Ellen Pau: What about Home Affairs? -- A Retrospective

Dec 09, 2018 – Feb 17, 2019

DEC 08, 2018
Opening Reception
4:00 - 7:00pm
Talk
5:30pm
Para Site

Para Site is honored to present Ellen Pau’s first retrospective in Hong Kong, curated by Freya Chou. One of Hong Kong’s most influential and pioneering artists, the exhibition features Pau’s multi-faceted artistic practice stemming from the late-1980s to the present, including a selection of video works, archives, and a series of unpublished photographs. Three major video installations—two series of Bik Lai Chu, and Recycling Cinema – are presented in their original formats to illustrate the artist’s unique approach to the medium, within the technological limits of their time of production. In this exhibition, eighteen of Pau’s most representative works are displayed from a media archaeology perspective – through the development of technology, rather than following the traditional chronological order. The exhibition hopes to examine and interpret Pau’s life and politics through this evolution of technological media.

Its title begins with the concept of “home.” There is a statement in the “Great Learning” chapter in the Book of Rites by Confucius that reads: “Cultivate oneself, put the family in order, govern the state, and pacify the world.” To pacify the world, one needs to go through different stages, with the cultivation of one’s personal life as the most basic practice. The Chinese title is a wordplay between donggaa (house master) and gaadong (family possession) covering themes such as household chores, the status of housewives, and the identity of masters of the house. The corresponding English title—What about Home Affairs?—alludes to the Hong Kong government’s Home Affairs Bureau, thus opening up a discussion about the relationship between civil political affairs and personal well-being.

The exhibition begins with Pau’s new augmented reality (“AR”) work I Don’t Have Time to Deal with Fear, which was triggered by the early 2018 discovery of a wartime bomb at a railway construction site in Wan Chai. Through AR technology, Pau recreates Hong Kong’s urban legends along the Gin Drinkers Line (a fortified defensive line used in 1941 during the Battle of Hong Kong in the Second World War), seeking to re-evaluate one’s relationship with the city, as well as to interrogate the role that technology plays in mediating or whitewashing historical violence.

These remnants of historical violence are also visible in Pau’s efforts to connect her evaluation of gender issues with Hong Kong’s civil politics, transforming the female body into a battlefield for subjective awareness, while exploring and debating the truthfulness of machine-produced images. The exhibition reproduces two pieces from Pau’s Bik Lai Chu series, a group of video installations developed over the course of ten years. In this work, one can see the silhouette of a female who looks up every few seconds, accompanied each time by the sound of a pile driver. Through this persistent pounding noise, the artist questions how social norms and stereotypical gender roles sculpt, regulate, and restrain the female body.

In the late 1980s, Pau began to collaborate with Zuni Icosahedron as well as with various choreographers, while filming many commercial music videos. She combined the media screen, the dance stage, behavioural performances, and installations to develop a video dance language fusing popular culture and contemporary imagery. In 1989, Pau created Drained II, which attempts to explore the metaphysical beings both on stage and electronic medium. Through a constant loop and image segmentation, the work also reflects the physical anxiety of inhabitants living in a dense urban centre. The imagery, through the editing process, becomes the medium’s rhythm and its art form.

The political nature of Ellen Pau’s work is neither reflective of a nostalgic reminiscence of a past era nor a direct criticism of certain ideas, but instead, it is revealed through her very personal, autobiographical video diaries, which have evolved into a work embodying a collective memory. Through the composition and production of images, Pau explores and reflects on ways of creating a visual experience that transcends the camera lens and sublimates the ordinary into symbols of life and emotion. In TV Game of the Year (1989), Blue (1989-1990), Diversion (1989), Expiration (1997-2000), and Fanfare for the Common People (2010), Pau records the uneasy struggle in Hong Kong’s political context during transitional periods. The rhythm of Hong Kong life and its historical and political events are all encoded in her visual works, with the masterpiece being Recycling Cinema, which represented Hong Kong in the 49th Venice Biennale.

Recycling Cinema represents the pinnacle of Pau’s works that integrate motion-picture techniques and electronic noises. It is also her response to the evolving meaning of “home.” This exhibition presents once more the uncut original film, allowing us to feel the artist’s static gaze upon the changing cityscape, and compelling us to move beyond our simple spatial experience. Recycling Cinema records vehicles on a Hong Kong expressway over the course of 24 hours. The exhibition restores the original filming technique by using an expanded projection to cast the recordings on a curved screen of 150 degrees, which breaks the boundaries of the images and creates a panoramic and immersive viewing experience. The speed and direction of the moving images are uncoordinated; the rhythm changes in response to a viewer’s breath or physical movement. Upon leaving the screen, an image travels across the room and returns to its point of departure, creating a sense of temporal and spatial imbalance. There is no dialogue throughout the film; only waves crashing, cars racing, and two lyrical lines from John Lennon’s Love (1970) emerging at the end: “Love is truth, truth love.” Recycling Cinema is a love letter, the curved space is the road home; if you walk along the on-screen arc, you should be able to find your way home. The scenery along the way reveals Pau’s criticisms of her urban experience; it is also a filial letter she penned to Hong Kong. 

