A Travel Without Visual Experience – Response Exhibition of the 53rd Venice Biennale Hong Kong Exhibition

Pak Sheung Chuen

Mar 12 – Apr 04, 2010

Based on “Making (Perfect) World”, the exhibition representing Hong Kong in the 53rd Venice Biennale, Pak Sheung Chuen reassembled his works into two separate exhibitions: “A Travel Without Visual Experience” and “Hong Kong Diary”. The former is a collection of works done overseas over the years and the latter is his mixed thoughts about Hong Kong. These two exhibitions demonstrate Pak’s unique observations of life details as well as his varied ways of arts creation.

Pak’s works on travel are always about the body being in strange environments. Sometimes lonely situations are involuntary, but sometimes they are self-exiles. He says, “The body will spontaneously build a relationship with the outside world when it is in a strange environment. I am like an observer who jumps out from his own body to watch its reaction. Sometimes I am two. When I see the other me crying in pain, I give him comfort. Between suffering and comforting, the two of me are complementary and self-sufficient.” What he attempts to do is to resume inner peace and lift his spirit through energy consumption on the body. His travel and artistic creation is very close to a pilgrim’s cultivation.

In “A Travel Without Visual Experience”, the response exhibition presented in the Guangdong Museum of Art, Pak chose a few recent works done overseas. Valleys Trip, a travel project in Tokyo, is about walking and purification. He walked along the deep valleys at the middle fold of a map booklet. Endless walks enabled his heartbeat, breathing and body movements to coordinate. Physical tiredness calmed his mind and he could concentrate to observe everything before his eyes. The meaning of things would then be automatically unfolded. A Travel Without Visual Experience in Malaysia is an exploration of “sight”. Pak joined a 5-day-4-night guided tour to Malaysia blind-folded, relying totally on photos to recollect this place that he experienced but never really saw. His conclusion is that a sightless man is not necessarily blind, while a blind man is not necessarily sightless. Pak’s travels, apart from being processes of meeting new things, are also rediscoveries about himself. For this exhibition he created a new work on Guangzhou, where he stayed in a soon-to-be-disappeared Cheng Zhong Cun (“Village in the City”). The resultant work stands witness to the changes faced by the grassroot section of the city.

The latter half of the exhibition, “Hong Kong Diary”, will open in the Hong Kong Museum of Art in June.

Artist Bio:
Pak Sheung Chuen was born 1977 in Fujian (China) and immigrated to Hong Kong in 1984, where he currently lives and works. Pak graduated in 2002 from the Chinese University of Hong Kong, majored in Fine Arts and minored in Theology. Pak performs and documents humorously poetic ideas that elaborate on complex issues within the realm of politics, history, religion and globalisation. These personal gestures encourage open-ended interpretations, inviting viewers to reflect and reconsider the infinite possibilities within their daily lives. Pak places the individual in his/her local environment against the new global realities, which are extremely relevant to the modernity of Asia's mega-cities today. Instead of being a distant observer, Pak draws elements from everyday life and its surroundings in order to encapsulate the possibility of combining social and political issues within his sensitive artistic practice. His art demands a mutual effort from the audience to engage and react both spiritually and emotionally, which can become highly and implicitly personal.

Awarded the Overseas Exchange Prize (Chinese Performance Art) by the Macao Museum of Art and the Lee Hysan Foundation Fellowship by the Asian Cultural Council in 2005 and 2006 respectively. Columnist of the Sunday MingPao, Pak authored ODD ONE IN : Hong Kong Diary, ODD ONE IN II : Invisible Travel, and See Walk What on 1 July.Pak has participated in numerous international exhibitions, including The First Stop on the Super Highway at the Nam June Paik Art Center in Korea (2009), The 3rd Yokohama Triennial (2008), The 3rd Guangzhou Triennial (2008), China Power Station: Part 2 at Astrup Fearrnley Museum in Oslo (2007) and The 6th Busan Biennale (2006). His solo exhibition Page 22 is permanently installed in New York’s 58th Street Branch Library.

The 53rd Venice Biennale Hong Kong Exhibition
The Hong Kong Arts Development Council (ADC) presented at the world renowned visual arts exhibition – 53rd Venice Biennale (Visual Arts) an exhibition “Making (Perfect) World: Harbour, Hong Kong, Alienated Cities and Dreams” featuring the works of local artist Pak Sheung Chuen under the curatorship of Mr Tobias Berger in association with Para Site Art Space from 7 June to 22 November 2009. It was the fifth time for the ADC to present the works of Hong Kong visual artists in the international arts arena, with an aim to enhance exchange and communication between Hong Kong and other countries in the world. Since its debut at the event under the name of “Hong Kong, China” in 2001, Hong Kong has gained its prominence on the world stage. Presenting an eclectic mix of genres and styles, the artists of Hong Kong have reached out to art lovers all over the world through an array of media. The exhibition attracted a record 130,000 visitors and extensive press coverage. Having received enormous attention overseas, the exhibition is now remounted as a response exhibition in Guangzhou and Hong Kong as the second phase, in cooperation with the Guangdong Museum of Art and Hong Kong Museum of Art respectively, enabling the public to see the distinctive artworks and fostering cultural exchanges in the Pearl River Delta Region.

Hong Kong Arts Development Council

Established in 1995, the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (ADC) is a statutory body set up by the government to plan, promote and support the broad development of the arts including literary arts, performing arts, visual arts, as well as film and media arts in Hong Kong. Aiming to foster a thriving arts environment and enhancing the quality of life of the public, the ADC is also committed to facilitating community-wide participation in the arts and arts education, encouraging arts criticism and raising the standard of arts administration. While maintaining close ties with the arts and cultural community, the ADC also works closely with a diverse group of public and private partners, the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority, mainland authorities, overseas bodies and local art groups. it hopes to reach a strong social consensus on arts development in Hong Kong, a focal point where ideas, practices and influence converge to distinguish the city as a cultural metropolis in Asia where a thriving arts community with top-notch human resources takes root.

