Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? The Paradox of Choice in a Time of Anxiety

Adam Curtis, Michael Lee, Sun Xun, Tang Kwok Hin

Dec 01, 2012 – Feb 17, 2013

Para Site proudly presents Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? | The Paradox of Choice in a Time of Anxiety: Adam Curtis, Michael Lee, Sun Xun, and Tang Kwok Hin, curator Qinyi Lim’s first exhibition at Para Site.

2012 marks the slow recovery of consumer confidence index in Hong Kong since the extreme dip in the latter half of 2011. While pundits have cited 2011 as the second lowest level of this index since the 2008 financial crisis, the recovery of Hong Kong’s consumer market seems markedly cautious in its move from a pessimistic to neutral outlook. Though this surge is propelled mainly by the public’s trust in stable employment, the positivity is, in contrast, conveyed with hesitancy in sectors such as quality of life, the stock market and the economy. 

The rise of consumption and the belief in unlimited growth and progress in contemporary post-industrial capitalist cities such as Hong Kong, is often followed shortly by the re-emergence of the ideology of Choice. Herein, Choice is seen as packaged in mainstream discussions of enhancement and self-improvement such as skin whitening, obesity and slimming paid editorials, where the acts of simplifying life and the search for contentment becomes another version of choice and paradoxically, anxiety.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? takes its name from Philip K. Dick’s 1968 novel and proposes to read Anxiety as the signal and expectation of danger in the everyday rather than a phobia of a specific subject. This state of mind also arises out of a changed perception that one has of themselves, and in direct relation to societal changes at large. The exhibition seeks to explore the condition as it is enmeshed within today’s society, with a particular attention towards the new feeling of inadequacy perpetuated by the nature of contemporary capitalism. It explores the causation, occurrences, inner mechanisms, politics and functions of Anxiety in relation to the development of consumerism in cities like Hong Kong, through the practice of the four participating artists.

Artist talks will take place on 1 December, from 15.00 hrs at Para Site. Participating artists Michael Lee, Sun Xun and Tang Kwok Hin will be available to the media from 29 November onwards.

Artist talks 

Date: 1 December, 2012

Time: 3:00pm 

Venue: Para Site Art Space, G/F, 4 Po Yan Street, Sheung Wan

Participating artists: Michael Lee, Sun Xun and Tang Kwok Hin

Artists' Biographies

Adam Curtis (b. 1955, United Kingdom) is a documentary filmmaker and journalist. He works for BBC television in London and formerly taught Politics at Oxford University. His films have won many awards―including six BAFTAs. His series The Power of Nightmares was invited to the Cannes Film Festival in 2005. Curtis also writes multi-media political and cultural essays on a BBC website using longer sections of film from the archives―www.bbc.co.uk/adamcurtis. His solo exhibition The Desperate Edge of Now was curated by Hans Ulrich Olbrist at e-flux, New York, in 2012.

Michael Lee (b. 1972, Singapore) is an artist and curator based in Berlin, Germany and Singapore. Lee graduated with Masters and Bachelor of Communication Studies from the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore in 2001 and 1997 respectively. He researches urban memory and fiction, especially the contexts and implications of loss. Through his research, Lee transforms his observations into objects, diagrams, situations, curations or essays. Past exhibitions include M-trospective: Michael Lee's First Decade 2001-2011, Studio Bibliothèque, Singapore in 2012; Michael Lee, Chan Hampe Galleries @ Art Stage Singapore, Marina Bay Sands, Singapore in 2011; Lost City and Other Stories, Hanart Square and Hanart TZ Gallery, Hong Kong in 2010 and A Psychotaxonomy of Home, Baba House, Singapore in 2008. His group exhibitions include the  3rd Kuandu Biennale in 2012, 2nd Asia Triennial Manchester in 2011, the 3rd Singapore Biennale in 2011, and the 8th Shanghai Biennale 2010. He is currently a resident artist at Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin, where he will stage a solo exhibition in February 2013.

