Housewarming

Kacey Wong, Emil Goh, Joyce Hsu, Jeon Seong Ho

Jan 17 – Feb 19, 2003

The first show for Para Site in the new year will feature Kacey Wong, Emil Goh, Joyce Hsu and Jeon Seong Ho, four Asian artists hailing from various parts of the Asian diaspora under the theme of “Housewarming.” Using the past identity of Para Site, a shophouse before its incarnation as an alternative arts space, “Housewarming” reinvents the Para Site space into a “domestic home”, in which the works of each artist reflect various aspects of spaces found in conventional homes, such as a bedroom, a kitchen or hallway. ‘Housewarming’ is also a continuous cultural investigation of the domestic space following on from the ‘Ghost Encounter’ (1997), ‘Home: A Mixed Media Art Exhibition Exploring the Concept of Home and City’(1999), and ‘Kem Zeg Fen Seg: An Exhibition of the Visual Thinking on Material Life ’ (1999) at Para Site Art Space.

Hong Kong native Kacey Wong’s house-like structures take on the role of the foyer and its emphasis on putting up the proverbial “good front” to the outside world, while Sydney video artist Emil Goh will present an artwork depicting deeply recessed spaces that act as a metaphor for the hallway. In turn, this ‘hallway’ finds its conclusion in San Francisco-based Joyce Hsu’s explosion of fantasy creatures from her Naabee series. Recalling creatures from Japanese animation, these motorized installations are intended to fly about the gallery space. Finally, Seoul-based Jeon Seong Ho’s surreal featherscapes will fill the entire second floor, thus alluding to the nature of the “bedroom” as a site for dreaming and resting.

Housewarming will be accompanied by an exhibition catalog, containing an essay by the curator and four interviews with the artists conducted by Berin Golonu, editor-in-chief of the California art journal Artweek, Sophie O’Brien, a curator and writer working for the 2004 Sydney Biennale and David Ho Yeung Chan, an independent curator based in Vancouver and New York. This exhibition is curated by Joan Kee, Visiting Scholar at the Centre for the Study of Globalization and Culture at the University of Hong Kong, and a frequent contributor to Art Asia Pacific, Tema Celeste, Afterimage, Art Journal and Third Text.

暖屋

黃國才, 吳坤明, 徐松薇, 全成浩

1月 17 – 2月 19, 2003

Para/Site 藝術空間2002年首個展覽《暖屋》,將會在這個特定主題下,為大家帶來四位來自不同地方的僑民(diaspora)藝術家的作品。是為繼《鬼遇》(1997)、《屋企─有關家與城市的探索》(1999)及《蓆石》(1999)後,再度利用Para/Site 藝術空間會址原來前鋪後居特色,以家居為主題的展覽,觀眾將能夠在展場中找到藝術空對「家居」空間佈局,如睡房、廚房或走廊之不同詮釋。

香港藝術家黃國才(Kacey WONG)將擔當廳長,在前廳架起一個屋形建築,直接面向外面世界。來自悉尼的錄象藝術家吳坤明(Emil GOH)將展出一件探索後退空間(recessed space)的作品,作為走廊的比喻。來自三潘市的徐松薇(Joyce HSU),選擇以其「Naabee」系列作品為走廊作結,她天馬行空的意象將在展場中鋪天蓋地,令人聯想起日本動畫。來自漢城的全成浩(Seong Ho JEON),將把整個閣樓鋪滿羽毛,與作為造夢工場與憩息空間的臥室異曲同功。

除展覽之外,《暖屋》將備有一本圖文並茂的展覽場刊,包括策展人文章及四位參展藝術家的專訪,分別由加州藝術期刊《Artweek》總編輯Berin Golonu、2004年悉尼雙年展策展人及作者Sophie O’Brien、駐溫哥華及紐約獨立策展人陳浩揚(David Ho Yeung CHAN)訪問及執筆。展覽由駐紐約策展人奇廷泫策劃,奇氏亦定期為《Art Asia Pacific》、《Tema Celeste》、《Afterimage》、《Art Journal》及《Third Text》等國際藝術及學術學刊撰文。