On the occasion of the exhibition, Para Site has also commissioned a substantial review by Lo Yin Shan, a senior cultural commentator and media expert, to recapitulate Pau’s creative trajectory over the past three decades.

 

About Ellen Pau

Ellen Pau was born in 1961 in Hong Kong. She graduated from Hong Kong Polytechnic University with a diploma in Diagnostic Radiography in 1982 and has worked as a radiographer in Queen Mary Hospital since then.

Pau's works have been extensively exhibited worldwide in film festivals and art biennials, including Hong Kong International Film Festival (1990), 8th International Film Festival for Women (Spain, 1992), Copenhagen Cultural Capital Foundation, Container 96 (Denmark, 1996),  Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art (Australia, 1996), Johannesburg Biennale (1997), 49th Venice Biennale (2001), Gwangju Biennial (2002), among others.

She co-founded Videotage, Hong Kong’s oldest artist collective, together with Wong Chi Fai, May Fung, and Comyn Mo in 1986. In 1996, she founded Microwave International New Media Arts Festival, an annual event that consists of exhibitions, conferences, seminars, and workshops. In 2014, Pau was appointed by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council as a representative of the Art Form Group in Film and Media Arts, and in the same year, she also served on the interim acquisition committee of M+ in West Kowloon Cultural District.

 

Para Site Art Space is financially supported by the Art Development Matching Grants Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Founded in 1996, Para Site is Hong Kong's leading contemporary art centre and one of the oldest and most active independent art institutions in Asia. It produces exhibitions, publications, discursive, and educational projects aimed at forging a critical understanding of local and international phenomena in art and society 

___

The content of these activities does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

 

Attachment press image 02

Ellen Pau, 2018. Courtesy of the artist. Graphic design by Luo Jr-Shin.

當家當當家:鮑藹倫回顧展

12月 09, 2018 – 3月 03, 2019

DEC 08, 2018
開幕酒會
4:00 - 7:00pm
鮑藹倫與周安曼對談
5:30pm
Para Site

Para Site 榮幸推出由周安曼策劃,鮑藹倫在香港的首次大型回顧展--《當家當當家》。鮑藹倫為香港最具影響力及前瞻性的藝術家之一,此次展覽展出近三十年來錄像作品的選件、檔案文獻、未曾發表過的系列攝影作品以及最新力作。展覽同時重製了三件具代表性的錄像裝置—兩件《碧麗珠》系列以及《循環影院》,還原最初始的展出形式,以呈現在當時的時空背景下,藝術家對媒材展現的獨特手法。此次展覽挑選十八件具代表性的作品,以媒體考古學的角度取代傳統編年的展示,試圖透過科技媒材的演進來爬梳閱讀鮑藹倫生命政治的一種方式。

展覽題目以「家」的概念出發,《禮記:大學篇》言:「修身、齊家、治國、平天下」,欲達大同世界,中間是有程序的,而最基本的需從修正心念、居家生活做起。中文題目玩弄「當家」及「家當」的排列組合,意味從家庭雜務、家務事、家務婦的身份,到誰是當家者,誰來作主,對應英文題目借香港民政事務局 (Home Affairs Bureau) 之名來思考民間政治事務與個人事務間的關係。

展覽以1987年的《裂像》與2018年的新作《到此為咫》作為序曲,《裂像》批判電視的霸權地位,並反思在資本邏輯運作下,馴化主體的政治功能。 AR新作《到此為咫》則以2018年年初灣仔炸彈事件為靈感,透過擴增實境的技術再現醉酒灣防線上的香港城市神話,嘗試藉由神話來重新理解我們與城市間的關係。兩件作品因緣際會地以1941年二次大戰香港保衛戰的醉酒灣防線為切入點,進一步思考科技是否得以扮演洗清歷史暴力的角色。 

而這種對歷史暴力的遺留也可見於鮑藹倫透過自身對性別議題的觀照與香港民生政治連結,將女性身軀化成爭取主體意識的戰場,繼而探索機器生產下影像間的真假並提出辯證。此次展覽重新製作了兩件藝術家長達十年發展的錄像裝置《碧麗珠》 系列。「碧麗珠」為居家清潔用品,英文名「Pledge」同時由保證、承諾之意,暗喻中國政府對香港五十年不變的政治承諾。作品中可見一個女性的背影每幾秒抬頭一次,每次抬頭會發出如打樁般的聲響,透過此反覆衝擊的行為,藉以質問社會規範及典型社會性別角色是如何形塑、規範、約束女性的身體。

