DISPLAY

Nadim Abbas, 梁海逸, 王浩然

Feb 28 – Apr 20, 2008

DIS PLAY features three Hong Kong artists, challenging the relation of sculpture and display.

Ever since Constantin Brancusi produced his sculptures with fitted bases, the pe destal has become an integrated part of an artwork. The division between pedestal and artwork ceased to have a clear definition and like in a painting or a picture, the picture carrier and the frame has to be seen as one entity.

Contemporary sculpture poses important questions such as, what is an actual sculpture, where does display start and where does the artwork end? Can a display, function as a frame for a picture and become part of an artwork or is it an independent work that should be removed from the artwork itself? The beauty of sculpture can have ambiguous answers and DIS PLAY will present three Hong Kong artists that use sculpture in very different ways to ask questions about the very essence of the medium and the role of presentation and representation. Each artist tackles the differences and commonness of work and display in their diverse artistic practices.

Para Site Art Space has always been a place to provide space and support for art forms that are hard to be accommodated by other exhibition venues. In thinking about contemporary art forms, one may have the immediate association with video and multi-media, with hardly any attention or exhibition spaces for larger sculpture in Hong Kong. Paintings and other two-dimensional art forms are presented predominantly in art spaces and galleries, leaving the only possibility for sculptures to exist is through a compromising manner in shopping malls and a hand-full of public spaces. For younger artists, the production and storage of large-scale sculpture is problematic as space and demand is extremely limited.

展示

Nadim Abbas, 梁海逸, 王浩然

2月 28 – 4月 20, 2008

展示 中的三位本地藝術家的作品,挑戰雕塑及展示的關係。

自從Constantin Brancusi製作其擁有固定基座的雕塑後,底座就融入為藝術品的一部份。底座及藝術品之間失去了清晰的定義,如繪畫作品或圖片與圖畫架及框架停止區分被視為一個獨立的實體。

當代雕塑提出重要的問題如怎去定斷一件作品的完整性?展示及藝術品本身應如何分?始末?展示的功用可以是被看作圖畫框架及成為藝術品的一部份,或是一件應該從藝術品裡被移除的獨立作品?雕塑的誘人之處就是可以在於其多樣的答案。展示 將展出三位本港的藝術家,以不同方式運用雕塑去提問有關表現方法中特有本質和呈現及表述的角色。每位藝術家在展示多變的藝術實踐作品裡,均處理作品的差異和共通性。

Para/Site藝術空間一直主動提供空間場地支持於主流展場展示的藝術形體。在省思有關當代藝術的不同模式的過程中,很容易令人聯想到錄像及多媒體, 而雕塑因香港展示場地短缺往往被人忽視。繪畫和其他二維的藝術模式均佔盡優勢地展示於各藝術空間、畫廊內,剩下雕塑可存在的唯一可能性,是透過妥協的方式 展現於各購物商場及小量的公眾空間。對年輕的藝術家而言,製作及存放巨型的雕塑因有限的空間和需求,令創作極具困難。