Sun Xun  (b. 1980, China) creates animations that combine hand-drawn renderings and traditional materials with new media. He studied printmaking at the China Academy of Fine Arts, but a burgeoning interest in moving images led him to found his own animation studio in 2006. To create his meticulous animations, Sun Xun produces a multitude of drawings that incorporate text within the image. His subjects range from elements found in world history and politics, to natural organisms. He then films the drawings, sequentially one at a time, to create a sense of movement and suggest the passing of time, the machinations of history, and the beauty inherent in simple forms. His work has been screened at numerous festivals, including the 2007 Torino Film Festival, and has been shown in exhibitions at the Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art and at ShanghART, among other venues. Sun also participated in Death And Life of Fiction, Taipei Biennale in 2012.

Tang Kwok Hin (b.1983, Hong Kong) is a mixed media artist and independent curator based in Hong Kong. He received his Bachelor of Arts (Fine Arts) and Master of Fine Arts from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2006 and 2008 respectively. Tang focuses on the occasion, space, time and way of encountering images or symbols to explore hidden rules in living and existing contexts for self-expression. Past exhibitions include Gelassenheit: Letting It Be, 2P Contemporary Art Gallery, Hong Kong and I call you Nancy, Amelia Johnson Contemporary, Hong Kong in 2012; Octopus, Hanina, Tei-Aviv, Israel and The 2nd Chongqing Biennalefor Young Artists, The Art Museum of Sichuan Fine Arts Institute, China in 2011; PULSE Contemporary Art Fair, Ice Palace, Miami, US in 2009.

Para Site Art Space is financially supported by Springboard Grant under the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

The content of this programme does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Attachment img 4116
Attachment img 4151
Attachment img 4202
Attachment img 4101

Sun Xun, Some Actions Which Haven't Been Defined Yet in the Revolution, 2011.

Attachment img 4272

Tang Kwok Hin, Lower Legs, 2012

Attachment img 4434

Sun Xun, Some Actions Which Haven't Been Defined Yet in the Revolution, 2011.

Attachment img 4463

Michael Lee, Skive: A Worker's Guide, 2005/2007

機器人會夢見電子羊嗎?──焦慮時代下的選擇悖論

亞當‧柯蒂斯, 李鴻輝, 孫遜, 鄧國騫

12月 01, 2012 – 2月 17, 2013

Para Site藝術空間呈獻《機器人會夢見電子羊嗎?──焦慮時代下的選擇悖論:亞當‧柯蒂斯、李鴻輝、孫遜、鄧國騫》,策展人林沁怡首個於Para Site藝術空間策劃的展覽。

2012年,香港的消費者信心指數從2011年下旬的低谷慢慢地復甦起來。雖然專家指出2011年是該指數自2008 年金融危機以來的最低水平,但香港消費市場的復甦似乎顯示著謹慎地從悲觀前景移向中性。這一增長主要靠穩定就業所帶來的公眾信任來推動,而事實上,亦需要 靠生活質素、股市和經濟等其他領域的支持。

在當代後工業資本主義城市如香港,消費主義的崛起和無限增長的信念,往往是選擇的意識形態再次浮現後而緊接出現。在 此,選擇被視為美白、減肥和瘦身等改進和自我提升的商品包裝,而追求知足及簡單生活則變成了另一種選擇和衍生的焦慮。

《機器人會夢見電子羊嗎?》標題取材自美國科幻小說家菲利普‧迪克(Philip K. Dick) 於1968年寫的同名小說,提倡應視焦慮為對抗恐懼的元素,因焦慮乃日常生活中危險的提示信號,而不是對某特定主體的恐懼。焦慮會因社會 變化和自我感知的改變而產生。是次展覽旨在探討今天社會中出現的焦慮與當代資本主義本質所產生的注意力。展覽將透過四位藝術家的作品,探 索焦慮所產生的因果關係、出現次數、內在機制、政治和功能與香港等城市發展的消費主義的關係。

