,他以佛教符號學描繪出情感的空間。

島國的焦慮亦與新加坡和香港的情況息息相關,特別是她們與鄰地有所衝突的身份認同。林育榮便從雙方的角度,有系統地勾勒出馬來西亞與新加坡之間的每一個浮標,如何訂立彼此的海事邊界。白雙全則描繪出一個反紀念碑,獻給一個政治上越發模糊的島嶼。MAP Office 的科幻製圖與其反面烏托邦的社會制度,同樣在幻想著香港的未來。

引領觀眾進入另一個文本,Alvaro Barrios的作品以英國和阿根廷1982年爭奪福克蘭島(拉丁美洲人稱為馬爾維納斯群島)一戰為背景。僅在英國無條件放棄那現在看來人口稠密及經濟富庶的香港的前幾年,福克蘭戰役卻只為爭奪一片遠離倫敦的不毛之地。然而,那卻是衰敗帝國的最後動變,燃起英國人的民族主義,亦鞏固了戴卓爾夫人的再選。

在徐浩恩與黃漢明(合作夥伴為曾慶豪/ Dehow Projects)的作品裡,本土與傳統文化、科幻與身份認同等議題再度出現。徐的壁畫與繪圖,利用了武術、流行文化和傳統中國畫象,表達出恐懼與顫慄的景色。黃則長期專注於科幻與粵劇之間的無意識關係,是次展覽裡他所模塑的結構,亦是其研究中的一部分,從塔爾科夫斯基《飛向太空》(1972)中的海洋景觀與小島無盡的地平線上出發;在這個作品裡,太空漩渦的征服與古代漩渦相撞,構成想像中國科幻情節的場域。

Para Site藝術空間獲香港特別行政區政府「藝能發展資助計劃」的躍進資助。
活動內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見。

Attachment spring and parasite logo
Attachment howie tsui low res

Howie Tsui
Retainers of Anarchy (Taohua Island), 2014.
Paint pigment and acrylic ink on mulberry paper
37" x 75”.
Courtesy the artist.

Attachment  dsc8513
Attachment  dsc8494
Attachment  dsc8483
Attachment  dsc8058
Attachment  dsc7946
Attachment  dsc7917
Attachment  dsc7895
Attachment  dsc7873
Attachment  dsc7870
Attachment  dsc7837
Attachment  dsc7960
Attachment  dsc7943
Attachment  dsc7910
Attachment  dsc7909
Attachment  dsc7908
Attachment  dsc7904
Attachment  dsc7899
Attachment  dsc9233
Attachment  dsc9231
Attachment  dsc9231
Attachment  dsc9198
Attachment  dsc9132
Attachment  dsc9114