Attachment 2vb re invitation04
Attachment 1vb re envelop cover

與視覺無關的旅行

白雙全

3月 12 – 4月 04, 2010

在第53屆威尼斯雙年展香港館「製造(完美的)世界」的基礎下,白雙全把作品重新組合成為兩個獨立的展覽:「與視覺無關的旅行」和「香港生活雜記」,前者是他多年在海外創作的作品,後者是他對香港生活的雜思。兩個展覽展現了他對生活細節獨特的觀察力,創作方式多變的特點。

白雙全的旅行作品都是和身體處於陌生的環境有關,有時孤獨的處境是被迫的,有時卻是自我放逐。他說:「身體在陌生的環境,它會自動和外界建立關係,我就像一個旁觀者跳出自己的身體,觀看身體的反應。我,有時會是兩個我,我看見另一個我在困苦中痛哭,我就會給他安慰,在受傷和安慰之間,兩個我成了互補自足。」他嘗試在身體消耗能量的過程中,使內裡的世界回復平靜,精神向上提昇。他的旅行和創作接近朝聖者的修行過程。

在廣東美術館的展覽「與視覺無關的旅行」,白雙全選上了幾件近年在海外創作的作品。東京的「谷之旅」是關於行路和淨化的作品,他沿著地圖書縫的深谷中行路,在不停行走的過程中,心跳、呼吸、身體的擺動都會自動協調起來,身體的疲倦使心靈能夠靜定下來,那時精神會很集中觀看眼前的每一事物,事物的意義會自動開啟出來。馬來西亞的作品「與視覺無關的旅行」是對於「看」的探索,他蒙上雙眼參加了五日四夜馬來西亞的旅行團,他只憑相片去回憶這個未見過但經驗過的世界,他的結論是:沒有視覺不一定是盲人,盲人不一定沒有視覺。白雙全的旅行除了是遇見新事物的過程,也是對於自己的重新發現。今次展覽他特意做了一件關於廣州的作品,他居住在快要在廣州消失的城中村創作,讓他的作品見證這個城市草根一面的變遷。

展覽的下半部「香港生活雜記」將會於今年的六月在香港藝術館延續。

白雙全
1977年生於中國福建,1984年移居香港,現於香港生活及工作。2002年畢業於香港中文大學,主修藝術,副修神學。白雙全善於以幽默雋永而饒富詩意的觸覺,表達在政治、歷史、宗教和全球化框架下的複雜議題。他獨樹一幟的個人風格不但激發自由開放的想像,同時帶動觀眾反思日常生活中的無限可能。面對嶄新的環球局勢,及與之息息相關的亞洲超級都市現代化浪潮,白雙全把焦點投放在個人自身的生活處境。放棄扮演超然的旁觀者,卻從日常生活的點滴和處境取材,嘗試把社會和政治問題融入他細膩敏銳的藝術創作之中。他的創作要求觀眾參與及給予精神和情感上的回應,過程中又往往豐富每個人的內在經歷。

白雙全先後於2005及2006年獲澳門藝術博物館頒發「海外交流獎(行為藝術)」,及亞洲文化協會頒發「利希慎基金」。星期日「明報」的專欄創作人,著有「單身看:香港生活雜記」、「單身看II:與視覺無關的旅行」及「七一孖你遊香港」三書。作品曾於多個國際性展覽展出,包括2008「橫濱三年展」及「廣州三年展」、2007「中國電站II」、以及2006「釜山雙年展」。其個展「頁22」為紐約58街公共圖書館的永久藏品。2009年他代表香港參加第53屆威尼斯雙年展。

第53屆威尼斯雙年展香港館
香港藝術發展局(藝發局)於2009年6月至11月再次參與國際知名的第53屆「威尼斯雙年展(視覺藝術)」,今屆的展覽名為「製造(完美的)世界:海洋、香港、異邦的城市和夢」,參展藝術家為白雙全先生,並由Tobias Berger 聯同Para Site藝術空間策展。自2001年,藝發局首次以「中國香港」的名義參展,將香港藝術引領到國際層面。過去五屆,香港的藝術家以多元化的手法,透過不同媒體與世界各地人士溝通,以藝術把香港呈現在國際舞臺上。今屆的展覽吸引了超過十三萬人次進場參觀,反應熱烈,並得到傳媒的廣泛報導。承接在國際藝壇上的迴響及關注,展覽的第二階段會分別與廣東美術館及香港藝術館合作,以「回應展」的方式把一系列獨特而富創意的作品帶到廣州和香港展出,除了讓粵港兩地的市民有機會欣賞這些優秀的作品外,更進一步加強及深化珠三角地區在文化藝術方面的交流。

香港藝術發展局
香港藝術發展局於1995年成立,是政府指定全方位發展香港藝術的機構。藝發局的使命為策劃、推廣及支持包括文學、表演、視覺藝術、電影及媒體藝術之發展,促進和改善藝術的參與和教育、鼓勵藝術評論、提升藝術行政之水平及加強政策研究工作,務求藉藝術發展提高社會的生活質素。除與藝文界建立緊密的伙伴關係,藝發局亦致力與各政府部門、西九文化區管理局、國內政府機關、海外團體、民間及藝術組織等緊密合作。期望凝聚藝術發展的社會共識和協調行動,推動香港成為亞洲的文化重鎮,促進本港藝術的蓬勃發展,讓香港成為藝術人才匯聚之都。

Attachment 2vb re invitation04
Attachment 1vb re envelop cover