Great Crescent, Art and Agitation in the 1960s – Japan, South Korea, Taiwan in Tokyo

Chang Chao-Tang, H.T. Chen, Choi Boong-hyun, Chuang Ling, Kim Gulim, Hi Red Center, Hsu Boyun, Huang Huacheng, Jeong Gang-ja, Kang Guk-jin, Ku Chong-kuang, Li Tai-hsiang, Ling Ming-sheng, Wai-lim Yip, Yoko Ono, Zero Dimension

Apr 25 – Jul 05, 2015

June 20, 2015, 14:00-17:00: Panel Discussion with KuroDalaiJee (Researcher, Post-war avant-garde art in Japan), Kim Mi Kyung (Professor, Kangnam University) Cosmin Costinas (Executive Director/Curator, Para Site), Doryun Chong (Chief Curator, M+)

Mori Art Museum
53/F, Roppongi Hills Mori Tower
6-10-1 Roppongi
Minato-ku, Tokyo
www.mori.art.museum

Organised by Mori Art Museum, Para Site, The curatorial initiative A Future Museum for China, and curated by Cosmin Costinas, Doryun Chong, and Lesley Ma, “MAM Research 001: Great Crescent, Art and Agitation in the 1960s – Japan, South Korea, Taiwan,” is a reconfiguration of an exhibition held in Fall 2013 at Para Site. This is the first exhibition in a new series at the Mori, MAM Research, that examines the multilayered social, political and economic backgrounds that have given rise to Asian contemporary art and seek to shed light on their historical contexts, while focusing on individual artists, curators, art movements and art institutions throughout Asia.

In recent years, there have been moves not only to enrich art history by focusing beyond those countries in the West that led the way in the 20th century but also to trace the multi-tiered development of modernism in countries outside the Western bloc. The title of this exhibition derives from the term used to describe the crescent-shaped region stretching from Japan through Southeast Asia to the Persian Gulf as part of America’ s post war policy towards Asia. From the Meiji period until the end of WWII, Japan ruled the Korean peninsula and Taiwan. While they started to take different paths on their own in the 1960s, this exhibition is an attempt to verify from a comparative perspective on the anti-establishment and anti-art activities that unfolded as the artists in these regions explored their own avenues of expression, not along the modernism that was introduced from the West.

Floor Intervention by Leung Chi Wo

In Cooperation with: Korean Art Research Institute (KARI), KuroDalaiJee (Researcher, Post-war avant-garde art in Japan)

 

Attachment image02

Choi Boong-hyun et al.
Happening with a plastic umbrella and a candle
1967, December 14 (4pm), Seoul
Courtesy of Korean Art Research Institution (KARI)

Attachment simple research s 002

Installation view, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

Attachment simple research s 012

Installation view, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

Attachment simple research s 019

Installation view, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

Attachment simple research s 023

Installation view, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

Attachment simple research s 025

Installation view, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

Attachment simple research s 026

Installation view, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

Attachment simple research s 027

Installation view, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

Attachment simple research s 008

Installation view, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

Attachment simple research s 010

Installation view, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

「大新月:六十年代的藝術與激盪──日本、南韓、台灣」在東京

張照堂, 陳學同, Choi Boong-hyun, 莊靈, Kim Gulim, Hi Red Center, 許博允, 黃華成, Jeong Gang-ja, Kang Guk-jin, 顧重光, 李泰祥, 凌明聲, 葉維廉, 小野洋子, Zero Dimension

4月 25 – 7月 05, 2015

2015年6月20日,14:00-17:00,出席講者包括:KuroDalaiJee(專門研究日本戰後前衛藝術之學者)、金美卿博士(韓國江南大學教授)、康喆明(Para Site藝術空間行政總監及策展人)、鄭道練(西九文化區M+博物館 總策展人)、馬唯中(西九文化區M+博物館水墨藝術策展人)。
森美術館

東京都港區六本木6-10-1
六本木新城森大廈 53F
www.mori.art.museum

由森美術館、Para Site藝術空間及A Future Museum for China聯合舉辦,並由康喆明、鄭道練和馬唯中共同策劃的「MAM Research 001:大新月:六十年代的藝術與激盪──日本、南韓、台灣」,重建了2013秋季在Para Site藝術空間舉行的展覽。此展為森美術館的全新展覽系列--MAM Research中的第一檔展覽。MAM Research以亞洲各地藝術家、策展人、藝術運動及藝術機構為研究對象,來檢視影響亞洲當代藝術興起的多層社會、政治及經濟背景,並進而釐清其歷史脈絡。

近年來,藝術史的研究不再專注於20世紀主導全球發展的西方國家,反而轉向鑽研西方脈絡之外的現代主義發展 。這次展覽標題中的「大新月」,是指戰後美國亞洲政策中,從日本通過東南亞連結波斯灣的「大新月」地帶。日本從明治時期至第二次世界大戰結束期間,統治了韓國半島及台灣。1960年代,韓國及台灣在脫離日本統治後開始了不同路線的歷史發展。此區域的藝術家於創作上選擇不跟隨西方引入的現代主義,而是不斷探索自己的表現方式;此這次展覽便嘗試從比較藝術史的觀點來驗證這些反建制及反藝術的活動。

本展之規劃設計與香港藝術家梁志和合作

合作機構:Korean Art Research Institute (KARI)、KuroDalaiJee(專門研究日本戰後前衛藝術之學者)

 

Attachment image02

Choi Boong-hyun 及其他參與者。
《用傘和蠟燭的偶發作品》
1967年12月14日(下午4時﹚,首爾
圖片 Korean Art Research Institute 版權所有與提供

Attachment simple research s 002

東京森美術館展覽一隅

Attachment simple research s 012

東京森美術館展覽一隅

Attachment simple research s 019

東京森美術館展覽一隅

Attachment simple research s 023

東京森美術館展覽一隅

Attachment simple research s 025

東京森美術館展覽一隅

Attachment simple research s 026

東京森美術館展覽一隅

Attachment simple research s 027

東京森美術館展覽一隅

Attachment simple research s 008

東京森美術館展覽一隅

Attachment simple research s 010

東京森美術館展覽一隅