藝術家座談會將於12月1日下午三時於Para Site藝術空間舉行。參展藝術家李鴻輝、孫遜及鄧國騫將於11月 29日起接受媒體採訪。

藝術家座談會

日期: 2012年12月1日

時間: 3:00pm

地點: Para/Site藝術空間, 上環普仁街4號地鋪

參與藝術家: 李鴻輝、孫遜及鄧國騫

關於藝術家

亞當‧柯蒂斯(Adam Curtis),1955年生於英國,紀錄片製作人及新聞工作者。他現於倫敦的英國廣播公司(BBC)工作, 曾於牛津大學任教政治學。他的影片曾獲英國學術電視奬。柯蒂斯的系列作品《惡夢的威力》曾被邀參與2005年的法國康城影展。柯蒂斯 也於英國廣播公司(BBC)網站上撰寫文章www.bbc.co.uk/adamcurtis, 包括與文化和多媒體政治有關的隨筆。他2012年於紐約e-flux舉辦由Hans Ulrich Olbrist策劃的個展《現在的絕望邊緣》。

李鴻輝(Michael Lee), 1972年生於新加坡,藝術家及策展人,現居住及工作於德國柏林和新加坡。他1997年畢業於新加坡南洋理工大學傳播學,並於 2001年取得碩士學位。他研究城市記憶和想像,尤其是城市消失的過程和所帶出的暗示。通過研究,李氏把其觀察所得的轉化成物件、圖 表、場景、創作或文章。過去曾參與的展覽包括:新加坡Studio Bibliothèque《M-trospective:李鴻輝的第一個十年2001-2011》(2012)、新加坡Chan Hampe Galleries @ Art Stage Singapore《李鴻輝》(2011) 、香港漢雅軒畫廊《小城大事:李鴻輝的物件與圖表》(2010) 、新加坡Baba House《A Psychotaxonomy of Home》 (2008)等。參與的聯展包括第三屆關渡雙年展(2011)、第二屆曼徹斯特亞洲藝術三年展 (2011)、第三屆新加坡雙年展(2011)和第八屆上海雙年展(2010)。李氏目前是柏林Künstlerhaus Bethanien的駐場藝術家,並將於2013年2月舉辦個展。

孫遜(Sun Xun), 1980年生於中國,擅於結合繪畫、傳統物料及新媒體來製作動畫。他畢業於中國美術學院版畫系,但對動畫的濃厚興趣促使他2006年 成立動畫工作室。他的動畫主題來自世界歷史、政治以及自然界生物。孫氏製作動畫的過程會先繪畫大量畫稿,然後順序地掃描每張畫,以簡 單的形式去表達動感,暗示時間的流逝、歷史的建構和與生俱來的美。他的動畫曾於意大利都靈電影節(2007)等多個藝術節中放映,並 在奧斯陸私人當代藝術館和上海香格納畫廊等場地展出。 他最近亦參與2012台北雙年展《現代怪獸/想像的死而復生》。

鄧國騫(Tang Kwok Hin),1983 年生於香港,混合媒介藝術家並獨立策展人。他分別於2006年及2008年獲取香港中文大 學文學士及藝術碩士學位。鄧氏的作品常以拼貼重組社會現成的符號,並藉想像力重新建構新的閱讀方式,透露出對人、物及事的種種情懷。 過去曾參與的展覽包括:2P 當代藝術香港《寧靜:隨它》(2012)、香港阿美尼亞莊遜當代藝術《我喚妳作楠詩》(2012)、以色列特拉維夫Hanina《八 爪魚》(2011)、中國四川美術學院美術館《第二屆重慶青年美術雙年展》(2011)以及美國邁阿密冰宮《脈衝當代藝術博覽會》 (2009)等。

Para/Site藝術空間獲香港特別行政區政府「藝能發展資助計劃」的躍進資助。

活動內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見。

Attachment img 4116
Attachment img 4151
Attachment img 4202
Attachment img 4101

Sun Xun, Some Actions Which Haven't Been Defined Yet in the Revolution, 2011.

Attachment img 4272

Tang Kwok Hin, Lower Legs, 2012

Attachment img 4434

Sun Xun, Some Actions Which Haven't Been Defined Yet in the Revolution, 2011.

Attachment img 4463

Michael Lee, Skive: A Worker's Guide, 2005/2007