八十年代末起鮑藹倫開始與進念二十面體及多位編舞家合作,同時也拍攝許多商業音樂錄影帶,她將媒體的屏幕、舞台、行為表演與裝置結合在一起,發展了一套融合流行文化與當代視覺的錄像舞蹈語言。1989年的《借頭問路II》透過舞台表演來探索錄像表現的形式,以家用常見的錄像器材為拍攝工具,試就舞台與科技的形而上存在提出討論,並藉由一成不變的循環、影像分割反應城市密集的地理空間所帶來人心躁鬧下的居住情商指數,影像在此透過剪輯過程成為一種媒介的節奏和藝術格式。 

鮑藹倫作品中的政治性不在大張旗鼓進行時代的懷舊或批判性思想論述,她透過具個人自傳色彩的錄像日記發展成共同集體的回憶,探索及反省的是如何藉由影像的組成和產生過程,創造鏡頭以外的觀看經驗,把尋常點昇華成生命與情感的象徵。《估領袖》(1989)、《藍》(1989)、《兩岸唔到頭》(1989)、《錄像肚臍》(1990)、《呼氣》(1997-2000) 及《阿運會》(2010) 等是她對香港在過渡政治時期的不安掙扎下的表述;香港生活的節奏、歷史政治事件的轉折都隱藏在她作品影像構成的密碼中,而集大成之作便是她代表香港館參加第四十九屆威尼斯雙年展的《循環影院》。 

《循環影院》是鮑藹倫對動態影像的技術構成與電子雜訊演繹的代表作,也是她對「家」的新舊意義的回應。此次展覽特別重現了當時無剪輯版本的裝置原型,得以一窺藝術家刻意以靜態的角度來觀察城市中的變動,在捕捉的瞬間促使觀眾思考超越單一的空間經驗。《循環影院》記錄了二十四小時香港高速公路上來往車子的移動,展覽現場的裝置複製再現了當時拍攝的手法,以投影機替代錄像機,影像投影在150度的弧形屏幕上,打破影像的框框,製造一個迂迴循環的觀賞經驗。影像移動速度及方向沒有刻意同步,反而隨著每一位入場觀者的呼吸、動作產生不同的節奏,畫面在離開屏幕後利用現場空間回到原位,影像的流動轉移在此時產生了一種時空上的失衡。整部影片沒有對話,只有海浪衝擊的聲音、汽車的呼嘯,以及最後結尾出現約翰藍儂1970年《Love》的兩句歌詞:「愛是真的,真的是愛」。《循環影院》是一封情書,弧形空間是回家的路,如果沿著螢幕上的弧線走,應該會走到回家的路,一路上的風景是鮑藹倫對城市經驗的批判,也是她給香港的一封家書。

此次展覽特別邀請與鮑藹倫相交多年的資深文化工作者及傳媒人盧燕珊撰稿,為我們回首鮑藹倫三十年來的創作軌跡。

 

 

關於鮑藹倫

鮑藹倫1961年出生於香港, 1982年獲得香港理工大學放射診斷專業文憑後,進入瑪麗醫院擔任專業放射科醫護人員。鮑藹倫歷年來參與許多國際影展及藝術雙年展,包括香港國際電影節(1990)、第八屆國際女性影展(西班牙, 1992)、哥本哈根文化基金會「貨輪展」 (丹麥, 1996)、 亞太區當代藝術三年展 (里斯本, 1996)、約翰尼斯堡雙年展 (1997)、第49屆威尼斯雙年展(2001)、光州雙年展 (2002) 等。

1986年,她與黃志輝、馮美華、毛文羽共同成立錄映太奇,為香港最早錄像媒體藝術家組織。1996年,她創立微波國際新媒體藝術節,策劃每年一次的藝術季,包括展覽、研討會、講座、工作坊等。2014年鮑藹倫擔任香港藝術發展局電影及媒體藝術組主席,同年起擔任西九龍文化區M+購藏委員會成員。

 

 

Para Site 藝術空間獲香港特別行政區政府「藝術發展配對資助計劃」的資助

成立於1996年,Para Site藝術空間為香港首屈一指的當代藝術中心,亦是亞洲歷史最悠久、最活躍的獨立藝術機構之一。成立宗旨在透過展覽、出版刊物及教育項目等活動,促進在地與國際間的對話,希冀打造一個對當代藝術、社會現象提出批判性論述及理解的平台。

___

活動內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見

Attachment press image 02

鮑藹倫, 2018, 圖片由藝術家提供、羅智信設計。

Attachment dscf0086
Attachment dscf0136
Attachment dscf0115
Attachment dscf0226
Attachment dscf0234
Attachment dscf0190
Attachment dscf0250
Attachment dscf0260
Attachment dscf0270
Attachment dscf0188
Attachment dscf0123
Attachment dscf0180
Attachment dscf0127
Attachment dscf0320
Attachment dscf0338