Golden Heights Estate

Sven Augustijnen, Iman Issa, Sanja Iveković, Rajkamal Kahlon, Anton Kannemeyer, Kayfa ta & Haytham El-Wardany, Kwan Sheung Chi, Runo Lagomarsino, Maha Maamoun, Anson Mak, Jumana Manna, MAP Office, Mulugeta Kassa, Daniela Ortiz, Edgar Morin & Jean Rouch, Wong Yee Ki

Mar 01 – Apr 20, 2014

Para Site proudly presents Golden Heights Estate, a group exhibition featuring works by Sven Augustijnen, Iman Issa, Sanja Iveković, Rajkamal Kahlon, Anton Kannemeyer, Kayfa ta & Haytham El-Wardany, Kwan Sheung Chi, Runo Lagomarsino, Maha Maamoun, Anson Mak, Jumana Manna, MAP Office, Mulugeta Kassa, Daniela Ortiz, Edgar Morin & Jean Rouch, and Wong Yee Ki. Golden Heights Estate is curated by What, How & for Whom/WHW and Para Site and is part of Meeting Points 7. 

Golden Heights Estate is a fictional yet perfectly plausible place, an aspirational real estate project in Hong Kong complete with a prescribed and normative lifestyle. The exhibition using this title is a modest investigation into the new landscape of desires carved by the emerging global middle class. As one of the main consequences of globalization's social restructuring of the world, the consuming middle class has embraced a homogenous culture of desires, fetishes, aspirations and values across different geographies within the 'emerging' world. As the narrator of this shared global lexicon of signs and goods, the middle class is a crucial keeper of the ideological backbone of the globalized economy. Contemporary art is itself a key component of this system, making an investigation using art's own means of reflection into the classes enabling our field, an urgent and important exercise. The exhibition observes these realities and contemplates whether there is any class solidarity imaginable in this situation and if so, what could it lead to.

The 7th edition of Meeting Points is a series of successive exhibitions taking place from September 2013 to July 2014. Meeting Points 7 was prompted by the unfinished social and political processes of the Arab revolutions and the reconfiguration of capitalism throughout the world. It evolves as a continual dialogue whose non-linear chapters digress, take over, continue, complete and contradict each other, playing with possibilities and exploring the limits of what an exhibition can convey in testing political times across neighboring and divergent spaces.

Under the title Ten thousand wiles and a hundred thousand tricks, Meeting Points 7 took place in Zagreb (Gallery Nova), Antwerp (M HKA), and Cairo (CIC). After Hong Kong (Para Site), further stations of Meeting Points 7 are Beirut (in partnership with Beirut Arts Center, opening 1st of April), Vienna (21er Haus, in partnership with Wiener Festwochen, opening 9th of May) and Moscow (in partnership with the V–A–C Foundation and the Institute for African Studies, July 2014). Meeting Points 7 is organized by Young Arab Theatre Fund/YATF.

WHW is a curatorial collective formed in 1999 and based in Zagreb and Berlin. WHW organizes production, exhibition and publishing projects and directs Gallery Nova in Zagreb. WHW is currently working on a long-term collaboration project, Beginning as well as we can (How do we talk about fascism?), and curating the exhibition Really Useful Knowledge, to open at Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía in Madrid in October 2014.

Attachment img 6118
Attachment img 6104
Attachment img 6089
Attachment img 6100
Attachment img 6064
Attachment img 6057
Attachment img 6059
Attachment img 6044
Attachment img 6039
Attachment img 5997
Attachment img 6009
Attachment img 5995
Attachment img 5964
Attachment img 5959
Attachment img 6124

金峰苑

Sven Augustijnen, Iman Issa, Sanja Iveković, Rajkamal Kahlon, Anton Kannemeyer, Kayfa ta & Haytham El-Wardany, 關尚智, Runo Lagomarsino, Maha Maamoun, 麥海珊, Jumana Manna, MAP Office, Mulugeta Kassa, Daniela Ortiz, Edgar Morin & Jean Rouch, 黃綺琪

3月 01 – 4月 20, 2014

Para Site藝術空間隆重呈獻「金峰苑 Golden Heights Estate」,展出多位藝術家的作品,包括Sven Augustijnen、Iman Issa、Sanja Iveković、Rajkamal Kahlon、Anton Kannemeyer、Kayfa ta & Haytham El-Wardany、關尚智、Runo Lagomarsino、Maha Maamoun、麥海珊、Jumana Manna、MAP Office、Mulugeta Kassa、Daniela Ortiz、Edgar Morin & Jean Rouch及黃綺琪。展覽由What, How & for Whom/WHW及Para Site策展,是項目「Meeting Points 7」一部份。

 「金峰苑」(Golden Heights Estate)並不存在,只是個虛構的地方,但卻是個完全合理、真實感十足的住宅建築項目,配合香港的典型生活方式。是次展覽以此為題,嘗試以輕鬆的態度探索全球新興中產階級所塑造的景觀新慾望。隨著全球一體化的社會轉型,其中一個主要現象就是,中產階級不斷消費,而他們早已接受這個「新興」世代裡不同地域的文化慢慢變得一模一樣(即所謂「文化同質化」),不同的慾望、戀物情結、願望和價值觀最後都是大同小異。作為這種全球標誌和商品共用詞匯的敘述者,中產階級正是全球經濟一體化思想骨幹的關鍵守護者。當代藝術是這個系統的重要元素,以藝術本身作研究,反映這些界別如何影響藝術界,正是一件事不宜遲的重要工作。展覽會觀察這些現實情況,想像一下有沒有階級融和的可能,如果有,又會有甚麼結果。

 第七屆「Meeting Points」,是2013年9月至2014年7月期間的多個展覽活動,源起自亞拉伯地區一連串革命事件後的社會和政治餘波,以及全球資本主義的轉型。展覽是一個連續發展的對話,當中的篇章不一定以線性發展,有的離題、有的承接上文、有的引申上文、有的作出結論,有的則互相矛盾,把玩種種可能性,並探索一個展覽在鄰近和不同的空間之間測試不同政治時代時傳達訊息的限制。

Meeting Points 7 以「Ten thousand wiles and a hundred thousand tricks」(一萬詭計十萬花招)為題,已於克羅地亞薩格勒布Gallery Nova、比利時安特衛普M HKA及埃及開羅CIC展出。在香港Para Site展出後,將會在以下地點及時間展出:黎巴嫩貝魯特(與貝魯特藝術中心合辦,4月1日開幕)、奧地利維也納(21er Haus當代藝術館,與維也納藝術節合辦,5月9日開幕)及俄羅斯莫斯科(與V–A–C基金會及非洲研究學院合辦,2014年7月開幕)。Meeting Points 7 由亞拉伯青年劇場基金(Young Arab Theatre Fund,YATF)主辦,正式網站:www.meetingpoints.org

WHW於1999年成立,是一個策展團隊,主要於克羅地亞薩格勒布及德國柏林工作,策劃展覽及出版項目,並於薩格勒布主理畫廊Gallery Nova。WHW現正專注於一個長期的協作項目「Beginning as well as we can (How do we talk about fascism?)」,以及策劃展覽「Really Useful Knowledge」,將於2014年10月西班牙馬德里索菲亞王后國家藝術中心博物館開幕。

Attachment img 6118
Attachment img 6104
Attachment img 6089
Attachment img 6100
Attachment img 6064
Attachment img 6057
Attachment img 6059
Attachment img 6044
Attachment img 6039
Attachment img 5997
Attachment img 6009
Attachment img 5995
Attachment img 5964
Attachment img 5959
Attachment img 6124